We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #55 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Orient Express for 6 days at the end of October. I can't recommend it highly enough. It is a good value, no frills hotel with excellent access to all the historic sites in Istanbul. The Topkapi Palace and Sultanahmet are just a short walk away, as is the Spice Market and the transportation hub at Eminonu. It was a great base for our explorations of the city. The staff is gracious and helpful. Since we were staying more than 3 days, we received complimentary transportation from the airport. Their representative was right there with our name on a sheet of paper and transported us to the hotel in a nice clean van. On arrival we were greeted with apple tea and an orientation to Istanbul. The room small, but similar to what we find all over Europe. It was spotlessly clean. We had a 7th floor room with a view of the Bosphorus and Ataturk Bridge, from which we could see the Independence Day fireworks show. Each day the housekeeper decorated our bed with flower petals or towel animals. They had a water kettle with tea bags and water which was replaced daily. The only downside of the hotel is the large construction site in the back. Istanbul is building an underground/undersea metro which will join the Golden Horn to Karakoy. We had arrived during the 5 day holiday so the construction site was quiet, but it started up on our last day. We could barely hear it with the window closed during the day, but jackhammers accompanied by bright lights did go on until 10pm.

Room Tip: Back rooms face both the Bosphorus and the construction sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grmmybtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
It is always a big pleasure to read such kind words from our guests.
Hope to have the honour to host you soon again at the Orient Express Family.
Best wishes from Istanbul
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is nice, very clean. The breakfast is also fine, the hotel staff is excellent and the location is really nice, very close to the main tourist attractions. The rooms are also big enough to accomodate a baby cot (which is offered for free, by the way :-). Also, it was my husband's birthday and they offered some presents in the room (wine and cookies) and also a birthday cake. REALLY NICE

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quite noisy because behind the hotel there is a construction in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
We are really delighted from your kind words.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, that your husband birthday occasion was accompanied by such nice touches.
All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Orient Express Hotel is simply great. All the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, nice furnished, swimming pool is perfect for relax after busy day (it is open by midnight). Prices are OK in Imbat restaurant, the view from the upper terrace is unforgetable.
Hotel arranged free transfer from the airport to the hotel for us, as promised. Location of the hotel is very close to mosques, Topkapi Palace, close to tram station, port, etc. If we ever go to Istanbul, we will certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dearest Guest
We are really delighted from your kind words.
All our staff sends you the warmest regards and hopes to see you soon again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were welcomed at this boutique hotel by Lori, who sat us down, got us a drink on the house, and talked us through what the hotel had to offer and introduced us to Istanbul. The location was superb within a few minutes of all the main historic sites. The staff were so polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We felt safe and secure. Breakfast was very good - buffet style. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was excellent - in fact it was booked up most nights as it has such a good reputuation. We used sister hotels of the Orient Express (Sirkeci and Noreion) to have Turkish baths and massages - which are a must!! Bedrooms were a little small but perfectly OK for us as we organised our gear well and the big welcome far outshone the small rooms! Definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: The rooms were tad on the small size but good organistion of our gear meant that we didn't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated amenities and service.
All our staff sends you best wishes and hopes to see you again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were 3 nights in this hotel and we were very impressed with the very friendly and helpful staff. The Orient Express family.The restuarant was just great. Food excellent and well priced. Need to book well in advance. Rooms a little on the small size but clean and comfortable. Great position . Easy walk to the mosques and grand bazaar. Full breakfast included. Good choices. Look no further for your next stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dearest Guest
Thank you very much for the review.
I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated amenities and the roof-top restaurant .
All our staff sends you best wishes and hopes to see you again.
Best wishes from Orient Express Family
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose the Orient through recommendation, reviews on T.A and the great location. We were on a 3 day layover on our way to the UK and were not disappointed in any way with our choice. O.K, this is not the plushest hotel you will ever have stayed in but it's perfectly fine and of course set in a city where you will want to spend every waking moment out and about. The staff however are in our opinion Word Class. From booking our stay we received personal emails from Lori to check we had everything we needed. The airport transfer worked like a dream and when we got to hotel the table we had booked in their wonderful roof top restaurant was decorated with flower petals and a complimentary glass of champagne to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. We thought Istanbul was terrific and we just can't wait to go back and explore further. I'm sure the Orient will be our hotel of choice for many years to come.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rimms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.We are really happy to know you had an enjoyable holiday.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and me stayed in Orient Express for 5 nights.
Hotel is nice, clean, location is great (is little bit noisy - but we did not bother us so much), but its best are people that work in it.
Always prepared to help and to give good advice - a big thanks to all of them !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela_Rijeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

My Dearest Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your review for Orient Express Hotel.
Your words brought us thorough happiness.
It is very important for us that our guests leave the hotel completely satisfied.
As guest is everything for us, reading this nice words make us each day prouder of what we do.
We will be very happy to host you again at Orient Express Family next time you will visit Istanbul.
Kind regards
Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#98 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,198 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing