We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic turkish flying carpet”
Review of Hotel Sebnem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sebnem
Ranked #274 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The rooftop deck breakfast of the Hotel Sebnem
is the perfect way to start the Constinapolis early
morning day. It does not get much better
With the help of Huseyin, Unal and the rest of the staff
each day in this ancient Byzantine citadel of fasination
is a day to remember. The Yildiz cafe-restaurant tucked
away close by, is excellent, a real 'food gem'.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WOOLFHOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 512 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed at the Sebnem with 3 friends. We all loved the place. The rooms are charming and the staff are efficient, friendly and go that extra bit to make your stay enjoyable. The rooftop terrace is a real bonus... great place to relax with a glass of wine in the late afternoon and watch the sky turn pink Breakfast is also served up there and what a breakfast...huge spread of fresh, delicious fruits, yogurt, vegetables and freshly baked pastries. They also offer free internet access and are more than willing to show you how to navigate the Turkish keyboard. Conveniently located near the major sights and hammams as well as the tram that takes you over the river to the other sites and hot spots. I highly recommend the Sebnem.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatshopnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I chose the Sebnem based on reviews from other posters on Tripadvisor, and I was not disappointed. If I remember correctly, I was in room 301 which is a single room, and it really is quite small, but I did not mind as I spent very little time in the room anyway. The room cost EUR70 per night which is perhaps a bit expensive, but I was told that outside of the peak season the room would cost EUR40 which seems reasonable.

The big selling point for this hotel is it's location. You are literally less than 5 minutes walk from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, and right in the heart of historical Sultanahmet. There is also a taxi stop just down the road from the hotel, which is convenient for getting around town and to the airport.

The hotel has two rooms on the ground floor with a small garden/patio attached to it. These seem a good option, should you wish to spend a quiet night in with your loved-one. Otherwise, there are several bars/restaurants nearby, if you fancy a drink or a bite to eat.

Breakfast was included in the price and is served from the dining area at the topfloor, with a nice view of the Sea of Marmara and Istanbul. The breakfast is substantial, with a selection of cheese, olives, tomatoes, cucumber, meat and fresh bread. They also have a great selection of pasty, for those of us with a sweet tooth.

The hotel offer free internet, either from a desktop computer downstairs in the reception, or via two laptops in the dining room area.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and always there to give you tips and directions to the various sights, or just have a talk about Istanbul and Turkey in general. I would like to give a special thanks to Mr Unal who was very friendly and welcoming.

I'd be happy to stay at the Sebnem again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toujours_plus_haut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed at this charming little hotel in Istanbul for one week and I have only good things to say. The location is amazing; the view from the roof terrace is not to be believed. The breakfast is also superb, the rooms are modern and comfy, and the staff is warm kind and cordial. This hotel retains the charm of the old eastern empires with all the facilities of a modern hotel. If you are in Istanbul do not pass up the Sebnem hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GPfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Very cute hotel in excellent location. Was made very welcome on arrival. Great staff altogether. Located on a very pretty cobbled street with the Hotel Hanedan next door, plus the Alaturka, the hotel Peninsula and hotel Alp opposite with the Hotel Zoe at the top of the very short street. The 4 Season was a few yards futher on (incidentaly I would not have paid the extra for this very smart hotel as although it looked wonderful, outside the walls the area immediately around was pretty grim). We had room 17 which was at the front on the very corner. Very small room but spotlessly clean with solid wood floors plus a small shower room as well. Towels supplied but no face cloths or even a wash basin plug so remember to take your own! A hook for the towels in the bathroom would be a good idea plus a clock in the bedroom. Comfy bed and pillows.
Beakfast was wonderfull! A big plus was the jug of fresh squeezed orange and pomegranate juice they prepared just for you every morning. There was the usual continental plus a great spread of sweet and savory pastries plus fresh bread, jams and honey. Fruit salad, yogurt plus salad items. Coffee was made in huge Italian coffee machine. Truely scrumptious!
The roof terrace where breakfast was served had great views over to the other side of the sea of Marmara and in the evenings it was possible to sit up there and use the 2 laptops and have a beer or coffee. A backgammon set was supplied as well.
The location is great for everywhere. The main tourist sights are only minutes away by foot. To reach Topkapi and Haghia Sofia just turn right at the top of the street and walk up the hill. Topkapi will be in front of you (get there around 10 to avoid crowds going in the harem and treasury). For the ferries just follow the tram lines down just past Topkapi, an easy 15 minutes walk and a great 1.5tl ride. Loads of restaurants within yards.
We would go back again as staff very friendly, hotel so cute and fantastic location!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wonderar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at hotel Sebnem for 4 nights and it is a great small hotel with a helpfull staff and excellent breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fulesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights at this delightful hotel, centrally located in the Sultanahmet area, within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions. Staff were all charming and efficient, and anticipated our every need. The rooftop terrace offers a lovely view of the Marmara Sea, and the buffet breakfast offered a stunning variety of goodies.
Clean, comfortable and charming - at very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#313 of 1,163 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#238 of 1,163 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#369 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#535 of 1,163 in Istanbul
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sebnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing