We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hi, we stayed in the Ambassador hotel, Istanbul in August ( i know its a bit late ) and had a great time. the Hotel is located in the heart of the Old Town and is central to all sites and attractions. The Hotel is excellent, the room was clean and well appointed, the breakfast is excellent and there is a great view of the Bosphorus Sea from the Roof Terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful and even booked a visit to the Agia Sofia Museam and the Topkapi Palace for us. The cost was very reasonable and the Taxi from the Airport was included. When we visit Istanbul again we will be booking in to The Ambassador Hotel and would recomend it to anyone planing a trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for highly recommending our hotel.

The team appreciates your positive compliments and are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you all back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    317
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
289
346
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel has a really great location near almost all places of interest in Sultanahmet and it is one minute walk from the tram station "Sultanahmet".
Rooms are small but who cares if you only sleep there.
Breakfast is included and it is better than one could expect.
Management is really friendly, especially Ersin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to see you on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I would like to congratulate the staff for the excellent service!! We paid about 85 euros/night for a double room which seemed a reasonable price for a holiday period. The rooms don't have much of a view (the hotel is on a small alley), but you can see the Blue Mosque and Agia Sofia from the roof top breakfast room and balkony. The location of the hotel is excellent - you can walk to all the great monuments and to the tram station. I think we made a good choice for a short holiday. (Only drawback: couldn't get an internet connection in the hotel room)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbgreece2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed four nights between Christmas and the New Year. Pick-up at the
Atatürk Airport was included in the price. We upgraded to a superior
room to have more space and a desk for laptops.
It turned up that the "superior" room was on the second floor with a
view of a roof (!) - on the whole, viewing the interlinking buildings
was fun... Two huge pipes just outside the window, restoration work
going on at a building 5 metres away. Two mornings we were woken up by
the noise, though we were assured at the reception that it was not
allowed and that there was a court case coming up soon against the
building company. In the meantime, make sure you get a room higher up
(there are three more floors). We couldn't as the hotel was full. After
some argueing we got a small discount on the 168 euros a night we had
paid, plus transport back to the airport.
On the other hand, the view from the top, where there's a small
breakfast restaurant and a terrace, is magnificent: both Hagia Sofia and
the Blue Mosque which are only about 5 minutes´ walk away. Fantastic at
night with all the lights.
The room was quite OK, but don't expect luxury. It was very difficult
for us OAPs to get into the "jacuzzi" as you have to take a big step
over the high edge. A stool would be convenient!
The staff was on the whole both friendly and helpful. Thanks to them
I've given the hotel 4 stars - the room with "view" would merit less...
The breakfast buffet was included and quite adequate.
So to sum up: of the four hotels we've used in Istanbul, this is the
most central but also the most basic.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Firstly we would like to apologize for the noise the construction company next door was making. Unfortunately it is not always in our hands to keep the noise limited but our company does take actions to provide every guest a relaxing stay.

It would be pleasure to welcome you back in future and we are sure you will have a more enjoyable stay at Ambassador Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We picked this hotel for its location, and it was just a few minutes walk to Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. For anything further afield, the Sultanahmet tram stop was just around the corner.
The hotel is just off a side street filled with restaurants. The hotel's rooftop restaurant has great views.
When we arrived, we discovered that the triple room we'd booked, expecting a double + single was in fact 3 singles. We discovered this because the member of staff on the front desk told us when we checked in and offered to change it the next day. The next day, we simply had to pack our bags, and we when he returned from our sightseeing, they had been moved to a much larger top floor room.
There was one downside to the top floor room, which was that the loud reggae music from a nearby bar could be heard. We used earplugs! To be fair, anyone travelling to a hotel with mosques nearby would have earplugs with them anyway.
I enjoyed the breakfast, which was Turkish rather than the usual bland international breakfasts of larger hotels; and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor is a bit noisier, due to the side of the building the rooms are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelEFMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were on a sightseeing trip to Istanbul in Dec, 2013. We arrived in the hotel at around 7:30am in the morning. As expected there were no room available although it's not peak season, but the staffs are very friendly and offered us help with luggage. There are also free red tea/ apple tea/ turkish delight at the check-in counter, which are at least small gesture of showing friendliness! I will give service 5 star.

The elevator in the hotel is of those old-European styles, it's slow and can only accommodate two people and one or perhaps two small bags. The room is small too in the North American standard, but almost spotless, and I really enjoy the furnishing of our room. TV is a bit tricky to watch, since you have to use two remote controls. All other equipments are functioning well. Wireless Internet can sometimes be quite slow. I will give perhaps 3-4 star for the hotel amenities.

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring the Old Town. It is almost next to the Sultanahmet tram station (in a small alley with lots of restaurants). So if you travel from the airport, the most economical way is to take the M1 train and get off at Zeytinburnu, and then T1 train to Sultanahmet, the whole trip should take less than 45 minutes and cost only 6 Turkish liras per person. Alternatively you can use the hotel shuttle they provide. It is 25 Euros for up to 6 persons. Both prices are of Dec, 2013. The hotel is in close proximity to Blue mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basillica cistern and within walking distance to many other sights in the Oldtown, even Galata bridge! But we are slightly unhappy with its location, since all the restaurants and other businesses in this area are tourist-oriented, with mediocre quality and prices much higher than the rest of Istanbul. Next time I perhaps will stay near Taksim square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very good location, walking distance from Hagha Sofia, Blue Mosq and grand bazar, good restaurants around. it is a good hotel for transit. Room is quite small and old fashion. Staff very friendly, breakfast ok, with a very beautiful view

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luiz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this pleasant review.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,141 in Istanbul
292 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#111 of 1,141 in Istanbul
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#20 of 1,141 in Istanbul
288 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
657 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#106 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing