We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Ranked #323 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a decent price for the location...it pays to be near the major sights and the tram. It's literally a five-minute walk from the Hagia Sophia (unless you have little kids like us - it's more like 12 minutes). The breakfast terrace on the roof has a view out to the Sea of Marmara. The hotel itself is on a side road without through traffic, so I imagine it is quieter than some of the hotels on the main roads in Sultanahmet. The service was fine. The breakfast was no-frills and I have had many better breakfasts in several other Turkish hotels. They arranged fairly-priced airport transfers for us, though, which was very convenient. We had the family room in the basement, which had a large bed, two singles, and a baby crib - it fit us fine and we didn't feel cramped. Even though it was in the "basement," the slope of the road made it so we actually had a fairly picturesque view into the side roads of Sultanahmet. We did have a small problem with a few ants the first day or two, but it wasn't a big deal and it was taken care of quickly. Internet and TV worked fine. I'd recommend this place for the location and no-fuss quality (but the breakfast was nothing special).

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if that matters to you, get a room near the ground (breakfast is only serve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLGabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel was such a find (thanks lonely planet!). Frankly, it is a bit underrated. The hotel is not too big which I liked as it gives a more personal experience. First, let me highlight the service at this hotel - every single one of the staff members was super helpful and friendly. Anything we asked about, they helped us with. Most importantly, they let us know that because of Ramadan, we needed to get a tour agent to help us with our travel plans because the day we were planning on travelling was a major holiday for the Turkish people and travel by bus and train would be near impossible.

The location of this hotel was also ideal. It was just a hop away from the Topkapi palace and the Aya Sofya (Hagia Sophia). I cannot rave enough about the location! There is also a laundry shop just down the street which has reasonable prices and did a good job. The restaurants are all just down the street from the hotel.

The room itself was nice - nothing super special, but comfortable and with air conditioning. There is a rooftop terrace where they have breakfast and you can enjoy the lovely views. We often went up there to just relax. The breakfast they served was plentiful and with fresh vegetables and fruits in addition to some meats and cheeses. Get there early though or they run out of the hard-boiled eggs - they only cook that once in the morning and once they run out, that is it.

We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if ever back in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed here with my mother and her husband a few months back and the reviews are right, it's a lovely place to stay. It is in the Backpacker area, but that actually has it's advantages sometimes.

The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, good amenities etc. My only complaint against the rooms is that there is specious little soundproofing so you can hear any noise from the stairwell and foyer. Nothing that a good pair of earplugs won't block out though.

The breakfast and the terrace are just divine, very clean, generous, healthy and a wide variety. The view is spectacular.

But the crown jewel is the staff. Mustafa is the kindest, most welcoming host you'll meet, and very clued up about the best things to see or avoid. He gladly arranged travel for us, advised us on shopping and made reservations at restaurants for us. Thank you Mustafa!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We walked around the area and found the Alp Guesthouse at the beginning of October. We paid a small deposit for them to reserve a room for us for when we returned to Istanbul at the end of October. We had caught the night bus from Antalya and arrived a day earlier than anticipated and before 8:00am! They welcomed us for breakfast and were able to accommodate us even though we were a day early for our reservation. The room was ready for us before noon. The rooms are decorated in Ottoman style furniture, the view from our room and the terrace was wonderful. The location is very close to the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sophia and has so many good restaurants within blocks. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suebri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Having recently stayed three nights at this excellent hotel I can heartily endorse the positive comments made by other guests. Great location for sites and restaurants, helpful and friendly staff and great views from the breakfast room and roof terrace. With a south facing aspect from the roof you can enjoy these splendid views across the Sea of Marmara and the entrance to the Bosphorus from the comfort of indoors or outside, whatever the weather!

Room Tip: No need for an alarm clock in the back rooms, the mosque is 50 metres away and the call to prayer is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmfromHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Arriving after an overnight flight we were happy to come to this gorgeous hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff, who were very polite and helpful. The family room was cosy and peaceful. The breakfasts were great and the view from the rooftop were magnificent. Great location! We really enjoyed our time their, i really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Alp is located exactly where any visitor would want to be: short walking distance to all the major sights and restaurants while at the same time being somewhat secluded and quiet. The terrace up top has amazing views of Bosphorous and Sea of Marmara. The double we had wasn't giant but wasn't too small either, I think the four poster bed makes it look small when you walk in. The Alp also is very secure since there is basically only one way in and out of the place which is manned 24/7. The staff are very helpful and genuine, offering us umbrellas on the days it rained and giving us directions to the small grocery stores where we bought all the souvenir chocolate and coffee for a fraction of what was being charged elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had the room facing the street, which has no cars on it so not too noisy; any noise stops around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#262 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#35 of 1,159 in Istanbul
777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sebnem
Hotel Sebnem
#320 of 1,159 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#234 of 1,159 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Fors Hotel
#588 of 1,159 in Istanbul
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alp Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alp Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi Adliye Sokak No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#141 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alp has been successfully renovated after a period of 6 months filled with extensive labor and love. The exterior view of the building was completely redone by using red wood. Rooms have been cleaned, painted and decorated. Beds have been changed with new, custom-made, Ottoman-style ones. The terrace has gone through an overhaul to better suit the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alp Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing