We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that you will go back to !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lilydale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hotel that you will go back to !!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

our Stay in Istanbul was made so much better by the calibre of this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly to say the least. Nothing is too much trouble. Our rooms and bathrooms were spotless. The breakfast is more than adequate and fresh. They have a restaurant on the top & make sure you book. it is sensational and people from all over try to book in. The staff were very helpful with transport cards and had a great knowledge of what to do. I will go back . It is a very central hotel to everything you want to do

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    541
    60
    4
    4
See reviews for
360
817
126
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Orient Express for two nights. The staff make you feel special from the minute you walk through the door till the time you leave. They are very helpful and polite. The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant right at the top hotel with a stunning view. There is an indoor heated pool which is a great way to relax. The best part is that is it situated in the Old Town and is conveniently situated as it's close to tourist attractions. I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the tram line. My room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great location in the old town, walking distance to many attractions and also on the tram line so easy access to places like Taksim which takes around 45 mins by foot. We booked direct for 3 nights and received a free airport transfer which went smoothly.

Staff were very friendly, on arrival they gave us an introduction to the hotel and city and were very helpful with booking tours and recommending places to eat (The restaurant upstairs is superb but fills up so requires advance booking). The room was well furnished and clean and the inclusions were excellent for a 3* including coffee and tea facilities, slippers, bathrobe, complimentary water, etc.

Our room was located directly below the restaurant and I do have to say they seemed to move tables around a lot! But that was around dinner time and not after 11pm so that wasn't a problem for us sleep wise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Falcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your precious comments.

We are so happy to be able to provide you a nice stay.

Wish to host you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were a group of four transiting through Istanbul in May 2014 on our way to a sailing trip near Dalaman. We stayed two nights on the way in and three on the way out. A small problem with our reservation on the way in was handled with incredible care and followup. The staff at this hotel and at their sister property around the corner, the Neorion Hotel Istanbul get my award (and I travel a lot!) for best customer service of the year. I would absolutely stay there again. Can't say enough. For a great dining experience have a sunset dinner at the rooftop restaurant at the Orient Express. Great food, incredible view and amazing staff!

Room Tip: Second floor or higher with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your proudful comments.

It is great to know that our properties have had a enjoyable contribution to your stay.

We hope to have the chance to host you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

myself & my partner stayed here early Feb 2014 for our 1st anniversary...normally we would have a cruise holiday but can i say this was our first land based holiday in over 20yrs & it was wonderful...i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Istanbul...clean & tidy hotel & rooms..the staff are so pleasant & helpful...giving advice on places to, go things to do..i cannot credit this hotel enough wether it's the building, staff or location...we had a wonderful 1 week stay & would definately return..thank you to the staff who looked after us..our first experience of Turkey was amazing...thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for taking time to share your nice comments.

It is a huge proud to know that you had a great stay with us.

We are looking forward to your return!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading some great reviews, and they were all so true. Firstly, the staff are very helpful, the breakfasts - serve yourself buffet - we're excellent, and the location perfect for seeing the main attractions. The Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia are a ten minute walk away as is the Blue Mosque. The Bosphorous and Galata Bridge a five minute walk away. There are good restaurants and cafés on the same street and the famous trams run outside the door. We definitely recommend it. Oh and there's a lovely swimming pool in the basement!

Room Tip: Our room was on the seventh floor below the restaurant but noise was minimal as it closes at eleven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your precious comments.

We are glad to know that you were happy with our service.

It would be a proud to host you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My friends & I stayed at Orient express hotel for 5 nights. We really enjoyed our stay & would recommend any one traveling to Istanbul this hotel. The location is excellent. Buffet breakfast had an excellent spread. More importantly the concierge was very informative & patient with our queries.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaampapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to share your precious comments.

We are happy to be able to provide you with a nice stay.

We hope to have the chance to have you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#94 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#139 of 1,149 in Istanbul
390 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing