We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, friendly staff --- perfect location”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive, friendly staff --- perfect location”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When my flight to Cairo was cancelled in 2011, my 2-hour layover turned into an unexpected 9-day vacation. My experience at the Ambassador was so great that when I returned to Istanbul this February for business, I came back to it and added an additional 3 nights. The staff is friendly, attentive, and genuinely cares that you have a great experience. Breakfast on the rooftop is a great start to the day. The rooms are average, but the beds were very comfortable-- I got great sleep while I was there.

The location is fabulous--a minute's walk to the tram station which carries you anywhere from the bazaar to within a few blocks of Taksim square and the Istiklal Cadesi area. And most of the city's major sights are within 5 minutes walk.

The BEST part though is that when I walked in the door to check in for my second stay, Nuray (amazing receptionist and a great conversationalist :) ) recognized me within 10 seconds even though I had been gone for 25 months.

I've done a lot of traveling on my own and have stayed in many hotels in many countries, but this was truly the best experience I've had.
Highly recommend -- I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have shared your feedback with the entire team, who would like to thank you for your review and recommendations.

Looking forward to accommodate you in future and wish you a wonderful week ahead.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    321
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
293
347
87
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waukesha wi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador 3 days, flew off to stay in Selcuk (see Ephesus and the like...well worth it!) and stayed 2 additional days at the Ambassador before we flew home. This is a really nice modestly priced hotel that is in the heart of "old town" and very very convenient to all the things you will want to see. The hosptiality of this hotel coupled with the fabulous rooftop resturant area where breakfast is served is what makes this a really great choice. The staff works very hard to meet all your needs and answer all your questions. I didn't write the evening manager's name down, but I think it was Sinan, and he was really nice and informative. He even stopped by the Starbucks up the road to retrieve my husbands lost hat (yes, Istanubul has Starbucks). There was a very pleasant female day manger (sorry, I don't recall your name but you were very kind) and the breakfast staff/bellhop Sezig did all he could to make our stay comfortable. He was so attentive at breakfast. He was cheery, remembered things we drank and ate, and had a great attitude. It seems like he really takes pride in his work. There are only two downsides to this hotel. The room we stayed in was on the small side (as hotel rooms can be in old historic cities) and we couldn't really spread out so we needed to keep our things tidy at all times. The other thing is that to an American body...the beds are really hard. There is no cush at all. It appears that Americans like soft beds so if you either A) are not American you may find the beds wonderful or B) Perhaps you like hard beds or are like my husband who can sleep on the ground while camping! Just a warning. With that said, I would put up with the small room and hard beds to enjoy the fabulous fabulous view of the city from the rooftop and to enjoy the hard work and outstanding hospitality of the staff. Oh...and the food was plentiful and really really tasty!

Room Tip: If you like to spread out you may want to chose a suite. It would be worth the money for people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quacklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion.

We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Ambassador even though the beds were to hard (difficult to find the right beds for so many different nationalities).

Your feedback has been shared to the entire team who would like to thank you.

Looking forward to accommodate you in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This superb little hotel nestled just off the the main thoroughfare with the tramline running through is an excellent choice.It is only minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and the Grand Bazzar.Breakfast is served on the roof terrace with spectactular views over the city A good selection is offered with a choice of hot and cold,and a great selection of local meats.The Hotel also has a spa and fitness centre situated in the basement,The rooms are adequate with good en suite facilities and are well cleaned every day.An afternoon cup of tea and pastry is provided for guests between 3,30 and 5pm a nice touch.The reception staff were reall helpful and friendly and special mention to Sinan .All in all a hotel I would highly recomend. Brian

Room Tip: As there are only four floors its nice to be able to go straight from your room in the morning to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Brian,

thank you very much for your wonderful review with we shared with the entire team.

Have a beautiful week ahead.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

In December I traveled home to Hungary , I broke my travel and met my family in Istanbul.
The location is excellent, lot of historical places. Like Hagia Sophoa, Blue Mosque, SultaAhmet squeare, and the cictern. It is easy to achive other location as the tramp lini is just 50 meters away.
The staff is very helpful they try to fulfil all the requests of the quests. They are ready to provide advice in different issues but they never forced us.
This hotel is very familiar and it is very romantic to have dinner on the terrace in adequate weather conditions.

Room Tip: There is no real difference between the rooms according to my experience. The rooms facing paralell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KabulGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review.

It is indeed wonderful and romantic to dine on our terrace. The view over the old city center touchable near.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

While searching online for a hotel for our three night stay in Istanbul I was looking for one that was near Sultanahmet Square and provided massage services. My search lead me to the Ambassador Hotel. As others have stated the location is perfect, just a short walk to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Sultanahmet Square and tram stop. The staff is very friendly and helpful and be sure to get a massage...one of the best! The rooms are adequate size and since the hotel is off a small side road the street noise is minimal. Room also came with free wi-fi, breakfast, and a private ride from the airport. Great value for your money. The only negative was the shower drained slowly in our room. If your stay is primarily for vacation and visiting the main sites then the Ambassador Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRSESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

We have checked all the rooms regarding the shower and would like to tell you that it has been fixed.

It is a fortunate to work with such a good masseur. He does a wonderful job.

Have a great week ahead and looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole.Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Along with my husband daughter and son-in-law we stayed 3rd-8th March 2013 lovely little hotel staff couldnt do enough for us I can recommend the Turkish bath and massage from Zeki best ive ever had in Turkey and ive had lots it was my husbands birthday the day we arrived and after flying with BA and giving champagne on the flight we were more than surprised when we had a cake with candles and sparklers brought to the room.
The Blue Mosque is just across the square and it is in veiw from the roof terrace breakfast area the Grand Bazar is a short walk away you could stay in there all day and not see it all tram a mere 3tl per ride so efficient dont know why we havent got them in every town and city cant wait to go back so many more places to see just a word of warning dont go on the open top bus accross the Bospherous if its windy we went and it was freezing but well worth going to the other side
Sandra. Poole.Dorset

Room Tip: we had room 403 the rooms are all between buildings but who stays in a room when you are site seeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zandrafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time to write your review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Istanbul and our hotel.

Looking forward to accommodate your during your next Istanbul vacation.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and had a wonderful time. The hotel is located on a tiny side street just metres away from Sultanahmet Square. The Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, the Basilica Cistern and the Hippodrome are literally just a few steps away; Topkapi Palace is just a short distance away. We also walked to the Grand Bazaar (about 10-15 minutes) and then, many happy hours of bargaining and shopping later, we walked through back streets to the Spice (Egyptian Bazaar). You can also catch a tram from close to the hotel: this will take you cross the Galata Bridge to Beyoglu, where there are many wonderful things to see, shops and restaurants.

So the hotel is close to lots of the sights, and to public transport. But it's more than that: the hotel also looks directly out at Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, and the Bosphorus in the distance. the view from the rooftop terrace and restaurant is stupendous. You can sit up here and have a drink or cup of tea at any time of the day or night; in the mornings you get to eat breakfast looking out at this panorama.

The breakfast is worth taking your time over. There are four types of jam, many cheeses, cold salad dishes, hot food, several types of fresh bread, yoghurt with pomegranites, fresh fruit, cherry juice... If you are offered a freshly cooked omelette, jump at the chance: ours was thin, speckled with chilli, and dotted with fresh fetta. Beautiful. Breakfast is attended by Sezgin, who is charming, friendly and helpful. And all the staff were great: the reception staff are polite and willing to advise on anywhere you might wish to go.

The rooms are not big (but this would be the case in any hotel in the old town, I should think), but they are well equipped. It's not luxurious but rather 'comfortable' - but you are out and about all day anyway, so the size of the room shouldn't really matter. There's an airport transfer service, which makes arrival and departure trouble-free.

If you are looking for suggestions for places to eat, try these: Pasazade in the Sirkeci area does great Ottoman food; and the Galata House near the Galata Tower provides Georgian food in a former prison building...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It is a nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to be able to accommodate you during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,149 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,149 in Istanbul
851 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#22 of 1,149 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#107 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#112 of 1,149 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing