We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on October 14-16, 2013. Visiting Istanbul was part of our honeymoon. Owner of the hotel, Mehmet, was in touch with us for over a month via email, helping us to plan visit to this beautiful city. He was very willing to accommodate all our little special requests. Our room was upgraded to a better one at no extra cost and upon arrival we found fresh flowers waiting for us ( nice personal touch). Location of the place is amazing (walking distance to all major attractions ), view from the rooftop terrace is breathtaking, buffet breakfast is great (both variety and qualitywise). There is turkish bath available at the basement of the hotel. I got scrub and massage by Zeki. It was somewhat unusual, but very good experience.
Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, thought I wouldn't suggest to follow their leads on restaurants. We were suggested to go to some seafood place Hos Seda and it was major disappointment , because food was plain,yet overpriced ($80 for one fish dish and 1 appetizer) and place was too touristy....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elf137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service, overall facilities and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you on your honeymoon.

All of us look forward to your return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    312
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
285
343
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buckingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location is perfect for all the tourist attractions in Sultanahmet which are within easy walking distance and the view from the top floor terrace is quite magic. You would be hard pushed to find a better located hotel. We ate at the restaurant in the alley immediately outside the hotel and had a brilliant meal with only a few steps back to our room.
The hotel is compact and the rooms quite small but then this is not a purpose built Travelodge hotel- and that is its charm! The reception staff were amazingly helpful arranging transport to and from the airport, boat trips on the Bosphorus and general information - full marks to them.
Breakfast on the terrace was also very good - the food and service excellent and the view outstanding.
The only reason for a 4 out of 5 and not a full 5 is that the hotel is beginning to show some signs of wear and tear - sort those out and it will be a 5 without fail.
Would heartily recommend the hotel to visitors to Istanbul - we spent 3 nights here before heading down to Fetiyeh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am staying in Ambassador at least once a month. First of all I have chosen this hotel due to vicinity to the most of sightseeing of Sultanahmet- Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cisterns, also from the other side close to Grand Bazar. There are couples of really good restaurants and a bar around this hotel also. But besides this all I am appreciating this hotel because of the people who are working there. Hotel is charming with its hospital atmosphere. You can have Turkish tea at an entrance and share all your problems with a person on reception. Be sure all of them will be solved:) They can organize a sightseeing tour or advice a good restaurant where you will be treated as a special person. Also you can use a hotel’s transportation for travelling wherever you need in Istanbul. Transportation is also perfect and drivers are very accurate with time and professional. I love a terrace of this hotel. You can see Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque and pictures taken from this terrace are like post cards, so beautiful. Kitchen here is very good and breakfast has variety of choices. Also very important thing – you can store luggage in a special room if you need. When check out is early you can have a packaged breakfast. I am very thankful to all people who are working in Ambassador hotel for their efforts to make travelling life easier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarinaS258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service, overall facilities and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you. All of us look forward to your return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Traveling with 2 others, arriving at different times, we were greeted with warmth and a real understanding of what hospitality is all about! All of the employees were there to be of assistance and to ensure our stay at the hotel and visit to their city was pleasant.

The location of the hotel was amazing, just as they said -- very close to the tram, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome.

The Terrace on top of he building is AMAZING! You can see all of the nearby sights along with the Bosporus River! The breakfast was also wonderful. Afternoon tea was available either on the Terrace or next to the lobby - free hot apple tea!

Will stay here again next time on Istanbul!
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

Looking forward to welcome you back during your next Istanbul trip.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days in this hotel and it was a very pleasant one. It is very conveniently located near all the major tourist attractions and near the tram station as well. The staff are very nice and friendly, especially a guy named Sezgin. The terrace is a great place for morning breakfast with wonderful views of the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia. You can have evening drinks as well. The walks and restaurants around it are nice and it is not that far from Taxim square either. I would highly recommend it for an Instabul holiday

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sriram1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel situated in a perfect location steps away from the Sultanahmet plaza and tram station. It is located in a small street off the main road. Tram station was 50 meters away.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were warmly welcomed by Sinan who arranged an early check-in for us.
Sinan was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay there. He provided honest advice on tours and activities available. He also speaks fluent English.

There is no view from the room but when you go up to the terrace then there are breathtaking views of all the historical sites and the sea.

The rooms are clean and modern but as expected in a boutique hotel in this area, they are small.
We had a problem with the shower door in the room but the problem was quickly solved by Sinan who really went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant and comfortable one.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a mix of Turkish and continental cuisine and there were some new items each day which is a plus.
Eggs are made fresh to order but the lady that makes the eggs doesn't take too much pride in the cooking so the omelets look sloppy and half underdone but were very tasty.
The only other issue I noted is that the buffet items are not replenished once finished so get there early to get a full choice of everything.
Special mention of Sezgin who seems to multitask as the breakfast waiter and porter. He is very friendly and helpful and was kind to our children throughout the stay.

The breakfast area is on the terrace level (5th floor) and there are only stairs to that level as the lift stops on the 4th floor so people with disabilities should take note of this.

The hotel offers a oneway free airport shuttle which was excellent and perfectly on time.
Also note that if you pay cash on checkout you will get a 5% discount.

We will definitely stay here again when we visit Istanbul again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor as it is close to the terrace where breakfast is served and where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experiences.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have discussed your critical points regarding our breakfast with our team and will make sure that this will not happen again.

The Ambassador Hotel Team looks forward to welcome you in future again to the Ambassador Hotel.

Best Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Highly recommendable because of location and friendly, helpful staff.
Nice rooms, but even more important: the roof terrace where you can have a good breakfast and dinner, but also enjoy a magnificent view over the very near top locations like Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque. And over the Sea of Marmara is the Asian part of Istanbul to be seen.
The ‘Grand Bazaar' in walking distance and tram stop ‘Sultan Ahmed’ 100 mtr. Out site the hotel.
We liked our first stay that much some years ago, so we went there for a second time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hommellolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this pleasant review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#9 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing