We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t use the travel agency if you don’t want to follow the pack.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Hostel International
Ranked #11 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Don’t use the travel agency if you don’t want to follow the pack.”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for a week and were very happy with the location, it was so easy to walk to all of the attractions and surprisingly there wasn’t a noise problem. We booked a "suite" and were shocked when we discovered there wasn't enough room to open both our cases, we would have had to keep one on the bed. We asked if it was a mistake, but they said that suite meant cable TV. However we were given the option of a slightly larger room, here we could put one case on top of the bar fridge & the other on the small table. The room was very small, very difficult to get in one side of the bed. However it was clean and freshly decorated.
The main problem we had was with the in house travel agency. Everything we said we wanted to do they said wasn’t possible or too expensive e.g. rent a car, catch a train or catch a bus that didn’t involve overnight travel. They had no interest in helping us as they didn’t think they were going to make any money from us. They just sat at their desk and ignored us until we left!
In contrast we went to another agency around the corner who were very helpful & free with information although he knew we weren’t planning on buying from him. The Orient travel agency only wants to sell the standard backpackers day & overnight bus trips.
We ended up doing everything we wanted, as we had planned very easily, without one overnight bus trip! That included: Canakkale (Gallipoli), Izmir, Seluck (Ephesus), Pamukkale, Bodrum, Fethiye, Antayla, Goreme & Cappadocia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    120
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
21
67
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Noisy rooms, can be hard to get a good night's sleep here but hostel is in a great location in Sultanahmet within easy walking distance of all the city sites and close to the tram line if you're too lazy to walk. Staff are a wealth of information of who, what, when, where and how. Lots of nice places to eat nearby - make sure you check out the guy with the kebab cart one street over towards the Apple Hostel, he starts cooking at sunset and it's only 5 lira for the biggest, tastiest, freshest chicken kebab on bread with salad that you have ever seen! Oh, and they have wifi which works from the dorm rooms as well so you can facebook in bed... brilliant!

Room Tip: Spend the extra 3 lira and get the 6 bed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_n0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed at thst hostel for 7 nights. The good thing is that they have a restaraunt with very good food. The bad things is that although it was said that breakfast was included, it actually costed 8 eur x 7 = 56 eur. And it was only 2 pieces of toast, nothing special, well not for 8 eur. The other problem is that in those cheap rooms the beds are broken. But the more expensive rooms (rooms for 2-3) have good beds. The staff is friendly, always ready to help. Is costs only 1 eur to rent a laptop for an hour. Very good location, 5 min to Grand Bazar, shopping malls and so on. A small grocery store just the opposite of the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Fantastic place to stay. upon arrival we had the luxury of one of their staff make a full custom itinerary to our specific needs. book all accom and transport for us enabling to have a hassle free trip after leaving the orient. big bonus as travelling in turkey can be a fair mission.
Great staff at the hostel who make us feel welcome and good value 2 poke in some froffies with. well worth the money to stay here is will have a great stay guaranteed. does lack a good night life scene but plenty of places in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chang344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Orient hostel is in a great location within walking distance of all the main attractions. We had a private room and were very comfortable. At times the water in our room did not work but after 10-15mins it would be back on. There are no lifts so depending on where your room is, you will need to carry your luggage up no more than 3 flight of stairs. I believe they have 30 bed dorms which some people we met said made it dıfficult to sleep so I wouldnt recommend them but we were fine in our private room. Great place to meet new people. The staff are very friendly, helpful and funny. Breakfast is very simple but enough to keep you going. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConfusedBride0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My friends and I stayed at Orient Youth for a weekend trip in Istanbul. I have never stayed in a Hostel before, and this was my first experience. The place was very clean, and had the best hospitality I have had. The owners recommended restaurants, gave us the best things to do in Turkey. After the weekend was over, I had left my iPhone at the hostel, and the owner personally made sure I received my iPhone back! This is the best place to stay in Istanbul !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nirabobira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The OrienHostel is located in Sultanahmet , right behind the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia, and the Palace. It is an extreamly safe, quaint, yet lively area with plenty of shops, bars, and cafes right when you walk outside your doorstep. From Sultanahmet you can easily walk or take a train or a ferry ( both for 1.75 TL) and visit the fishing district in Eminonu- where you can get delicious balik ekmek (fish sandwiches) for only 4 TL!
Besides the endless things to do, the beautiful sights to see, and food to eat- (for cheep!!)- the Orient is by far the best hostel to stay in on this strip. It is kept increadibly clean, the beds are comfortable, bathrooms and showers clean with endless the hot water, and the rooms are kept at a perfect temperature (it is winter now- so I appreciate the heat). But besides all of that- the thing that makes it for me was the people who work there. From the first moment I staggered in on the streets of Istanbul looking for some Raki at 3 in the morning, they greeted me warmly, helped me with everything I needed or could possibly want, and were genuine in their hospitality. I am very honored and proud to say that these guys have in fact become trusted friends of mine within the week I have known them. Love you guys for ever and thanks for everything!! Serefe!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdigioia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#515 of 1,156 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,219 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,219 in Istanbul
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,219 in Istanbul
741 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,219 in Istanbul
758 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#22 of 1,219 in Istanbul
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hostel International

Property: Orient Hostel International
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Hostel is situated on the hillside in Sultanahmet, located a few minutes walk from tourist favourites Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The Orient offers clean accommodation ranging from dorm rooms to private rooms with either shared or private bathrooms. Our attentive and helpful staff, make you welcome with a friendly atmosphere and fun belly-dancing and water-pipe (hookah) nights in the terrace café-restaurant during the high season ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Orient Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hostel International Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing