We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definetely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poem Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #617 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will definetely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I ended up staying at 4 different hotels during my 8 night stay in Istanbul. Hotel Poem was by far my favorite! I ended up here for 4 nights in two different rooms. The staff is truly amazing and took very good care of me. I was flying stand by and spent two day's at the airport trying to fly out. They saved my room in case I did not get out but the next night they were already booked. When I returned they helped me find another hotel and gave excellent restaurant suggestions. Try Tria restaurant right across the street. On a rainy day I did not feel like going out for dinner and they ordered food for me. The breakfast was the best I had. They will also bring you beer or wine to the roof top. The price they were charging for a bottle of wine was the same price I paid at the grocery. The mini bar prices were also very fair. I watched the sunset every night from the roof top. Lovely view and very relaxing. My first room was very cozy but I could hear every little thing in the room next to me and was quite small. Second room was a little larger and very private. I never heard anything. They are very modern and clean. This is a lovely botique hotel with great service. Location was perfect. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    90
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
97
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The poem is located off the main drag, quiet. I stayed for 4 nights. The breakfasts are really good and I enjoyed mine on their lovely balcony overlooking the mamara sea....
Service was excellent! The front desk book shuttles or tickets to shows. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are small but clean and modern. My shower was brand new....very clean..
The location of the poem is ideal...very close to the blue mosque and the other major attractions.. There are several superb restaurants in very close proximity...Metropolis/Aloran....Delicious food!

Room Tip: rooms on the sea view side are more expensive...50% more than those on the quiet street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Poem Hotel for two nights and really enjoyed my time there: The staff was very helpful and kind, the hotel perfecty located and the room ("All of a Sudden") and the view it offered were marvelous.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank zugvogelunterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The room (named "all of a sudden") we had was amazing: small but charming with great view over the bosphorus and sea of marmara. The breakfast was very good. The location is great: in touristic area close to all the attractions, but not directly on the noisy main tourist strip.

Room Tip: "All of a Sudden" room is amazing (small but charming with great view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I left my suitcase up in a charming room called "A question", on the last floor of the Hotel Poem, overlooking the gulf, and went down for a Turkish coffee, that was served to me with a big smile and a friendly feeling.
The hotel is beautifully situated, in the heart of the historical district, at a walking distance from monuments and the bazar.
It is very clean and welcoming. Breakfast offers local flavors at international standards. The rooms are silent and homely. Each one is named after a poem and has the poem posted on the wall: perfect for morning meditation!
I really enjoyed my stay and will definitively chose Hotel Poem the next time I visit Istanbul.

Room Tip: I didn't try the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zingonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location very convenient, quiet and in the heart of Sultanahmet. Staff exceptionally helpful and very courteous. One of the best breakfast offerings in Turkey and extremely pleasant dining area. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a 3 or 4 star hotel with good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We found out about this place from a friend of mine who had stayed there, and it was quite a find. It is on a small street in Sultanahmet, but very accessible (by foot) to the various major attractions in the old city, as well as numerous good restaurants. The price was superb, for the value (75 euros for a double, including a good breakfast), although it may be going up by 2013, as they are renovating and enlarging the rooms. Our room was small, but bright, and with nice touches, like a well designed closet, good air conditioner, and excellent shower stall (the best hotel shower I've ever experienced!). We had a view out our window of the water, as the hotel is only about four or five blocks from the Bosporus. There are also two outdoor patios that have very nice views, and a rooftop patio with an amazing view of the water, as well as the Blue Mosque.
The only, and minor, complaint is that the desk staff was not always as friendly as one might hope, but they were responsive when we had any requests. However, this was not a significant problem at all.

Room Tip: You get a better price if you reserve in advance. There are three person and suites that are more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_from_Broomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poem Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poem Hotel Istanbul

Property: Poem Hotel Istanbul
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#198 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Poem Hotel Istanbul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poem Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Poem Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing