We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very located, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #59 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very well located, equidistant from Sultanhamet and the docks being about 10 mins walk from each. Very friendly staff. Small pool in basement a real bonus, especially with two young kids. Only issue was noise from the restaurant as our family room was on 6th floor right next to lift.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room on 6th floor next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dearest guest
Thank you for the feedback on our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the facilities offered from our hotel.
It will be a big happiness for us to host you again at Orient Express Family.
Best wishes
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Situated a few minutes walk from the Topkapi Palace and ideally situated for Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, this was a friendly, helpful and clean, comfortable hotel - very pleased with our stay there, view of Bospherous River from our room on 7th floor, fantastic terrace restaurant overlooking the river in the evening, very happy with choosing this hotel, cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegtrekkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dearest guest
Thank you for the feedback on our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed the stay and the facilities offered from our hotel.
It is always a pleasure read the words of a satisfied guest.
It will be a big happiness for us to host you again at Orient Express Family.
Best wishes
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by default really as their sister hotel a few doors away was under renovation and thus we were upgraded to the Orient Express for our stay and we were extremely happy with everything about thishotel. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and always had a smle and a cheery greeting whenever we walked by. They all appeared to be happy to be there and tookmpride in theiir work. The hotel is very well located to all the major attractions and is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the first floor and did not hear any traffic noise at all. Breakfast is good and our meal at the rooftop restaurant was great - make sure you book well in advance though as it is often fully booked. A special mention and thanks to the lovely Lori for all her assistance - she is a real gem and nothing is to much trouble for her from providing maps and information and friendly local tips to,even going to a llot of trouble to try and find a place for me to have a pedicure at very late notice- her customer service is wonderful. We stayed here at the end of a five week trip to Europe and after staying in many places can honestly say that Orient Express was one of our top places for service, comfort and value for money.Congratulations to all there on the wonderful job they do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaliBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a part of our Istanbul trip and it was absolutely perfect. Lori(the staff manager) got in touch with me well before our trip and ensured that she was clear with our requirements. Since we are vegetarians, we mentioned that and she made sure that we had enough breakfast options every single day. The honeycomb and the option to make your own fresh orange juice were nice touches - do try. We had no issues with regard to noise despite the hotel being right next to the tram line. The staff in general was very helpful, gave us maps, pointed us towards authentic restaurants and shops. The best point about this hotel is its location - all the major sights are within a 10-15 minutes walk. We stayed in a large suite, which was very clean and nicely furnished. Their rooftop restaurant is quite nice too.

Do try and walk around as much as possible, it is the only way to discover the odd beautiful shop out of the tourist trail. The hotel also has a swimming pool, and offers spa services at their Sikeci Konak hotel a mere 2 mins away, worth checking that out too.

Overall, I cannot fault anything and I would definitely stay with them again, given the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dearest guest
I would like to thank you for the kind words and appreciations.
Each member of our staff does its job with passion and dedication to guest satisfaction.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Orient Express Family.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay at the "Orient Express" and the welcome that we received were delightful. The hotel was perfectly located for exploring this super city on our first visit.

The staff were extremely kind with their hospitality and enhanced our Wedding Anniversary celebration. They were all most helpful in advising on the best ways to get around and the sights to see; making a really enjoyable and memorable 5 day trip.

We will be back before too long.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

My dearest guests
I would like to thank for your feedback regarding Orient Express Hotel.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotels facilities.
As for our group guest satisfaction comes before everything else,
it brought us a lot joy and happiness helping you to organize a unique holiday.
Hope to have the pleasure to host you again at Orient Express.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is in the old city, very close to all the main attractions such as the blue mosque. But I realised that the heart of Instabul beats on the other side of town: the newest part where all the nice restaurants and cafés are and where real people and not just tourists are.
I really liked the common areas of the hotel such as the lobby and the swimming pool that after a long day walking around the city is an incredible relief. I was a bit disappointed with the claustrophobic breakfast room that had no windows... and therefore no views. Then the breakfast was good....a lot to choose from. One of the nicest things of Instanbul is in fact eating, drinking and sipping coffee in terraces on the top of high buildings (such as 360' restaurant, you should go).
Our room was small and not particularly nice, it seemed to me a bit old and dusty. The service is great and the staff is very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Small room, very clean, good breakfast selection, very helpful and pleasant staff. Good location in easy walking distance to many of main sights. Need to book for rooftop restaurant; good food and evening views.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dearest guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am glad you appreciated the location of the Orient Express.
Hope to have the pleasure to accomodate you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#95 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing