We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another beautiful mosque”
Review of Yeni Cami

Yeni Cami
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
The Magnificent Ottomans - Private Walking Tour
Ranked #29 of 1,044 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosque was positioned on a hill overlooking the harbor at Eminonu. Today, the local pigeons make their home in its graceful domes and arches.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another beautiful mosque”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Centrally located, near the Egypt spice market. This mosque is not as clean as Sultan Ahmed, but worth a visit. If you are Muslim, you should try to pray there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    392
    90
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful mosque”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited the new mosque right before a tour of the Egyptian bazaar... and, it happened to be prayer time. While I wanted to be respectful to the Muslim faith (I am not Muslim), I also was so curious. So I joined the faithful in prayer. The mosque has a "visitors" section and practicioners welcomed me to sit in that space. I was well covered -- long sleeve shirt, pants and scarf. It was one of the best experiences of my trip. Visiting a mosque during service allows you to see a beautiful space come to life. Well worth pushing the comfort zone and they were happy to have me!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaEurope2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“missing my shoes :)”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

once i've been there to pray and somebody stole my shoes. then the workers there gave me slippers and i've gone home. but it was rainy day and i was sick after that. and i miss my shoes

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raju Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A 500 years old 'NEW' mosque”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is ideally situated just by the ferry points. Similar to the other mosques, this is a good place to watch the lights come on around and watch the boats in the water. There is a local coffee shop at the base where locals drink tea and play backgammon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Big and worth seeing if you are in the area”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is relatively plain compared to its more famous cousins in the Sultanamet. But worth popping in to if you are visiting the spice Market next door and the Rastem Pasha Mosque

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yeni Cami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing