We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing service and great location!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I couldn't rate this hotel highly enough. Not only is it safe, clean and comfortable, the staff were brilliant. Nothing was ever too much for them and they were incredibly helpful. This hotel is well positioned and I'd definitely stay there again when visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelAbu-Nackly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dearest guest
I would like to thank you for your precious feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed the stay especially appreciated the location and staff friendliness.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    537
    60
    4
    4
See reviews for
359
816
125
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good location in Istanbul with everywhere within walking distance. The tram runs along the street in front so easy to find your way back if you get lost :) We were given a map when we arrived with all the major tourist attractions marked on it, and we were given some information about what days places were/weren't open and times of Bosphorous cruises (I'd highly recommend the 6hr full Bosphorous Cruise run by IDO if you have the time) .

Our room was on the 7th floor at the back, right next to the stairs up to the Terrace Restaurant. There was some noise from upstairs but the restaurant closed at 11pm so it wasn't a problem and some nights we were in bed before the restaurant had shut and the noise didn't stop us getting to sleep. Our room overlooked a building site and the Bosphorous in the distance, but again there was no noise from the building site. Woke a couple of times to the early morning call to prayer, but I think that was more a case of being awake when it happened rather than it waking me up. Room was clean and spacious. The only downside was the shower which had a very tall shower tray making it a bit tricky to get in & out of. Breakfast is served in the basement, so no windows to look out of, but the room was spacious with a good selection of food. Pool is in the sub-basement and tiny!

The hotel arranged transfers to and from the airport which worked well, although we got back to the airport a lot quicker than expected.

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor are below the Terrace Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laticslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
My dearest guests
I would like to thank for your feedback regarding Orient Express Hotel.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotels facilities.
As for our group guest satisfaction comes before everything else,
it brought us a lot joy and happiness helping you to organize a unique holiday.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again at Orient Express.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Orient Express hotel was our oasis in Istanbul’s frenzy. The personnel has always been polite, respectful and, most of all, quite helpful; they took care of any need we had in our stay, from orientation in Istanbul to transportation, including confirming our flights to an excursion in Cappadocia. The included breakfast was complete; our diner to the terrace restaurant was a nice experience. Despite the location at the heart of the action, the room was very quiet. Major touristic sites and good restaurants are in a 5-10 minutes walking range (don’t forget to explore the Basilica Cistern surroundings for very nice restaurants; stay away from touristic streets where menus are all the same and personnel can be very hasseling). Warmly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineH965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
My dearest guests
I would like to thank for your feedback regarding Orient Express Hotel.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotels facilities.
As for our group guest satisfaction comes before everything else,
it brought us a lot joy and happiness helping you to organize a unique holiday.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again at Orient Express.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very well located, equidistant from Sultanhamet and the docks being about 10 mins walk from each. Very friendly staff. Small pool in basement a real bonus, especially with two young kids. Only issue was noise from the restaurant as our family room was on 6th floor right next to lift.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room on 6th floor next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dearest guest
Thank you for the feedback on our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the facilities offered from our hotel.
It will be a big happiness for us to host you again at Orient Express Family.
Best wishes
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Situated a few minutes walk from the Topkapi Palace and ideally situated for Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, this was a friendly, helpful and clean, comfortable hotel - very pleased with our stay there, view of Bospherous River from our room on 7th floor, fantastic terrace restaurant overlooking the river in the evening, very happy with choosing this hotel, cannot fault it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegtrekkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dearest guest
Thank you for the feedback on our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the facilities offered from our hotel.
It is always a pleasure read the words of a satisfied guest.
It will be a big happiness for us to host you again at Orient Express Family.
Best wishes
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by default really as their sister hotel a few doors away was under renovation and thus we were upgraded to the Orient Express for our stay and we were extremely happy with everything about thishotel. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and always had a smle and a cheery greeting whenever we walked by. They all appeared to be happy to be there and tookmpride in theiir work. The hotel is very well located to all the major attractions and is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the first floor and did not hear any traffic noise at all. Breakfast is good and our meal at the rooftop restaurant was great - make sure you book well in advance though as it is often fully booked. A special mention and thanks to the lovely Lori for all her assistance - she is a real gem and nothing is to much trouble for her from providing maps and information and friendly local tips to,even going to a llot of trouble to try and find a place for me to have a pedicure at very late notice- her customer service is wonderful. We stayed here at the end of a five week trip to Europe and after staying in many places can honestly say that Orient Express was one of our top places for service, comfort and value for money.Congratulations to all there on the wonderful job they do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a part of our Istanbul trip and it was absolutely perfect. Lori(the staff manager) got in touch with me well before our trip and ensured that she was clear with our requirements. Since we are vegetarians, we mentioned that and she made sure that we had enough breakfast options every single day. The honeycomb and the option to make your own fresh orange juice were nice touches - do try. We had no issues with regard to noise despite the hotel being right next to the tram line. The staff in general was very helpful, gave us maps, pointed us towards authentic restaurants and shops. The best point about this hotel is its location - all the major sights are within a 10-15 minutes walk. We stayed in a large suite, which was very clean and nicely furnished. Their rooftop restaurant is quite nice too.

Do try and walk around as much as possible, it is the only way to discover the odd beautiful shop out of the tourist trail. The hotel also has a swimming pool, and offers spa services at their Sikeci Konak hotel a mere 2 mins away, worth checking that out too.

Overall, I cannot fault anything and I would definitely stay with them again, given the chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dearest guest
I would like to thank you for the kind words and appreciations.
Each member of our staff does its job with passion and dedication to guest satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Orient Express Family.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#144 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing