We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location,unusual Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #513 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location,unusual Hotel.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on a tour in Turkey and first stayed at Antik for 2 nights at the start of our trip.
We were in the "B" section which meant up and down stairs and different lifts to get to meals and our room was hard to find at first.
Very small room ,very hot with the air con not working.however it was fixed promptly when we asked the next day.
When we returned at the end of our trip,we asked to be in the main building and the room was much better,easier access in and out and the wifi worked.
Maybe not 4 star but an unusual hotel in a great situation ,definitely ask to be in the main building if you stay there.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    174
    124
    26
    24
See reviews for
100
166
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I went on a pilgrimage group tour to Greece and Turkey for 14 days. Stayed 5 different hotels during our trip. Travel agent said that all 5 hotels are 4 stars but the true to rating of 4 star is the Antik Hotel in Istanbul. We stayed 3 nights. I am very pleased by the overall service and friendliness of the staff, making sure the guests are well taken of. I am particularly grateful to Zuhra Alisherova Uzbekistan, the guest relation officer, who extend her personal time for me to make sure I was well taken care of from my bad cold and coughing, missed the group tour. After her work schedule, she took me to Grand Bazaar to buy souvenir things to bring back to my family. The room was small but very clean and fresh. Yes, I would like to go back and stay more days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akosiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I will be honest and say that I have reviewed many hotels and always try to give the hotel a fair rating and I am actually sorry to have to give this hotel a bad rating after reading some other reviews. However, we all have to judge it on our own experiences, so here is ours.

The room was quite large with 1 double bed, two singles, 1 full bath and another half bath but it was so very dark that I had to use my flashlight in the middle of the day to find clothes in my suitcase. Very small windows overlooked dark alley. Air Conditioning did not seem to be working properly and the room was stuffy and hot as well as dark. This was our major complaint about the hotel and as it was the first hotel that we stayed in after arriving in Istanbul, we should have asked for a different room but were so jet-lagged that we didn't, so accept some responsibility.

The hotel is situated close to the Grand Bazaar and within walking distance to most major sites and close to the bus route. The hotel is hard to find as it is on a very small dark side street, Our Taxi driver had a hard time finding it and our traveling companions had the taxi driver finally drop them off nearby and suggest that they WALK and ask people as he couldn't find it. The upside of that location is that it is quiet.

The highlight of our stay at this hotel was very good breakfasts on the rooftop dining area. In 2 weeks of traveling in Turkey, this was the best hotel included breakfast that we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenose Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Antik for a second time at the end of a wonderful Fez Travel tour of Turkey. The staff were most attentive and we enjoyed staying in a Junior Suite for the three nights. The location is excellent. I hope the historic old Cisterna restaurant opens again - it would have been great to enjoy an evening in that venue - but the rooftop restaurant is very good with nice food and excellent sea views.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so go for the Junior Suite if you can get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very good hotel, wonderful location, kind and competent staff. My husband and I were very lucky: we had a fantastic room. Our friends complained because their room was too small, but, everything considered, it was a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilia742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Зухра З, Guest Relations Manager at Antik Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dearest Cecilia

You are more than welcomed. We also were glad to have guests like you.

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience at Antik hotel here on tripadvisor.

We would wait for your next visit

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is situated near the university of Istanbul in the old part/Sultanhamet. It takes 20 minutes to on foot to reach The blue Mosque. The hall of the hotel is very rich and well furnished. Staff speak English quite well.
I stayed in this hotel twice. The first time I was given an ordinary room on the second floor. It was clean and well equipped. Unfortunately it was near the elevator so a bit too noisy. The walls anyway are thin and you can easily hear the flush of your neighbour's bathroom. The second time I was given a suite, so the room was bigger than the first I had and more confortable. There was even a Jacuzzi! The roo was at the end of the corridor on the first floor and it was not noisy. Meals are served at the top floor where you can see the Marmara sea and some minarets of the Blue Mosque! a great view! We only had breakfast. There were plenty of salty and sweet things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorenaprimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Зухра З, Guest Relations Manager at Antik Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. Thank you very much for your feedback. Unfortunately I did not have a chance to meet you in person as was away for a while.

Please feel free to contact me for any assistance and We hope to see you again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherbourg-Octeville, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic location just a few minutes from the tram station (which is the best means of transport for visiting Istanbul). All the attractions in the old town can be visited by foot from the hotel and the Grand bazar is just a 5-minute walk. Family room which offers privacy for the parents and the children due to the separation of the 2 bedrooms and the fact that each one has it's own WC / wash basin. Breakfast on the roof is superb and a wonderful start to the day.
Only 2 drawbacks, the family room have absolutely no view. Large room but only 1 small window which overlooks an internal courtyard. In addition, the hotel restaurant is very expensive and the menu non-inspiring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Зухра З, Guest Relations Manager at Antik Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing a comment on tripadvisor.com

Sorry to hear that you havent been inspired by our menu because our personnel works on making it better everyday and the ingridients for meals are carefully chosen.

We hope to see you again and please feel free to contact me anytime

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyazıt
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
#362 of 1,140 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Balin Boutique Hotel
#399 of 1,140 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#797 of 1,140 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darkhill Hotel
#371 of 1,140 in Istanbul
297 reviews
Bekdas Hotel Deluxe
#659 of 1,140 in Istanbul
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antik Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antik Hotel Istanbul

Property: Antik Hotel Istanbul
Address: Ordu Cad. Sekbanbasi Sok. No: 6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyazıt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antik Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Istanbul, Antik Hotel is less than one kilometre from the Grand Bazaar and Theodisius Cistern. Luxury amenities include a sauna and massage treatments.The history of Istanbul is the inspiration for this unique hotel. Built on top of a Roman cistern, each floor of the hotel is designed to represent 4 different periods of Istanbul's past.The contemporary rooms are fitted with flat-screen TVs, wooden floors and white linens on the plush beds. A seating area and a sea view are offered in some rooms.Staff at the reception desk is available 24/7. Information about car rental can be found at the Antik's tour desk.Marmarion Restaurant serves Turkish, Ottoman and international cuisine on the terrace, which offers charming views of Istanbul and the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Antik Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing