We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in the best location”
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #92 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in the best location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights spanning the end of October and first of November. I think this hotel, which also has a small restaurant, is one of a kind, decorated with a Turkish theme in old-world style. Rooms are adequate in size, though if you have a lot of luggage you may feel a bit crampted. Bathrooms in old marble, plenty of hot water and towels, but as you will find in many places around the globe, no wash clothes, so bring your own. Those at the front desk speak English, as does the restaurant staff, though to a lesser degree. Our room was on the second level (I believe they consider it the first level) on the street, though quiet in the evening and very quiet even at 7:00 a.m. in the morning. Rooms have cable tv. The small restaurant offers enough variety including the free breakfast. If you like fresh french-style bread, a variety of cheeses, you will be in heaven as I was. About the hotel there are various seating areas, and in the late afternoon and evening these were pretty well occupied by tourists from a variety of countries. The office does have safes for guests. The location is superb. Walking distance to the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar about 15 minutes, to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, and underground cistern. Also reasonably close to the tram. Lots of restaurants (almost all reasonably priced) and shops in the near vicinity. W found that making reservations, confirming those reservations, and any other info via e-mail was smooth and without problems.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the street. There was very little noise, virtually none from bedtim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    79
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
57
87
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is unique! Amazing décor with hundreds of lamps on every inch of the ceilings and walls covered with antiques. The only problem is there is no lift and the spiral staircase is quite steep. The food at the roof restaurant was good value and the ambience great after a 30 hour flight. Location is first class with the Cistern 3 minutes down Yerebatan and all the old city sights close by. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Ön Büro Müdürü at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Agree with most of the others -- a quirky little hotel with a very handy location. The small room was, again, a bit too small, but that's all that was open our first night, and the second we were moved to a larger very nice room.
The main thing here, is that the desk staff really know what they are doing. Vefa was very quick in responding to my emails when I booked, and he turned out to be just as friendly a gentleman in person. When he was off, the others weren't quite as English fluent but without exception they were friendly, gave accurate information, and were looking out for the welfare of their customers.
Great hotel -- if you don't like this place, you don't like traveling!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

When you are traveling for many weeks it is nice to stay in a hotel that feels like home. The gentlemen that work here are all very helpful, sweet and lovely people. I enjoyed many conversations with the staff at this hotel. The rooms are cozy with the lantern-decorated ceilings and the beautiful antique furniture. We stayed in the small double which was really too small for two people and their luggage. We stayed in the regular double for three nights and it was much nicer; although, much too expensive for the value. I really like the meals I had here too, particularly the stuffed eggplant dish. The breakfasts were also tasty and a wide selection, the jams were so alive in flavor. The hotel is within walking distance to Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar. For avid walkers, you can walk across the Galata Bridge to the Galata Tower and the vibrant district of Beyoglu in twenty minutes.

Room Tip: For light sleepers choose a room on the third or fourth floor, I found that the noise from people at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapoletanaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful boutique hotel, if you like lamps. There were 1000's of lamps on every inch of the ceilings in every room. The decor was stunning with wonderful antique furniture and ornaments. The food was also brilliant and well priced. It is central to the old city and near all the tourist sites you would want to see. Our room overlooked the street with a little balcony. It was clean and very comfortable and beautifully restored up a flight of stairs, with more lamps. Great service. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the main street to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgilbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The web site for the Kybele Hotel looked like we would have lots of laughs staying there. And we did. It is very central to the main tourist sites, and is somewhat of an attraction itself with all its ceiling lights! It has a great courtyard for an evening drink, and whilst there is a breakfast room it is much more fun sitting at a table on the street watching the world go by. Good service and value for money, but do not expect luxury. Its just quirky!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micphilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Kybele Hotel is a charming little boutique hotel with a lot of character that is very strategically located to all of the sights and sounds of Sultanahmet. When we first arrived in Istanbul and got dropped off at this hotel, we knew immediately that we picked the right spot. Everything was within walking distance, and just a stone's throw away from the Basilica Cistern, with the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque just further down the road. In fact, when we felt like walking around in the evening, our usual walk would take us to the park between the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque as it was so nearby.

The hotel itself has an old world charm and the hundreds of glass lamps decorating the ceilings definitely gives it a very unique atmosphere. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help me out with tools to disassemble something I got from the Grand Bazaar so that it would fit in my suitcase. And of course, the food was excellent - both at the garden terrace and the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eka_AbdulJabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#61 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,155 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#112 of 1,155 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#114 of 1,155 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#85 of 1,155 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#53 of 1,155 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Property: Kybele Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing