We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel for all travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Hostel International
Ranked #11 of 1,249 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for a week in early December, and I was truly impressed as this was my first time stay at a hostel. The rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and they help you whenever you ask. What's more is its location. 2 minute walk to Hagia Sophia, many shops and restaurants nearby (I esp. Loved the lounge cafe "palatium" - great resting place to relax and enjoy some drinks/food). The tram is nearby and if you follow the tram you will find many attractions. Good value for money- very friendly environment - perfect location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 508 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed this hostel 3 times and i really liked their place.. really warm and you feel like staying at home..(clean rooms, clean bathrooms).
Also they have a cafe in front of hostel if u wanna listen good music and try some cocktails...
very helpfull staffs... enjoy your travel..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harun617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've stayed at a few hostels in Istanbul and this is easily the best! There are so many it can be hard to pick one, and I wish I'd found this place before staying at the other boring dives I chose in Beyoglu. The Orient is great value for money, it's got a great vibe and the guys who work there are the nicest in town. If you want to be close to everything in Sultanahmet you're right nearby, but if you're looking for somewhere that seems less touristy don't be put off! You'll get more out of staying here than some of the places over the bridge, because the gang are so friendly you'll feel like family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I always say that you are never in a country if you don't hang out with locals, but my surprise.. after expending few days in orient hostel and the stuff, they were not just local people, they were family, If you really want to feel like experience the real deal in Istanbul you have to stay here, they stuff MY KANKAS make the big different!!! thank you my Turkish family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It was the first time, for me, to be there. I stayed 7 nights and certainly I will come back.
Nice, clean rooms and bathrooms. Good food and breakfast included in a price. The best roof terrace with the view to Bosporus, Topkapi Saray, Haghia Sophia, Blue mosque,...
It's in the middle of Sultanahmet - walking distance of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Saray and all public transport.
Bar and terrace in front of hostel was great for hanging out in and meeting new people. The service was amazing, and all guys who work there are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable about the area, and they are always there to help and answer to all of your questions.
I recommend it to everyone who is visiting Istanbul - the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasmina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is my second time, to stay there with my friends. We stayed there for 7 nights and it was the best time spent in Istanbul.
Great location ... walking distance to Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Sarai, public transport ... in the middle of Sultanahmet.
There is a really nice breakfast room (breakfast is included in the price) and amazing roof top terrace to chill out with the best view.
The room are nice, cleaned, good wi-fi all over the place and cleaned bathrooms.
And the best part is a bar and terrace in front of it. The best atmosphere in Istanbul. So much fun, laughing, partying, good music, ...Friendly and great staff ... helps you with everything. Made some new friends for life! :)
The best cocktail in Istanbul! :)
I recommend it to everyone!!! :)
ORIENT HOSTEL THE BEST HOSTEL TO STAY in ISTANBUL!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm. It was an average room. It was clean and the shared washroom on the floor was relatively clean. You get the atmosphere of a party hostel though. Until 3 AM you will hear people in the hallway. The 30 bed dorm is on the ground floor, the main bar is on the ground floor too. There is also I terrace and another bar on the top floor. There is people mingling for most part of the night. It wasn't hard to sleep through but for some people it may night be admirable. If you enjoy drinking and meeting travelers, then you will love this place. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. You are in the Sultanahamet so the restaurants that are near by are expensive. If you want to eat close the hostel, be prepared to spend close to 20 TL or more for a meal. You are close to all the major tourist spots. It was a fun experience but I would stay in a different part of town next time. For a first time Istanbul traveler, this location is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwilbury1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,249 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,249 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,249 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,249 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#18 of 1,249 in Istanbul
351 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#12 of 1,249 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hostel International

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,249 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $14 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Hostel is situated on the hillside in Sultanahmet, located a few minutes walk from tourist favourites Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The Orient offers clean accommodation ranging from dorm rooms to private rooms with either shared or private bathrooms. Our attentive and helpful staff, make you welcome with a friendly atmosphere and fun belly-dancing and water-pipe (hookah) nights in the terrace café-restaurant during the high season ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Orient Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hostel International Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing