We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place works well!”
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Agree with most of the others -- a quirky little hotel with a very handy location. The small room was, again, a bit too small, but that's all that was open our first night, and the second we were moved to a larger very nice room.
The main thing here, is that the desk staff really know what they are doing. Vefa was very quick in responding to my emails when I booked, and he turned out to be just as friendly a gentleman in person. When he was off, the others weren't quite as English fluent but without exception they were friendly, gave accurate information, and were looking out for the welfare of their customers.
Great hotel -- if you don't like this place, you don't like traveling!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

When you are traveling for many weeks it is nice to stay in a hotel that feels like home. The gentlemen that work here are all very helpful, sweet and lovely people. I enjoyed many conversations with the staff at this hotel. The rooms are cozy with the lantern-decorated ceilings and the beautiful antique furniture. We stayed in the small double which was really too small for two people and their luggage. We stayed in the regular double for three nights and it was much nicer; although, much too expensive for the value. I really like the meals I had here too, particularly the stuffed eggplant dish. The breakfasts were also tasty and a wide selection, the jams were so alive in flavor. The hotel is within walking distance to Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar. For avid walkers, you can walk across the Galata Bridge to the Galata Tower and the vibrant district of Beyoglu in twenty minutes.

Room Tip: For light sleepers choose a room on the third or fourth floor, I found that the noise from people at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapoletanaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful boutique hotel, if you like lamps. There were 1000's of lamps on every inch of the ceilings in every room. The decor was stunning with wonderful antique furniture and ornaments. The food was also brilliant and well priced. It is central to the old city and near all the tourist sites you would want to see. Our room overlooked the street with a little balcony. It was clean and very comfortable and beautifully restored up a flight of stairs, with more lamps. Great service. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the main street to get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fgilbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The web site for the Kybele Hotel looked like we would have lots of laughs staying there. And we did. It is very central to the main tourist sites, and is somewhat of an attraction itself with all its ceiling lights! It has a great courtyard for an evening drink, and whilst there is a breakfast room it is much more fun sitting at a table on the street watching the world go by. Good service and value for money, but do not expect luxury. Its just quirky!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micphilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Kybele Hotel is a charming little boutique hotel with a lot of character that is very strategically located to all of the sights and sounds of Sultanahmet. When we first arrived in Istanbul and got dropped off at this hotel, we knew immediately that we picked the right spot. Everything was within walking distance, and just a stone's throw away from the Basilica Cistern, with the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque just further down the road. In fact, when we felt like walking around in the evening, our usual walk would take us to the park between the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque as it was so nearby.

The hotel itself has an old world charm and the hundreds of glass lamps decorating the ceilings definitely gives it a very unique atmosphere. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help me out with tools to disassemble something I got from the Grand Bazaar so that it would fit in my suitcase. And of course, the food was excellent - both at the garden terrace and the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eka_AbdulJabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I love this beautiful boutique hotel, the people, the furnishings, the hospitality. If you are looking for pillow top mattresses and hyatt style rooms, Don't go here. Everything is old, but clean and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfricksdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a place, collections of quirky treasures all over the place, including the most beautiful glass lamps all over every ceiling. Wonderful location in the old district. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I will most certainly go back there when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#94 of 1,173 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#24 of 1,173 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#246 of 1,173 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#67 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#379 of 1,173 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aren Suites
Aren Suites
#41 of 1,173 in Istanbul
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing