We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$499
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveler rating
770
350
41
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
770
350
41
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquerooftop terracegrand bazaarapple teaperfect locationsultanahmet tram stopturkish bath and massagewithin walking distanceturkish delightbasilica cisternold cityside streetturkeythe hotel staffbreakfast roommajor attractions
Filter
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

You could not ask for a better location in the heart of sultanahmet with all the amenities on your doorstep.
Within 5 mins walk you have Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace. We managed to see all these sights / museums within 2 days and the location really helped us.

All around the hotel you are spoilt for choice in what to eat as restaurants are in abundance.
however most of the restaurants are selling the same cuisine, shish, doner kebabs and in my opinion the over rated 'ottoman cuisine'. All comparable prices. around 25 eur each.

The grand bazaar (big shopping area for tourists) is within 10 mins walk.

Upon check in we were greeted by 'Ersin' one of 2 hotel receptionists. Ersin was really helpful and very well informed on all questions about the area put to him. His colleague, I think 'Sisen' was also very good and we saved a lot of time and money with these guys. probably the 2 best front line staff ive ever met in hotels. well done 'Ambassador'.

I was however disappointed with the size of the rooms. We had 2, a queen bed and 1 twin size. Both rooms were of similar size but not really big enough to swing a cat. We figured seen as we were only there to sleep we would not make a big deal of it.
The rooms were kept tidy and also nice to see a safe in the room.

Breakfast on the terrace was impressive and this hotel must have one of the best views in Sultanamet overlooking the blue mosque.

The spa is in the basement and highly recommended as the prices are very good value with an array of various massages to choose from.

On departure we were given a nice box of Turkish delights plus a complimentary ride back to the airport. It was no harm in tipping the driver who took us.

All in all I would recommend this hotel on hotel friendliness, location and breakfast but not the rooms as they need to be bigger.

Room Tip: Ideally ask for a queen or king bed as those rooms tend to be slightly larger.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DALASliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your recommendation and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

It is nice to hear that you found the time to visit our private spa.

The Ambassador Hotel Team is sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with our room size. Since the hotel building is over 150 years old, the rooms are slightly small, but also average in Sultanahmet area. We are sure that our services and terrace view made up for it.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Initially a bit tricky to find in the myriad of back streets as Taxi's have a hard time getting up this street but it is a really short walk from the main street. It's Sultanahmet location is great for walking to many of the top sites in Istanbul and so close to the tram that getting around is a breeze. Roof top cafe for breakfast with amazing views over to Blue Mosque and Ayasofya.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrajapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltun, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time to write this review and are happy to have made your visit to Istanbul a very pleasant one.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in Sultanahmet with the tram stop just around the corner. Fortunately we were picked up by the hotel transportation from the airport, otherwise it would have been hard to find the hotel in a small (but safe) backstreet between many restaurants. It has a rooftop terrace where breakfast is served, with a beautiful view on the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi. Breakfast is o.k. but nothing special. Our twin room was small as was the reception-area. On the website everything as usual seems larger but in this case it was disappointing. As a matter-of-fact the whole hotel is small. The staff was friendly but that's it. So nothing to complain about but also no "whow" factors. Istanbul is a popular destination and that is probably why prices are high and I found the value a little bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel61addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with the size of our hotel, although we like to mention that our room sizes are ordinary for this area and our reception area (lobby) is larger than in most hotels in our neighbourhood.

Maybe we will see you again during your next Istanbul journey.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we will in Istanbul for a week and i had been preparing for a marathon and running a lot. i found out about Zeki and the Ambassador spa in the tour guide and decided to try this. i must say this was one of the best massages i have ever had. instead of the standard hamams and spas i would strongly recommend a massage by Zeki if you are in Istanbul. even the price is reasonable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank RasheshShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience and recommendations.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the massage service by Zeki and looking forward to welcome you back some time in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful service- our room was accidentally selected as a twin room on booking but was changed with little fuss. Beautiful breakfast- a good selection and great omelette station. 
Friendly, helpful staff, particularly Talha and Sezgin. Breathtaking views on the roof terrace, overlooking the sea and 'The Blue Mosque'- what more could you ask for? Fantastic location- within walking distance to all the historical places and restaurants/cafes in Sultanahmet. Tram stop was in a convenient location.
Overall, highly recommended hotel. 

Room Tip: Junior suite is bigger.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asafina973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are happy to have made your initial stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back to another time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews