We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place on earth!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Hostel International
Ranked #10 of 1,237 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I lived in the orient hostel with a bunch of friends from Denmark in about 10 days. It was fantastic! The place is perfect, the coolest music being played there, you can sit up on the roof and drink overlooking the water where dolphins and other can be spotted. There are plenty of opportunities to get drunk on the spot in the city also, where the coolest bartenders will serve and drink with you for cheap money! Me and my friends had a great time there, definitely one of the coolest holidays in my life, you can not describe it, it must be experienced!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morten31383702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Orient Hostel International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 506 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hostel was great for the budget traveller. The view from the roof was amazing, the proximity to some of Istanbul's most beautiful sights was awesome, and the service was everything I expected from a hostel. Everyone there was very helpful and they offered great advice as to activities and transport across the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Hostel ıs brıllıantly located wıth all the maın attractıons ın easy walkıng dıstance.The staff are great fun, ıt ıs great value for money. Great place to spend a few days, I would hıghly recommend ıt to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hostel is not just a place to crash...its a reason to come to Istanbul! I always have and will continue to recommend the Orient as the BEST place to stay...i've been back about 3 or 4 times after my initial visit in 2007 (had the best summer of my life staying there), and every time i've come back its better and better. This is mainly due to the most amazing staff, who are more like your family when you leave. Genuine, lovely people who will do anything to make sure your stay is great...and as a solo female traveler i have never felt safer or more looked after than i did with my new 'big brothers'. I have traveled extensively and have yet still to find a more honest or lovelier set of people. Honestly i cannot speak more highly of this place, the views are spectacular of the Bosphorus...the rooms are spacious and kept very clean (you soon get to know the jovial cleaning ladies), location is perfect, and there is something gong on every night!! whether you want to have a bbq on the roof terrace, party downstairs, or even just chill in the lounge bar with an Efes and a shisha, you will not have a bad night here. Anyway i'll stop gushing now...but just felt i should share my little love affair with the Orient, it really is a great hostel and i hope to be going there for many years to come :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joella6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I loved my time at the Orient. The roodtop bar was incredible for views of the entire city..... Especially at sunset. The staff was kind and helpful. I've even remained in touch with a few of them. The location is ideal for exploring the city. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Eparkerphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was in Istanbul in April 2012, for 4 nights with friends. When we arrived there, at reception we got warm welcome and free shisha/nergile cupone. After we unpacked and made quick walk in city center we returned to hostel where we had nice party on rooftop with guests and staff. Two days later we went out with part of stuff to night club. On one rainy day we stayed in hostel where time past fast. What every we needed staff would gladly help (transport, map, advice, hair dryer, ...). If you are loking for good location, nice rooms, afordable prices and good personel this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jambolaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in the youth hostel for 1 night. I would recommend this hostel since the service is really friendly and the staff is very helpful. I had a single room witch was very small, but i didn't need anything more. Showers were clean! Breakfast is nothing special, but you can't expect more for this price and the location is really perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiekeVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,237 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,237 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,237 in Istanbul
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,237 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Sisli
#bunk taksim
#bunk taksim
#15 of 1,237 in Istanbul
270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#20 of 1,237 in Istanbul
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hostel International

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,237 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $14 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Hostel is situated on the hillside in Sultanahmet, located a few minutes walk from tourist favourites Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The Orient offers clean accommodation ranging from dorm rooms to private rooms with either shared or private bathrooms. Our attentive and helpful staff, make you welcome with a friendly atmosphere and fun belly-dancing and water-pipe (hookah) nights in the terrace café-restaurant during the high season ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Orient Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hostel International Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing