We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$205
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
57
107
26
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
107
26
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaksim squaregreat locationdecent sized roomshopping and restaurantsturkish channelsbus stationwould stay here againroom serviceclean hotelhotel is locatedasian sidewalking distanceheartwallpaperbrekfastinternetpalace
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 205 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I got a great rate off hotels.com. No way I would be their full price.

Pros:
Clean
Central in Taksim near the square (but also a con)
Decent sized room
Good breakfast
Nice roof terrace

Cons:
TV from 1981
Bed that felt it had been dry-rotted out. The bed was flat-out awful
Very old style furnishings and dark in the room. Felt like an old person's bedroom. Not the type of old-style furnishings that feel luxurious or chic.
Staff that knew very little about anything (transportation, how to fix the internet, things in the area, etc...although they were generally nice)
Windows had ZERO soundproofing and the street this hotel is on is beyond super busy. Beyond. It is the only hotel on this street in the area. There are many hotels on side streets a 1-2 minute walk away that are out of the extreme noise. I don't mind some noise either but it is amazingly noisy till late hours.

Also, there are people lined up to take bus transportation right outside the hotel. So often, there is a line formed that is very long that goes in front of the hotel and you have to battle to get in the door. Very frustrating.

All in all, it is in a safe area, but you would be wise to stay @ one of the places literally down the street. It will be 10 times more pleasant with noise. That is unless you find a deal you can't refuse. This is not a bad place at all, just not charming like it looks on the website. It is more dark and dreary yet clean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I stayed Germir Palas for 5 nights and pleased it. the location is great, by the Taksim square and you can go every where in the city from Taksim also the HAVAS (airport bus) bus station is across from the hotel.The hotel has WiFi service and there is a PC on the lobby you can use it to connect to internet.
The rooms are medium size and so nice with very comfortable beds. interior design of the hotel is nostalgic and it's like an English club. The staff are really nice and helpful I thank Mr. Unal, Mr. Cavit, Mr. Erdem and the others for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JarchiBashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Was staying one night in this hotel prior to going back to US. It is a nice, clean, well maintained hotel with nostalgic victorian wallpapers in the rooms. Rooms are of medium size, beds are good, sheets are clean and pillows are comfortable. The breakfast served on the top of the building, on an open patio with beautiful vista of Taksim square. This hotel opens to Taksim square, so for those who like to be in the epicenter of various events, it is a perfect spot. There is airport bus departing from across the street every 1/2 hrs. Metro is at Taksim square and Istiklal avenue with a boiling life is at your feet. There are nice narrow streets with numerous small stores and restaurants around this hotel. The staff is courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I stayed in germir palas for 3 nites and i was there for some business. Its just on the other side of the street where we have the Havas - Airport Shuttle Bus Stop in Taksim !! No need to carry your bags, no need to take a cap and get fooled if you dont know Istanbul.. and the staff let me do early check-in and late check out. I was in the 7th floor and i stil had high speed wifi in the room, the armchair with the leg laying sofa was so relaxing and comfortable that i use my computer there ;-) The bathroom was so clean and renewed. Altho the hotel is located in a noisy area i didnt hear any noise because i was in the upper floors, so go for it .. and i would like to mention that the breakfast was really nice and it was available for various ppl who have different tastes.. - fresh fruits , cornflakes, warm eggs & sausages/sucuks & types of cheese & olives, tea & coffee & water & juice...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

My only complaint about the hotel is the high prices for their wine and other drinks - really out of sight and ridiculous. Otherwise it is in a great location by Taskim Square. The rooms were nice size and the bathrooms were fine too. The decor was especially tasteful and fit the style of Istanbul. The rooftop garden is small but at least it is there with a nice view over the square and the Bosphorus in the distance. My room faced the main street and was not noisy. Others were facing the side streets and found Saturday night quite rowdy til 3 am. Breakfasts were good and the staff very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews