We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orient Hostel International
Nearby Hotels
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$489
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$235
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$112
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$145
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
342
122
24
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
122
24
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiarooftop barperfect locationpublic transportmain attractionsfew minutes walkhookahbosphorusdistrictolivestram
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 514 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After spending 7 months in Europe we had seen our fair share of hostels and this was honestly one of the best. The staff and location were excellent. Our every need they were happy to help with and were always available to suggest places to go and how to do it.

The location allowed great oppurtunities to see all the major landmarks and take in the truely wonderful nature of the city. The room was very clean and well looked after. Showers and toilets were conveient without being too close. They were the highlight for us on our trip as water pressure had been an issue at other places but not here.

Do not have enough nice words to stay but should you be looking to spend a few nights in amazing Istanbul make sure you stay at the Orient Hostel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMacca88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of Orient hostel is great, 5 minute walk to Blue Mosque and the tram stop and on a road with loads of restaurants so there's plenty of choice about where to eat right on the doorstep. We booked to stay in the 30 man dorm for 10 days, we'd been in there 2 days when the manager told us that we were being upgraded to an 8 man dorm at no extra charge since they weren't very busy. We all thought this was a really nice gesture and moved the next day.
The 30 man dorm was fine but a bit dark, its down some stairs and at the back of the hostel near a courtyard. It was obviously a bit noisy because there were people coming back late and snoring etc, but no noise from the street. Also there were lockers available in the dorm where we kept our handbags which was good. Shared toilets and showers were clean and had warm water, and I saw them being cleaned daily which was good.
The 8 man dorm was a lot noisier as it overlooked the street, but we just shut the window and kept the fan on when we went to sleep - a bit hot but bearable. Clean toilets and showers on the same floor as our dorm which was good, plus this room was a lot more homely than the 30 man dorm (understandably), it also had a sink in it which was convenient.
Breakfast is included in the price which was such an added bonus, it was a buffet with not a huge amount of choice, but enough to make it a nice breakfast and really good value for money (bread, eggs, olives, cereal, cucumber). You also get 10% off in the hostel restaurant but we personally felt there wasn't much choice so often ate out. We still enjoyed sitting in the outside areas though.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful, someone was always at reception when we needed help or advice and they always did their very best to help out (calling a taxi to the airport, telling us where was good to go out, lending us sellotape etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went to the Orient to stay one nigh to go to the ALICIA KEYS concert with a couple of friends, lovely place, clean rooms, nice shower, friendly not sleazy staff....and the best Margarita's in town!!!! Will be recommending it for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoxyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The International Orient Hostel in Istanbul is along with the Sultan Hostel next door currently the most happening place in Sultanahmet. The hostel's employees are very customer service oriented and friendly (some of them including Hasan and Onur were just incredible!). They were always to point my friends and I in the right direction. The breakfast served until 1030AM on the 4th floor is excellent, and the rooftop terrace is a great place to chill out in the late afternoon. I strongly recommend this hostel to backpackers and flashpackers alike. It is very easy to meet other traveler's here over a drink/beer/nargile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area to guarantee a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freeman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013, The people were nice and it is what we expected. t's a Hostel, which we've stayed in plenty around europe, but now that we are in our 30's stayed here mostly because the weekend we were here everything else was sooo expensive.

We had a private room for 3 although we were just 2, so it was big enough. The walls were thin and we could here the people next room over and any doors opening or closing in the hallway were quite audible. The shower was slightly elevated from the bathroom floor so little dangerous as if the floor got wet.

The location was good for seeing the sites, but a little too tourist driven. Don't try and use Cankurtaran tram stop, it's a bit tough to walk up from with luggage and doesn't run as often as the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBurgosNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews