We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambassador Hotel "Long-weekend"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #72 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambassador Hotel "Long-weekend"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My daughter and I met in Istanbul for a long weekend and stayed at the Ambassador Hotel. Our stay was eventful and wonderful. The staff were second to none! We were welcomed each time we entered with a smile and warm conversation. The accommodations were impressive, breakfast was delicious, but it was the staff that made our stay most memorable. Thank you: Ersin,Sezgin, and most of all Mehnet! If we ever return to Istanbul we would only stay here as we made friends and the location was perfect!

Room Tip: Simply enjoy your surroundings and spend time on the rooftop imaging the breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHELLE66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your time to post your review.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team, who was very happy. Looking forward to welcoming you back in future.

Have a wonderful weekend.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    303
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
280
334
82
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Bloomfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a trip to Istanbul. The Ambassador Hotel was in a perfect location & the staff was amazing. They were very helpful & courteous at all times. We stayed on the top floor & had a wonderful view of the Blue Mosque & the city every morning at breakfast, (which was superb), & was lit up beautifully at night.. We were there March 12 through March 19. Thank you Sezgin for everything! The Dawsons

Room Tip: Top floor with a view of the Blue Mosque & the city at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaeleD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Dawson,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your nice review.

We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful anniversary and looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is its greatest asset, very easy walk to all the big attractions and the breakfast is served on the roof with the best view of the Blue Mosque.
Rooms are clean and adequate and the staff provide excellent service.
Only thing lacking is a pool or Spa/Sauna which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for posting your review.

We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Old buildings like ours are not designed for pools therefore you can hardly find a hotel in Sultanahmet with a pool. However, we provide a private sauna and Turkish Bath use in our basement. Appointments are neccessary.

Maybe you will be able to check out our private spa during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a smaller hotel with the conveniences of a larger property. The furniture style is typical ornate mid-century Turkish. The noise level is moderate, but the location is near to more than one mosque, so you will hear the calls to prayer.
My only major complaint staying here was that the bed mattress was not comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your time to post your review.

Your suggestions will be discussed during our next staff meeting.

We look forward to accommodate you in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small room, ok. But it is just for the night and it's quite enough, we stay at room 303. The shower was small... I have 192cm (6,3 ft) tall I had to do some gym!!!
location is perfect, near main street, near Ayasofia and other main sites.
Room clean and staff very friendly, at first the front desk manager seams rude but it was just our first impression, he is nice and helpfull. Sezgin his one of the staff quite friendly and all ways helpfull.
The gym, is cold and mainly to put some clientes luggages.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GIlberto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Your suggestions will be discussed in our next staff meeting.

Looking forward to accommodate you during your next Istanbul visit.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here three days and were really sad to leave. The Ambassador is a wonderful place to stay in Istanbul, 5 minutes walk from Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi museums. The view from the rooftop bar is breathtaking, and looking down at the life of this amazing city with a nice Efes beer is a fine way to spend an evening. The rooms are comfortable, bathrooms and other facilities are very good. Breakfast is delicious - lots of tasty stuff, lots of variety, and lots of unusual things to try. What really stands out, though, are the staff - friendly, charming and helpful. Special thanks to Sezgin and Mehmet for their great service on the terrace bar - they really want you to enjoy Istanbul. To sum up - a great little hotel.

Room Tip: There are a lot of cats in Istanbul, and they can be noisy at night. If this is going to keep you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCook44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your wonderful review and recommendations.

We are proud of our team and passed your special thanks over to Sezgin and Mehmet who were very happy.

Looking forward to welcome you back on your next Istanbul trip.

Have a wonderful week ahead.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

very nice location, all the historic sites are in walking distance. Rooms are small but renovated and
modern. Breakfast is great and Mr. Sezgin is in charge of the breakfast room he is very friendly and accommodating. The only negative is the day front desk manager is not friendly and rude, he makes you feel like he is doing you a favor, he needs to learn from all other people who work there on how to treat the guest.

Room Tip: great location for visiting historical sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssrfzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for writing your review.

We are sorry to hear that you had problems with our receptionist. We do always receive only positive feedbacks and are happy with his work.
He loves his work and would like to apologize if he has given you a wrong impression. He will be more carefully in future.

Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#18 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing