We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just go there”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
“just go there”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Highly recommendable because of location and friendly, helpful staff.
Nice rooms, but even more important: the roof terrace where you can have a good breakfast and dinner, but also enjoy a magnificent view over the very near top locations like Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque. And over the Sea of Marmara is the Asian part of Istanbul to be seen.
The ‘Grand Bazaar' in walking distance and tram stop ‘Sultan Ahmed’ 100 mtr. Out site the hotel.
We liked our first stay that much some years ago, so we went there for a second time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hommellolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this pleasant review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    321
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
293
347
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My feyonce and I was looking for a clean Little Hotel in the center of Istanbul to be close to all the attractions around Sultanahmet, because of the Good reviews we Chosed the ambassador.
And After our Stay I can Say that it was Even better than the Reviews..
All the Little Details beginning from the free Shuttle from and back to the AirPort, the Nice smalltalk and the Good advices for the Sightseeing, the Little personalised Touches like tea and Cookies during Check in and in the Rooms up to the very helpful Crew who made us feel more than just home, ist was just Perfect! No matter what Question I had, I Could ask the Crew and they helped me Out..for example I wandted to make a cooking Workshop where we Could learn and Cook a turkish Meal and Asked at the reception, they called around but the only offered Workshop in Istanbul was Already booked out, so they Organised everything To make the Workshop in the Own Kitchen of the Hotel, the cook (Thank you again Derya) Stayed longer that day and gave just me and my feyonce a Personel introduction into the turkish Kitchen and we Cooked a Great Meal together and it was so Fun and at the end really delicious too ;)

the only "negative " Thing we can Say, are the small Rooms whith no view but it was ok for us because we were Out all Day and almost all Night and just for sleeping at Night it was more Than enough! It was clean and Good looking and although its seize, we had enough Space for our stuff whithout Having a Chaos:)
We also want to Mention that the reception is really trustful in the way that they helped us to find the best Trip to the best conditions and Not the Tourist - Prices..they also Took care that during the Trips outside the Hotel all their Partners treated us well and of Course Not to the touri-Prices.
So we had Always the best Meals, best seats during concerts or programs to Cheaper Prices and very high Attentiion in Service.. Long Story but Short summary: the only place to Stay in Istanbul !!!
Thanks again to the lovely people
with Best regards
Zeynep and Daniel Kaczmarek

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeynep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Zeynep and Daniel Kaczmarek,

Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are so excited to know of the wonderful time you had during your stay with us. At Ambassador Hotel, we try to make each guest feel at home and comfortable with us.

It is an honour that you would consider Ambassador Hotel as one of the best hotels you've ever stayed at.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a city break to Istanbul and stayed at the Ambassador Hotel.This turned out to be a excellent choice. Very central location overlooks the Blue Mosque from roof terrace. Staff very helpful and pleasant,with the hotel reception particularly good in making arrangements for us.There was a wonderful choice of food at the buffet breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. There was a bit of a shortage of tables inside as it was too cold to sit outside so either share tables at breakfast or wait during the busy time.We used the hotel shuttle service to and from the airport which solve any transport issues. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a short city break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel and your recommendations. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service, overall services and the team’s hospitality.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Ambassador Hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ideally situated in Sultanhamet (rooftop terrace offering a perfect view of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia) the Ambassor is a lovely place to stay.
The staff are really friendly and helpful and do their best to make you feel at home. Little personalised touches like tea and cookies which are offered during check-in or the box of Turkish delight offered as a parting gift add to the pleasantness of the atmosphere.
The rooms are clean and sufficently sized although the decor could be improved.
All in all I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the lovely compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Istanbul and we both agree that when we return, we will stay at The Ambassador Hotel again. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with your travel needs. We were welcomed with a cup of warm apple tea and showed to our room. The area that the hotel is located is very convenient and is surrounded by great restaurants, cafe's, shops, etc. Due to the great location, it is very easy to walk out the front door and spend the entire day sightseeing (Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar). We very much enjoyed the breakfast terrace, which is one of the best parts of the hotel. I hope we can return again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC62511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are extremely delighted to have made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you and your family back with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed stay of 5 nights. The rooms whilst small and quite dark are spotless with everything you need inn the bathroom.
Buffet breakfast was a veritable feast. we would particularly recommend Sezgin who was always smiling and couldn't do enough for us. Have already recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Ambassador hotel at least once a year from 1999 to now. It is the best place to stay both room wise and staff. The free morning breakfast is vast and so good. The free afternoon tea with all kinds of Turkish treats is a nice pick me up to your stay. The rooms are clean and nice for European hotels. It is so nice to have a Turkish bath on site. Mr. Zeki is the best at message and Turkish baths. This 21 room hotel is small enough to give that extra personal at home feel. It is so close to everything. It is in a safe area. Not down some dark street at night. Less than a block for Blue Mosque and tram that will take you to all places. You will be so happy to stay at the Ambassador.

Room Tip: Room 405 is a large room and has 3 single beds, a hot pot ,ref, shower, table and 2 chairs and dres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SEEISTANBUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

All of us at the Ambassador Hotel enjoy your friendship and wish you well. Please take care till we meet again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,151 in Istanbul
297 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,151 in Istanbul
852 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,151 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#21 of 1,151 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#110 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#112 of 1,151 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing