We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and Location and View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #201 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 5 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke good English and made us feel very welcome. The view from our balcony and the breakfast deck was amazing. The hotel is perfectly placed with a short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia , Cisterna Basilica, The Grand Bazaar and the tram line. The room was a good size and the bathroom with a shower had been recently renovated. Although we went as a couple the hotel is very child friendly and interleading rooms are available. I loved my time in this hotel and can will go back anytime. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddustofafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet and we are very grateful for your nice and very detailed feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 794 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at the Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel. Staff were very friendly and accomodating and spoke excellent english. The location of this hotel is terrific. It is on a quiet square but, right in the middle of the major tourist sites (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar)--all readily within walking distance. Depending on your interest in somewhat longer walks, the other major sites of the city are all within easy reach (Spice Market, Süleymaniye Mosque, Ferry boat waterfront, Istikal Street, Taksim Square). The views from the dining room where a terrific Turkish breakfast buffet is served each morning are spectacular. One can see the above named mosques as well as the Sea of Marmara and when the weather is nice, a very spacious outdoor terrace is open for dining. The main lobby is ornately decorated and comfortable. Afternoon tea at 4-5 pm each day in the lobby was very nicely served with some turkish pastries. Our first night, we stayed in a standard room on the 4th floor. This room was too compact and without a balcony or spacious enough bathroom. For the remainder of our stay, we moved up to a more deluxe room on the 6th floor with a balcony and roomier, updated bathroom. We had a beautiful view of Hagia Sophia and the old town section of the city. The beds and linens were of very high quality and most comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel as a solid 4 star property.

Room Tip: reserve a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back . We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Golden horn hotel was one of the best located hotel in the old town of Istanbul.Superb view from the roof terrace.
Roos are so good , good sized, very wel equipped. Multi lunguage speaking staff are so frıendly.
Higly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryoze r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Incredible view from the rooftop. A stone throw away from Blue mosque and Ayasofia. Just face to Marmara sea while having a cuo of drink. Roos were as a palace room felt us as king&queen :). Grandbazaar was just few steps away from us. getting back to the hotel was so good after having visit the main points of the oldtown. Highly recommend this great hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kemen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

You nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Don't believe the pictures! The room was very small and cramped.
Poor quality room! Definitely not 4*
Air con noisy and didn't work on a low setting. TV was broken, telephone handset broken!
Bathroom dark and smelly.
We had booked a double room and We had requested a cot. although said they would have one available, they didn't. They insisted that they were fully booked and so we had to push our beds together in the twin room for the 3 of us to sleep.
Tiny wardrobe space! Just about enough for one person, never mind 3 of us.
The cleaner stopped making up our room after a few days of our stay.
The staff were friendly but we felt pressured to tip as we were made to feel a little guilty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Explorer148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms which were interconnecting for three children and two adults.The rooms were clean
but the bathroom ceilings were leaking and were also very smelly.
The rooms were very noisy and we got very little sleep we could hear the guests from upstairs and also from the lobby.Everytime someone flushed toilet upstairs we could hear it and our bathroom ceiling would start leaking.The receptionists weren't very helpful.The few plus points were
the breakfast and the breakfast staff
Plus the location.One last thing we were not offered the free afternoon tea and cakes which I later found out were free for everyone.
It should be rated as a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mohammed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

well, two couples - 50 somethings - I did the research and I think they misrepresent the rooms - they show the big ones on the website but, in reality, we had tiny, little rooms. It's tired and shabby, the rug in our bedroom I would not want to put my feet on, but the sheets were clean, However, our friends' room stank of stale tobacco and bad drains. (we got them moved the next day). But, the breakfasts were great and the waiters absolutely lovely - if you want a good feed - there's everything from bread, olives, cereal, omelettes, sweet things, dried fruit, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee, water- and a great rooftop view. I would say great if you are a young something - like a backpacker who wants to do something more than a hostel. THE UPSIDE : can't fault the location - St Sophia, Blue Mosque, The Cistern, Galata Tower (even though they say it's 500m from the hotel, it's more like a mile or so - but still walkable) Topkapi Palace - everything is within the vicinity - which is great - it just depends on what you want from a hotel - OH - AND THERE IS NO ALCOHOL - !!

Room Tip: don't do 404 - a corner room and it's been inhabited by smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel. We appreciated that you took time to share your experience with us.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#222 of 1,160 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#97 of 1,160 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#134 of 1,160 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#79 of 1,160 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#30 of 1,160 in Istanbul
314 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#315 of 1,160 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $66 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing