We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget a head scarf to be into” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yeni Cami

Yeni Cami
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.97*
and up
Big Bus Istanbul Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #30 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosque was positioned on a hill overlooking the harbor at Eminonu. Today, the local pigeons make their home in its graceful domes and arches.
ZAKYNTHOS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't forget a head scarf to be into”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I visited the place but it was not my best to disturb people when they were praying. Of course, hundreds of people were into, too. A head scarf is a must to visit it and shoes out, too. A bad smell from feet were around...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MANKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    392
    90
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I loved this mosque. Not having a map, I thought it was the blue mosque until I realized it was the New Mosque. It's quieter and less crowded, as beautiful and right by the Galata bridge and spice market!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not quite as majestic as the heavy hitters up the road, but beautiful tile work and a serene atmosphere make this a must-see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Quieter than the Blue Mosque, so you get a better sense of it being a place for prayer. Very near to the Spice Bazaar and the water front.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suttonteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

As wonderful as the Blue Mosque is, I think this may be my favorite of the mosques we visited in Istanbul. The New Mosque (everything, but especially expressions of age, is relative in a town that's been around for something like 3,500 years) is handy to the waterfront, Spice Bazaar and Grand Bazaar. Its beautiful, soaring interior is grand, indeed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeni Cami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing