We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Troya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Troya Hotel
Ranked #236 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Hotel is in a fantastic spot close to Taksim Square, the Pera Museum, and right off the Istiklal Caddesi. Room is large and the lounge on the ground floor is pleasant.

My only real reservation is that while the breakfast area is on a scenic roof there was smoking and it was difficult for me to get a place near the buffet table. WHen you are further away from the food the well meaning staff would take my things while I was up getting more. The smoking was irritating.

Overall though the stay was very very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    76
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
53
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed in Troya hotel 3 times. Its 1 min from Istiklal but is very calm. Very clean & beautiful rooms but a small promblem is that some of them have not vew. Very kind staff & they speak good English many of them. The roof garden has amazing vew at Vosporos & you can enjoy your breakfast your meal or a coffee with friends!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariak1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salwá, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in Troya Hotel in Jan 2012 for 1 night, It's very convenient for a business trip especially that it's located somehow in the middle of the busy Taksim Area, the hotel it self has a very calm and relaxing Atmosphere since its not sitting on the main street of Istiklal but just behind it, with a partial view for the Bosphorous from the roof top restaurant while having breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was average and with limited options, unlike the other hotels i tried in Istanbul which usually offers a big variety of local and inter-continental food.

My room was small and the window was overlooking an internal corridor, there were some modern features in room such touch buttons for some facilities, the bathroom was clean, modern and Ergonomic.

Staff were very punctual and helpful, check in and check out procedures were express.

Overall, i would surely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Plus: view from the terrace; politeness of just ONE of the staff on the reception (he helped with all questions and didn't charge me anything when I cancelled 1 night in hotel) + staff who helps with taxi was very attentive & polite; cleanness of all hotel; excellent location; good renovation. Upon the arrival before check in we had 4 hours to wait for free room - staff suggested us to have free breakfast in the terrace, but didn't proposed shower (I knew that there is a possibility to take a shower and change while waiting) - we almost took sauna & bath by storm.

Minus: rooms are very-very small and almost non-sound-insulated + lack of air (conditioner doesn't work when out of room), tiny window with no air access to room and with no view to street or wherever (view to wall), breakfast was fine, but juices were not fresh but synthetic, coffee not real - Nescafe, butter didn't have any taste.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irina-marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Odalar o kadar kucukki bavulunuzu koyacak yer bulamiyorsunuz, oda perceresi yan odadan bir metre uzaklikta, klimayi calistirsaniz tam uzerinize ufluyor, resepsiyon size cevap bile vermek istemiyor bu konuda. Ayni paraya cok daha iyi oteller var.

Although the hotel is a central location, the rooms are so small and stuffy , you feel like in a coffin.
Didn't sleep a bit, if you try to open the window, next rooms window is 1 meter ahead, if you try using the ac, it blows right on your body. With the same pricing you can't early find another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I will not stay at this hotel. Very load music and the rooms are not smoke free as they claim

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mentesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights in Troya during April 2012. Room size is acceptable, new furnished and clean.
The hotel is very close to the Istiklal Street.
We have an early check in and we asked to replace the check out day breakfast with the check in date and they confirmed with pleasure.
Also hotel arranged both transfers (arrival and departure) with reasonable price 25 EUR per way for 4 persons and 35 EUR for 6 persons.
Internet was wireless and free. The stuff was very helpful and always smiling they can speak English and Arabic. Breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: I asked for back room to be more quite and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodyna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Galata Life Istanbul
Galata Life Istanbul
#530 of 1,140 in Istanbul
82 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#93 of 1,140 in Istanbul
153 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Londres
Grand Hotel de Londres
#448 of 1,140 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Troya Hotel Balat
Troya Hotel Balat
#591 of 1,140 in Istanbul
36 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#135 of 1,140 in Istanbul
230 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#403 of 1,140 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troya Hotel

Property: Troya Hotel
Address: Tepebasi, Mesrutiyet Caddesi. No 45 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 80050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Troya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Troya is a 77-room located in the popular city center of Istanbul, Beyoglu-Taksim area, just 100 meters walk from Istiklal street. The hotel has been in service since 1988, and recently renovated in 2011. All rooms include bath with shower, individually controlled air-condition, LCD satellite TV, kettle, wireless internet access and minibar. Free breakfat is served at the terrace overlooking the city view. The hotel offers airport transfer with a minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Troya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troya Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing