We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #210 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early January for 6 nights.
Entrance like a palace and served tea on arrival by a young lady dressed in traditional costume
We had a twin room over looking the Blue mosque and one word WOW!
Extremely clean place with rooms cleaned daily, bedding and clean towels also every day
Breakfast was quite an experience with so much on offer I was planning my next days feast as I was choosing my present day
Overall a wonderful time at a very beautiful hotel, I can now see why they changed the name to the DELUXE Golden Horn because that's exactly what it is.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyxxAnnaxxLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are very grateful for your nice and very detailed feedback. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 801 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

My parents stayed at this hotel 2 years back and highly recommended this. So we stayed at the same place and so worth it. Would definitely come back here (though in a different room). Just close your eyes and go for this.
- The view and location is first class...as just 10 min walk to the blue mosque and sophiya haque. Close to many restaurants and convenience stores.
- The restaurant is first class -- breakfast buffet is one of the best we've had and Ive stayed in many europeans hotels. The chef is top quality as we had dinner from the restaurant most nights and the quality is top notch.
- Service and staff is very helpful and accomodating.
They go that extra mile as well...when we were waiting in the hotel lobby few hours in afternoon on way back as flight was later in the evening - the hotel served complimentary cakes and tea for all the guests waiting in the reception. My daughter even got a complimentary evil eye wall hanging...small gestures but makes you feel good. Also we'd booked the dinner belly dance via reception but had to cancel last minute as my daughter wasnt feeling well. And the staff understood our situation and there were no cancellation fees charged.

The only negative was the room we got as the shape was really narrow and just didnt like it. Though the view was excellent. So would just request another squarish room next time around.

Room Tip: 5th floor room with view of mosque is absolutely beautiful and worth it for the view! However our tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramneet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

You nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel and are very grateful for your nice and very detailed feedback.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. As a solo male traveller, the hotel staff made me feel comfortable and they were very considerate of my needs. I have travelled all over the world and this hotel provided the best experience that I have ever had. I will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yanek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had an amazing stay here, the staff were really friendly and willing to help, the breakfast was great, the rooms were beautifully decorated, warm and clean.we were on 5th floor and view was brilliant. so we recomend this woderful hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I visited Istanbul with my wife and another couple, and stayed at the Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel. Overall experience at hotel, and in Istanbul was full of pleasant surprises. Right on landing at the airport from Toronto, we were surprised by a local gentlemen with Turkish Lira coin to get theluggage trolley. This was followed by the excellent service provided by Effendi Travels for taking us from the airport to the hotel in a nice and clean van, for a price ( 25 Euros ), better than the small yellow cab.

On arrival, the front desk manager Mr. Orhan offered us the room, slightly better than requested, on a higher floor with a clear view of the blue mosque from our bed. The room was very ornate, but size a bit small as expected in any European city. The hotel is located at stone's throw from all major attractions - Blue Mosque, Haiga Sophia Church, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, and the tram station i Sultanahmet. The views from the hotel rooms and the terrace restaurant are fantastic. The hospitality of the hotel staff was one of the best we ever experienced in our extensive travels worldwide. After long walks, it was a pleasure to return to the hotel for a complimentary high tea service in the lobby, we were pampered by Mr. Bahry, and other two Turkish girls dressed in lovely traditional dress, with Turkish coffe, tea, and the pastries every day. Ms. Tina and Tamara were always very helpful in providing local info, and internet service. The buffet breakfast was good with lots of choices. Please note that you are required to pay for the freshly squeezed orange juice.

The minor improvement I can sugest are;

1. The bathrooms can be upgraded.
2. The front desk should not recommend the dinner and show cruise with Semron Tour company, as this was a disappointment for us.

All in all, our experience was excellent, and would love to return to this hotel and Istanbul any time.

Room Tip: Recommend deluxe room at higher floor with a clear view of the blue mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel. The pictures look beautiful, thank you for posting them.

Your nice comments about our hotel and staff add motivation to our performance to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration.

We hope to see you again soon in the nearest future!

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This must be the best hotel in Istanbul without any doubt!
Fast respons on email, very friendly receptionstaff
Absolute amazing location.
Clean and wonderful decorated rooms.
The view from the roof-terrace is breathtaking overlooking the sea and both Hagia Sofia and The Blue Mosque.
Walkingdistance to all great turistattractions such as the famous Grand Bazaar, the Mosques, Basilica Cistern, Bosporen, restaurangs etc
Breakfastbuffe is more than enough, with fresh juice and lots of different things to choose from.
Great service – especially I would like to mention
Sarya Saliha Haritoglu – Sales & Marketing manager that
gave us the unforgettable service, by upgrading our rooms to VIP setup.
If you go to Istanbul – go to DeLuxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel!!
I promise, you won’t regret it!
I’ll return to this hotel for sure, and can absolute recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a grand old hotel, and restored some years back in old Ottoman style. It is like stepping into an elegant opulent past, with all the care and attention of the present hotel services. On arrival we were greeted by several hotel staff, provided hot towels, served cherry juice and Turkish Delights. Being a little early, the room was not ready, and fresh coffee and free internet connection made the short wait in the old world living room of the hotel for the room to go by quickly. The room was a hoot! It was a room at the back of the building which looked out on to a boarded up old building being torn down! Not quite the expectation for a deluxe room. However, leaning out of the window, there was a superb view of the Blue Mosque. The room was over the top. Metallic silver fittings, metallic silver and black curtains and fringes, and embossed ceiling with orange lighting. It was a strange ambiance. A blast from the past, for sure, and it made it a bit of a fun stay. Bathroom was tiny with a small triangular shower. I am a slim person and I could fit in! Free bottles of water were provided in the room, free internet (a bit slow at times, but OK), and a buffet breakfast was included. This was served on the 6th floor – the roof top. It provided fabulous views of Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Sea of Marmara, and across the rooftops of Istanbul. The food was fantastic – abundant choices of hot and cold foods, cereals, yogurts, jams, pastries, breads and cookies of many different kinds. You could dine at leisure from 7 am – 10 am and enjoy the views. It was a little cool and rainy at this time of the year to eat out on the open balcony from the restaurant, but nice to go out and enjoy the views.

This hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes off Divan Yolu Cadessi in a fairly quiet side street in the heart of the Old City. It is just a short walk from all of the attractions – Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum, Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace as well as the Grand Bazaar. Loads of restaurants surround it. It is easy to take a tram down to the vibrant waterfront at Eminonu and the Galata Bridge. Beautiful especially in the early evening as the city, bridge and mosques light up. It was a 40 TL taxi ride from the airport.

Room Tip: Go take a look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#242 of 1,173 in Istanbul
400 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#84 of 1,173 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Golden Horn Istanbul
Golden Horn Istanbul
#548 of 1,173 in Istanbul
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#87 of 1,173 in Istanbul
935 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#111 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,476 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#144 of 1,173 in Istanbul
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $52 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing