We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel was decent with central location in Old part of Istanbul but rooms are very small. Staff is helpful and breakfast is decent too. Bathroom size also is small which is a result of small room size i guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PranayNigotiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
I would like to thank you for your precious review.
I am really sorry for the rooms size. I wish you'd inform our front desk about a room change possibility.
At our hotels nothing is stable we can change rules in order to make our guests happy, time to time because of noise, time to time because of dimension or any kind of problems.
If you decide to revisit Istanbul I hope you will give us another chance to show you the real Turkish hospitality.
Best wishes from Istanbul
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a lot research on hotels and apartments we finally chose this hotel for our recent family trip to Istanbul. And I must say it was a pleasant surprise! The hotel is conveniently located near all the major tourist attactions like the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Hafia Sofia; the spice bazaar and grand bazaar are only a 10-15minutes walk. We were greeted by a warm staff and some delicious apple tea on our arrival; and given a good orientation on Istanbul. We are all vegetarians so the communications manager prepared a list of all good vegetarian places near the hotel for us which I thought was very thoughtful! The hotel itself is nothing out of the ordinary - a comfortable, value for money boutique hotel you will find everywhere in Europe. But it was the staff and the service which really made our stay comfortable. The rooms were clean, equipped with all amenities including a tea maker and the housekeeping would decorate our rooms with flowers or towel figures every day!

We were traveling with my in-laws so were very particular about where we were staying, location and the food - at the end of our trip (we stayed for 5 days!) my in-laws were ready to recommend the place to all their friends who were planning to visit Istanbul! The hotel also has a very popular terrace resturant, it's always full and we had to make our reservations 3 days in advance. The food was excellent and the ambience was good plus the staff was very considerate and warm. They have a good breakfast spread, even though we were all vegetarians we didnt have any problems, there were enough choices for all!

If you are looking at a convenient, safe and value for money place - Orient Express is the choice! The hotel is not luxurious like a 5 star property but will definitely offer you the same service at a much reasonable price....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I am really happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
All our staff sends you best wishes and hopes to see you again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

You have to book your stay at this hotel! The staff are friendly and accommodating and accessable. The breakfast is very good, the location even better! We had a lovely room on the top floor. We rate this hotel highly, we had a lovely experience and felt very at home!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor was bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated amenities and service.
All our staff sends you best wishes and hopes to see you again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a great little hotel in the perfect location for many of the sites of Istanbul. We very much enjoyed our stay here and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small but well designed so that you do not feel too crowded esp for the price. However it has to have been one of the hardest mattresses we have ever slept on. By the third night I really struggled to sleep. I did not ask the staff for any mattress improvements (maybe they have something to accommodate uncomfortable guests- not sure?)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay but I am really sorry for the bad sleep quality you had.
What I regret is that you didn't mention this to our staff, I am sure we would have done something to improve the mattress quality.
Regarding the hard mattresses problem, I am really glad to inform you that we changed it last week.
Hope to have the honour to host you soon again at the Orient Express Family.
Best wishes from Istanbul
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Orient Express for 6 days at the end of October. I can't recommend it highly enough. It is a good value, no frills hotel with excellent access to all the historic sites in Istanbul. The Topkapi Palace and Sultanahmet are just a short walk away, as is the Spice Market and the transportation hub at Eminonu. It was a great base for our explorations of the city. The staff is gracious and helpful. Since we were staying more than 3 days, we received complimentary transportation from the airport. Their representative was right there with our name on a sheet of paper and transported us to the hotel in a nice clean van. On arrival we were greeted with apple tea and an orientation to Istanbul. The room small, but similar to what we find all over Europe. It was spotlessly clean. We had a 7th floor room with a view of the Bosphorus and Ataturk Bridge, from which we could see the Independence Day fireworks show. Each day the housekeeper decorated our bed with flower petals or towel animals. They had a water kettle with tea bags and water which was replaced daily. The only downside of the hotel is the large construction site in the back. Istanbul is building an underground/undersea metro which will join the Golden Horn to Karakoy. We had arrived during the 5 day holiday so the construction site was quiet, but it started up on our last day. We could barely hear it with the window closed during the day, but jackhammers accompanied by bright lights did go on until 10pm.

Room Tip: Back rooms face both the Bosphorus and the construction sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grmmybtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
It is always a big pleasure to read such kind words from our guests.
Hope to have the honour to host you soon again at the Orient Express Family.
Best wishes from Istanbul
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is nice, very clean. The breakfast is also fine, the hotel staff is excellent and the location is really nice, very close to the main tourist attractions. The rooms are also big enough to accomodate a baby cot (which is offered for free, by the way :-). Also, it was my husband's birthday and they offered some presents in the room (wine and cookies) and also a birthday cake. REALLY NICE

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quite noisy because behind the hotel there is a construction in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
We are really delighted from your kind words.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, that your husband birthday occasion was accompanied by such nice touches.
All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Orient Express Hotel is simply great. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, nice furnished, swimming pool is perfect for relax after busy day (it is open by midnight). Prices are OK in Imbat restaurant, the view from the upper terrace is unforgetable.
Hotel arranged free transfer from the airport to the hotel for us, as promised. Location of the hotel is very close to mosques, Topkapi Palace, close to tram station, port, etc. If we ever go to Istanbul, we will certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
We are really delighted from your kind words.
All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,163 in Istanbul
843 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing