We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location but cold!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cordial House Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,248 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yes, I visited almost in the dead of winter, but cold air was pouring in the room from somewhere! I got the bed for $9, which was great as it was my last night in Istanbul and my plane was leaving at 6AM. Booking here was far cheaper than going back and forth to the airport to leave my luggage and pay for it to be held there. The location was right at Sultanahmet, very clean, and I highly recommend the baklava guy on the corner :-) If you have a bit of a bird phobia as I do, then you may not like the parakeets let loose to fly around the reception and café area, but it certainly added ambiance. The staff was very helpful and really, the price couldn't have been better!

Room Tip: A little noisy at the front, and avoid sleeping near a window if you visit in the winter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiaSdiLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 357 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at the dorm - got the off season rate of 7 Euro a night! There were many noteworthy things - clean dorms, warm, clean blankets - clean bathrooms with running hot and cold water - hair dryer (thankful for it in winter!). The Hotel organizes pick shuttle service to Ataturk and Sabiha airports (charges apply). Walking distance from Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Starbucks, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi, tram station, McDonalds - conveniently located and very safe even for solo female travelers. I definitely recommend this place for travelers looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel to stay in. Convenient stores, restaurants, laundry etc are all close by.

Room Tip: Cheap, clean, safe and conveniently located - the shuttle to the airport options is a blessing - esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnjalyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cordial house is located in the heart of Istanbul, minutes away from Sultanahment blue mosque, hagia sophia and grand bazaar the location is just right. Also it surrounded by great bakery store, mini market, restaurant, baklava store, and turkish delight store, and hamam so if you dont have much time to explore istanbul, cordial house is the perfect accommodation to get all in one istanbul experience.

Room Tip: any room will do :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiSundari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great for groups, nice and helpfull staff, great lounge area, location couldn't be better. Next to bazar, tramstop and walking-distance from Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. We come here for several years now with a group of students. We allways feel very welcome, staff and manager are always willing help, even a bustransfer (pick up) from the airport can be arranged. The cantine (downstairs) and lounge/work area is renovated and looks fab. There is a bar, pooltables, televisions, computers, wifi and enough space with tables to work, have breakfast etc. 'Pimp the rooms' is the next project. I can wait to see it....because we definately will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyda_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is for budget minded travelers. We spent three nights here and it was fine for us because we were out exploring Istanbul. This is a basic hostel located in a short walking distance to almost everything in Old Istanbul. Very easy to get to from the airport using the metro. The Hostel has basic rooms we stayed on the second floor and there was a large patio in back and we still had WIFI in our room the upper floors have no WIFI so you will have to go downstairs to use it. We did not have a shower in our room we used the shared showers and they were fine really hot water as it can be a problem in Istanbul. They have lockers downstairs to put your laptop and cameras in for 1 lira a day. We did not eat at the hostel as there are several places to eat with in a short distance. You can walk to the Blue Mosque in less than five minutes and to everything else is all short walks very great location. The staff is very friendly and helpful I read in some reviews that they were rude I thought they were most helpful and consider your not staying in a Five star hotel. This place is perfect for a good nights sleep and central location and as far as price was well worth it.I Would stay there again when in Istanbul it is not for everyone but, for the budget minded traveler it is just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have WiFi the upper floors do not. We stayed in #109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upnorthliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have visited Cordial House for the last four years with a group of 60 art students. The hostel is clean and simple and the new lobby and breakfast room are spacious and inviting hangouts. The staff is friendly and always ready to help. Ideal for groups and tavellers with tight budgets. Easy to find and within walking distance of the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touchofevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent for groups! Best place to be in a wide area. Cordial House is a perfect spot which is situated centrally in Sultan Ahmed, so it's close by the public transportations and smack in the middle of the nightlife places. You can almost see the Blue Mosque from your window.
Was here a few times with my University and had a great stay. Nice people, excellent service and fair prices!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#789 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#77 of 1,163 in Istanbul
589 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#13 of 1,248 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#453 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial House Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Caddesi Peykane Sokak No 19 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,248 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $19 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cordial House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial House Hotel offers an unbeatable combination of economically priced rooms and a perfect location for quality-seeking budget travelers. We provide comfortable accommodation in a clean, safe and friendly atmosphere with a superb location in the heart of the old town. Cordial House is close to all of the main attractions and also to trams, buses, trains and airport shuttle stops. Whichever way you arrive into Istanbul, Cordial House is easy to get to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cordial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing