We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

myself & my partner stayed here early Feb 2014 for our 1st anniversary...normally we would have a cruise holiday but can i say this was our first land based holiday in over 20yrs & it was wonderful...i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Istanbul...clean & tidy hotel & rooms..the staff are so pleasant & helpful...giving advice on places to, go things to do..i cannot credit this hotel enough wether it's the building, staff or location...we had a wonderful 1 week stay & would definately return..thank you to the staff who looked after us..our first experience of Turkey was amazing...thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for taking time to share your nice comments.

It is a huge proud to know that you had a great stay with us.

We are looking forward to your return!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading some great reviews, and they were all so true. Firstly, the staff are very helpful, the breakfasts - serve yourself buffet - we're excellent, and the location perfect for seeing the main attractions. The Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia are a ten minute walk away as is the Blue Mosque. The Bosphorous and Galata Bridge a five minute walk away. There are good restaurants and cafés on the same street and the famous trams run outside the door. We definitely recommend it. Oh and there's a lovely swimming pool in the basement!

Room Tip: Our room was on the seventh floor below the restaurant but noise was minimal as it closes at eleven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARGARET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for your precious comments.

We are glad to know that you were happy with our service.

It would be a proud to host you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My friends & I stayed at Orient express hotel for 5 nights. We really enjoyed our stay & would recommend any one traveling to Istanbul this hotel. The location is excellent. Buffet breakfast had an excellent spread. More importantly the concierge was very informative & patient with our queries.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaampapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to share your precious comments.

We are happy to be able to provide you with a nice stay.

We hope to have the chance to have you again!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel has the lot. From the Reception and Concierge staff who will do anything for you including locating lost luggage and making sure you have a cold beer when you need it, to the general ambience of the hotel and its rooms. The location is absolutely perfect to take in all the sights and variety of restaurants and shopping.

You can organise all your Tourist sightseeing etc at the hotel and know you are getting a good deal. They are just great people and cannot say enough about all the staff there.

Great hotel in the price range and no need to look any further!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your nice comments.

It is a huge proud to know that we were able to contribute your stay.

We hope to host you in the near future!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is close to the historic sites of Istanbul. A map and directions provided by the helpful front desk staff were very good.
Our room was on the 7th floor immediately below the restaurant, it noisy from diners (the lift ended at 7th floor - a flight of stairs led to the terrace) and restaurant noises. The room was well provided with tea, coffee and water. Robes, slippers and other items were also provided. Linen and (hard) towels were spotless.
Breakfast was served in a windowless basement room.
There was mould growing around the bathroom tiles, when we complained an attempt was made to clean it - but the mould was obvious after using the shower.
The bedroom carpet was grubby and the mats on the wooden landing floor were dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AineNiStiophain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your precious comments.

I would like you to know that needed steps are taken by discussing our restaurant management and housekeeping department.

We improve ourselves day by day thanks to your nice comments, suggestions and complaints.

It will be a real happiness for us whether one day we would have a chance to host you again at our hotel.

Warm regards from Orient Express Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Arriving at the Orient Express around 8 AM after a miserable overnight train ride from Bucharest, the welcome that we received made everything right again. When we approached the front door and it suddenly opened and a hand reached out to take our suitcases, things just kept getting better and better. Friendly is the right description for all of the staff. The chap at reception was a wealth of knowledge and assistance, and when we were offered immediate access to our room (vs normal 1 PM check in), and he invited us to enjoy a complimentary breakfast, we were ready to kiss his feet.
Our room is on the top floor with a wonderful view of the Bosphorus. It is clean, modern, and very comfortable. The maid service and her personal touches have been great. The location of this hotel is easy walking distance to many of the key attractions (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern, etc), making it a great choice if sightseeing is what your trip is all about. Breakfast consists of a very nice hot & cold buffet, with generous hours from 7 to 11 AM. While we didn't take it in, there is also an indoor pool. There is a wonderful open air restaurant on the roof top terrace which is excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your proudful comments.

It was a pleasure to host you and we are so happy to know that you were happy with our service.

We hope to see you again, in your second home in Istanbul!

Best Wishes From Orient Express Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hospitality is equal to the best I have known anywhere, but there are a couple of things we thought could be done to make the stay happier.
We had to pay 50 euros in cash for the car to and from the airport. Previous TA write up noted their's was free!
The introductory meeting with the duty manager was a very pleasant experience but it would have been improved if we could have given simple map from the hotel to the nearest main tourist attractions. They are very close and at the top of a long steep hill.
The restaurant is a must. Visit it on the top floor and reserve your table (46) is excellent.
Although the rooms are very nice, if you are wanting peace and quiet, forget it.
Restaurant noises, especially moving chairs and tables screech through to level 5.
Hopefully the manager will place rubber 'boots'on the legs soon?
All staff were exceptionally friendly, especially Ali, the reception porter.
We thoroughly enjoyed Istanbul and our stay at this hotel. With reservations...?

Room Tip: Rooms from fifth floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernielly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientexpress-ist, Manager at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest;
Thank you so much for taking time to share your precious comments.

I am very sorry for the misunderstanding about transfer. As indicated, we offer free transfer only to direct reservations(through our website).

I would you like to know that necessary steps have taken with the guidance of your suggestions&criticisms.

We are very happy to be able to provide you with a warm hospitality and we wish to have the chance to host you again.

Best Wishes From Orient Express Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
844 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing