We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in the city”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in the city”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is right in the middle of sultanhmet, across the road from blue mosque, therefore ideal if you're planning a trip for sightseeing.
Although its a small property, the staff was very helpful, helping us plan our trips, with directions and helpful tips. There are many restaurants on the street right next to the hotel. Ideal for dinners when you don't want to venture too far after a full day of sightseeing.
The hotel terrace provides a view to remember.
The rooms are comfortable although not luxurious.
The ambassador is a definite find in the historical centre. Helpful staff and we were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms if available on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrskapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write this review.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    321
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
293
347
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina,Sask
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

W were thankful at our airport arrival to be met by Jem for our complimentary transport to the hotel. Upon arrival, Ersin sat down with us over complimentary Turkish tea and explained tour and dining options for the area. The hotel is within very short walking distance to all major attractions ( Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the cistern, Bazaar) in a very safe area. We walked from sun up to sun down and found the Turkish people to be friendly and helpful.Every morning we enjoyed a superb breakfast at the rooftop restaurant. The staff were helpful and welcoming at any time of the day, and could not do enough for us. The complimentary afternoon Turkish tea and sweets break was a welcome daily relief from the tourist crowds. We highly recommend the Ambassador for its great staff and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanRegina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and recommendations.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to accommodate you during your next Istanbul visit.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimoda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely, warm and hospitable boutique hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel if you value warm and friendly service, great location and charm. Thank you Ersin for all your help, advice and information about Istanbul. A true gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliShimoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and your recommendation.

Looking forward to see you during your next Istanbul visit.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Very close to tram stop which is very important in the Old City as the taxi drivers are very shady/cheats. We took the tram to almost everything. And it is clean and easy to use. And right outside hotel. Our room was modern/updated. Bathroom was a bit tight but very clean and bright. Room was a bit dark. Breakfast and patio/terrace was absolutely amazing. All types of food for breakfast - really got a feel for the local foods. Yogurt with fruit was just so fresh and delicious. I can still taste it. Staff was very helpful although their recommendation for a restaurant was the worst meal we had so maybe stay away from that and do your own research before going or look in guidebooks. Any time we needed anything, they were there within minutes. Wi-fi was impeccable. Rooms were clean. I would not hesitate or think twice before staying here again. The restaurants right outside of the hotel were amazing and there are cute areas to walk around right by the hotel. Beds were also very comfortable. Ideal local, clean, helpful staff and great price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naur1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to write your review and recommendations.

We wsih you a wonderful week ahead and looking forward to welcome you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The view from the roof terrace where you have breakfast is fantastic. You are opposite a small mosque and can see the Blue Mosque ahead of you. Being up there with a drink on arrival with the call to prayer in the background is a little surreal until you have heard it a few times! I slept through the early call to prayer so don't worry that it will wake you. I only heard it once when I was already awake. If you want to go to prayer, you could request an alarm call! The location is great as the hotel is just off the main road which is to the north of the hippodrome. All main attractions and restaurants are just a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: We were next to the lift but it wasn't a problem with regard to noise. External sound was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon_Kent_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to post your review.

It is wonderful to hear to you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This small hotel is in a good location with all major attractions within easy reach The staff are
very friendly and helpful... memet thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable hope your tooth is better now!!! Breakfast is good with good choices on offer. Rooms on the small side but comfortable and clean.Would recommend to anyone going to istanbul.Nice veranda over looking the blue mosque when having b'fast... but look out for the regular visitor the Crow..yes he pinches your breakfast when you go inside for anything...make sure someone is keeping an eye on your plate if you leave the table..........he is very cunning !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butt060652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It is nice to hear that you had a great stay with us and looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham al
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is a gem and it's location is the best ever! It is nestled between the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque in the Old City. We prearranged a pickup at the airport and were delivered to the hotel where we were welcomed with steaming hot apple tea and freshly baked cake. The
balcony is a stones' throw from these sights and provides an excellent spot to enjoy the elaborate breakfast buffet each morning. The view is breath taking. After several incredible days walking the Old City I had an incredible Turkish massage with Lavender Oils. The masseuse is incredibly skilled at working out the tension in your neck and lower back and after all those flights it was rejuvenating.
Great place to vacation!
J Martorana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your time to post your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ambassador Hotel and looking forward to welcome you back another time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,151 in Istanbul
297 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,151 in Istanbul
852 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,151 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#21 of 1,151 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#110 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#112 of 1,151 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing