We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to New Mosque, Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yeni Cami

Yeni Cami
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
The Magnificent Ottomans - Private Walking Tour
Ranked #29 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosque was positioned on a hill overlooking the harbor at Eminonu. Today, the local pigeons make their home in its graceful domes and arches.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit to New Mosque, Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is well worth a visit. Respecting the custom of removing your shoes respecting dress codes, this mosque is near the spice markets also worth a visit. The Mosque is beautiful, similar to the Blue Mosque, with less people and this makes the visit more enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    392
    90
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Ethereal"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Its an architectural wonder! Looks so magnificent from outside and when one goes inside,its just equally fabulous,in the sense that one begins to feel the serene,quiet beauty of the place.

One look at it and I felt like going inside.Trust me,it transported me to another world of peace and purity.I would say it has a therapeutic effect.We sat and prayed for a while in the courtyard too and felt so relaxed,rejuvenated.
Must visit place esp if one likes silence and peaceful surroundings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PreetikaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This mosque was underrated by the guide books. It was stunning, and in my humble opinion it was more attractive than the Blue Mosque. It is definitely worth seeing if you are passing by. The pigeons were being deliberately fed by women outside the mosque with industrial quantities of grain when I visited. I was surprised that this is allowed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajer0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
271 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This mosque is breathtaking. Both the exterior and interior are absolutely spectacular, plus it is much less crowded than the Blue Mosque. Go inside, sit down and just take in your surroundings - incredible!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delphi927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than Blue Mosque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This mosque is very similar to the Blue Mosque. Honestly, I think it is better because it is located right beside the egyptian/spice market. Also, I had a great childish time playing with the pigeons crowd outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PedroRSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeni Cami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing