We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in OId City”
Review of Hotel Sebnem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sebnem
Ranked #332 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
wilmette, il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in OId City”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for four nights during our first-ever trip to Istanbul. The hotel has a nice, charming atmosphere. The room was nice, and the staff was very courteous, always willing to help in whatever we needed. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was magnificent -- both the view and the food. Each day, the staff prepared at least one new delicious dish to go along with the other food.

The hotel is a short walk from all the major attractions in the old city of Istanbul, and also close to the Sultanhamet tram stop. After the first day, we started using the tram frequently to venture into other parts of Istanbul. It was very easy. (Also, I'd recommend doing that when looking for eating options, since many of the restaurants in the old city seem to offer the same tourist fare.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    142
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
94
216
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked two rooms, 1 for my Dad and the family room. The family room cost $120 euros which for August we felt was very reasonable especially considering that included breakfast for the four of us...and the breakfast is totally amazing. The room was great, beds comfortable and the double shower head to die for. But for us the most impressive thing at the Sebnem Hotel was not the fantastic views from the roof time balcony but the beautiful people who looked after us for our week long stay. From the guy on the front desk to our wonderful rooftop garden hosts we were spoilt rotten. If your still not sold this hotel is located on the old city where you can easily walk to all the major attractions or the tram is 5minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Three of us shared a triple room at the Sebnem for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the sea view terrace provides magnificent views of the Istanbul skyline and the endless traffic of boats, ships, ferries and yachts. The Sebnem was really so comfortable and lovely, and in a great location. Walking distance to everything you need, including public transport to get to other parts of Istanbul. Sultan Ahmet area is probably a little more touristy than we would have liked, however the Sebnem was a haven to return to at the end of each day. There is some street noise in the evenings, however with the windows closed it did not disturb us. The call to prayer can of course be heard, as is this case everywhere. The triple room was pretty small - it was a struggle to fit three suitcases in, but overall it is a really great hotel. Many thanks to Serkan and Cesar for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melindajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great service for our many needs. We were a group of eight spending our last night in Istanbul .One of our friends was celebrating a birthday and we took advantage of the bbq that they offer on the terrace. They also suggested a great bakery where we were able to get a wonderful cake. They really made the night special for us and the food was quite good.

The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to all of the main sites.

Breakfast is delicious. I especially enjoyed the wonderful cappuccinos.

Room Tip: Our downstairs rooms were a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel has lots of charm and very centrally located in old city, sultanahmet. We had a garden room, so great to be able to move out of hotel room. Staff wonderful and helpful. The rooftop terrace is fabulous and breakfasts wonderful. Good espresso and cappacino coffee

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We looked long and hard for a nice, boutique style hotel in the old town (Sultanahmet region) of Istanbul to spend 5 nights, and came across Hotel Sebnem.    

To be honest not sure how to gauge value in Istanbul as this is the only place we've stayed, but for €100 per night we had a nice ground floor room with private garden area. The room was a little on the small side but well equipped with a modern bathroom and air conditioning. Very clean and tidy.

One of the highlights of this hotel is their amazing rooftop terrace where you can sit for breakfast or a cold beer in the afternoon/evening before heading out for dinner.      

The booking process was pain free, and even when we changed our plans perhaps 4 or 5 times they were happy to accommodate and never asked for credit card details - they were happy to hold the reservation without deposit which I thought was good. They organised all airport transfers at (i think) competitive rates, helped plan our days and overall were just really friendly and helpful.    

Location is ideal with all the main sites you'll want to see within a 5 minute walk and a seemingly endless selection of restaurants and bars to choose from in every direction.    

Would recommend without hesitation, my only comment being that the breakfast included wasn't amazing but probably at the standard to be expected. 

Room Tip: The garden room is nice and about 10 euro more a night but to be honest we never did use it cause of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This small and cosy hotel is very well located, close to the principal sites in Sultanahmet. Rooms and comun ares are very clean. We had a beautiful view during the great breakfast, with the help of Mr. Capuccino. And we got all the help we needed from the nice and kind staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
#322 of 1,140 in Istanbul
196 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,140 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#25 of 1,140 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#224 of 1,140 in Istanbul
234 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#371 of 1,140 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#242 of 1,140 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Property: Hotel Sebnem
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sebnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing