We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #63 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just got back from Istanbul and stayed in Orient Express Hotel for 6 days. The hotel staff (Lori) was very kind to assist us on our itinerary, bookings and other important info, communicating to us online weeks prior to our trip. The hotel location was very good, just a few minutes walk on all the sites of the old Istanbul, and the tram station is about 2 mins walk to the other sites as well. Service was excellent!! Celebrated my 31st birthday and the staff surprised me with a birthday cake and a song during breakfast buffet. Then a bottle of Turkish wine and some balloons and a very lovely personalized note from the staff wishing me and my boyfriend a wonderful stay that same night when we got back from dinner. They have very polite concierge that made us really feel welcomed even on our very first day. The room was small (stayed at room 502), but very nice and cozy with a very good view on the streets below.

All in all, we had a very lovely and unforgettable stay in the hotel and would definitely highly recommend tourists to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheng_2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the time to review our hotel.
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the hotel facilities.
For us guest's important days are really valuable.It's nice to hear that you feel happy.
We hope to have the honour to host you soon again
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    536
    59
    4
    4
See reviews for
358
813
123
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lovely hotel in the centre of the old city, so easy to walk to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, the fish market and Spice Bazar. A slightly longer and tougher walk, about 15 minutes, to the Grand Bazar (uphill), but a great exercise for the fit. Also not too far from the Taqsim Square shopping area, 10 minutes Taxi or Tram ride away (uphill), and about 20 minutes walk back. Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable and clean rooms, nice breakfast and great food at the Imbat restaurant (at the hotel roof top). We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or higher floors are quieter, but no view. Front rooms have a nicer view, but slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've stayed in the hotel this march and it was our second visit. The place is excellent in terms of location - the very heart of old city, close to Sultanahmet, Sirkeci station and Eminonu port. We have booked a room for 3 people and were very surprised by the size of it. It was like a connecting room with 2 separate WCs, which was very convenient with 3 people wanting to take a shower or brush teeth in the morning. The breakfast was great! All the usual Turkish pastry, cheese, meat, olives and delicious yogurt. It is always hard to feed your kid in the morning, but that was not the case with Orient Express. We always found something, that he ate with joy. It was nice seeing old faces! Great thing there's almost no change in key personnel, directly working with clients - they are all very kind and helpful! Visiting the hotel for the second time was like returning home. I hope they will stay the same over the years. Me and my family will definitively return to Istanbul once again and there will be no hotel choosing time, as for us Istanbul = Orient Exress Hotel.

Denis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnfinans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, service and amenities.
All our staff sends you best wishes and hopes to see you again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

When you visit a new country safety and comfort come to mind (think Maslow), and it has it, first and foremost. But, the difference between good and great, as in memorable comes down to service. The 3 gentlemen I named in the title are professional, but genuinely warm and welcoming. Now there is one downside, its the tram. Yes, its helpful to get you around to see the sites, especially Taskin square, but I suggest waiting until later when the tram stops to grab some shut eye (at night I slept like a baby). The free breakfast hits he spot, I think they provide eggs in the weekend, and the Imbat restaurant is a must! There is a mart across the street to buy wine, razors, snacks, etc. There are no sportsbars, no places to sit at a bar and watch a game after taking pics all day. The closest thing is Red River 30ft away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enfp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the time to review our hotel.
We are very happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the hotel facilities.
We hope to have the honour to host you soon again
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from staying at this hotel, and thought it was a very friendly, and welcoming hotel. It is well positioned for getting around all the sites, as the tram station is 2 minutes walk from the front door. The downside is that the trams run past the hotel, very close, and this can be a little noisy. The hotel is very clean, and staff are always helpful. Breakfasts not too outstanding though! We were also disappointed that the advertised bar area never seemed to be open ... may be this was still low season?

The rooms are quite small, but are clean and well equiped. The sound proofing could be improved as noise from other rooms was a little loud, and the double glazing on the windows did not cut out the tram and street noise.

If you opt for their airport transfer make sure you understand that you have to pay in Euros(cash), and this makes it double the cost of a yellow taxi .. although the yellow taxis cannot drop or pick up at the door because of the tram route! We found out the hard way!

However, this was a very good find, especially as we had not visited Istanbul before. You are very close to the restaurants, and their Roof Top Restaurant is a must!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room at the back of the hotel away from the street and the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikkathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Would highly recommend a stay in this lovely hotel! From the moment we arrived (2 hours late due to bad weather in UK and plane delay) we were treated in a very professional and friendly manner. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and Loreta was very helpful with everything from suggestions for places to eat to printing out our boarding cards for our return journey. Our standard room was small but spotless and had everything you could wish for including mini bar, tea/coffee tray , hairdryer and lovely, fluffy towels. Breakfast buffet very good with plenty of choice including fresh honeycomb and fresh oranges to squeeze your own juice!We enjoyed an excellent meal in their roof top restaurant with wonderful views over Istanbul and the price was very reasonable. You need to book ahead as there are 2 sittings and they both get booked up quickly.
If you are thinking of staying in Istanbul it would be hard to find somewhere nicer than this especially for the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Khobar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Orient Express Hotel when we travelled to Istanbul in March 2013. The Hotel has very good location, close (about 5-10 min walking) to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. The room is on the small side and the ceiling is low so a bit cramped. The heater in the room was not working and after we called, someone came and still could not fix it, so we only rely on the AC to heat the room, which is quite disappointing. The Lift is very small, can only fit 4 persons. The breakfast is good but it is located in the basement with no windows. The indoor swimming pool is very small in size (I like swimming and I decide not to swim due to the size). The staff is friendly and helpful. We also stay in another hotel during our trip in Istanbul so we can compare it, as it turns out, the other hotel (I will not mention the name) is cheaper with larger and better room. So there is a better alternative out there than this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#52 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#78 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing