We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Empress Zoe
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$194
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
571
177
34
17
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
177
34
17
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral staircasegarden suitethe penthousecall to prayerhotel catstopkapi palaceblue mosqueturkeyold cityboutique hotelliving areano elevatorroof terraceperfect locationtop floormajor sightswonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 800 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Empress Zoe is an enchanting boutique hotel. The location is fantastic, about a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The hotel is attached to an abandonned hamam, which has been worked into the design, particularly in the lobby. Breakfasts are hearty and in warmer weather, can be spent in the extremely lovely garden. We loved our balcony with a view over it. Rooms are small, but sufficient. The staff are very helpful and willing to offer great advice. There is a lovely rooftop balcony open to all guests, that is a lovely place for an evening drink (you have to carry it up from the bar). We would definitely stay at this hotel again, the whole place feels like home and is a wonderful respite in a city that can be a little crazy at times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. A great change from the more modern or plastic places we stayed in.
The staff was helpful and friendly; breakfast good; garden enchanting plus free internet everywhere. It's located near the major tourist sites plus surrounded by restaurants. We loved the old canopy bed--not to mention the best shower of our three week stay in Turkey. Fun to interact with other guests too.

Room Tip: Rooms vary by beds and sizes.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had heard about the Empress Zoe prior to this trip having stayed at the nearby Poem previously. Staying for 4 nights, two with work I was genuinely grateful to have extended my stay and am writing this whilst sitting on the terrace outside my room. The staff and other guests are some of the friendliest I have come across and whilst being almost entirely a tourist hotel they have been extremely accommodating to us whilst we were here on business. One word of warning this place won't be for you if you aren't keen on cats. They are everywhere. For me though I dote on them so added to the charm.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a really sweet little B&B really well located near the major tourist sites of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and loads of small restaurants and cafés. The hotel itself is cosy set around a small garden where in the summer guests can eat breakfast and enjoy the view of an ancient Hammam. It’s a great place from which to explore Istanbul.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_TheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Empress Zoe more than lived up to expectations. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a high piont - fresh seasonal fruits with thick yoghurt, boreks, feta, olives, tomatoes etc and beautiful homemade breads and jams, eaten in the tranquil shady courtyard garden. Even though our room, at the front of the building, was small (which was OK because we travel light!), it felt spacious because of the private terrace with a view to the water. It was lovely to sit here and watch the boats as we drank a raki in the evening with the evening call to prayer from the little local mosque adding to the atmosphere. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews