We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quirky and fun - perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,107 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun - perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and I never counted the same number of lights twice! Boutique hotel in every sense. All rooms are different. Bedrooms generally comfortable. Our room 501 had a horrible drains stench in the bathroom but the other rooms didn't, so luck of the draw on that. Staff really friendly and helpful - they genuinely want you to have a great time! Top tips - arrange airport transfers with them as it takes away that hassle. Oh and make sure you spend a night up in the chill out lounge!!

Room Tip: Not 501 unless bathroom smell resolved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    74
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
83
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant is a charming place to dine. The atmosphere is played off beautifully with the lanterns covering the entire ceiling of the restaurant. Staff is friendly and the food is amazing .. Make sure to try the turkish ravioli or manti ..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tas234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, in a quirky but charming rooftop room with balconies front & back and views of Aya Sofya. From the moment you arrive the staff are quietly helpful, speak good english & help you with some turkish! We paid for the airport transfer, and were greeted by a smile and efficiently gathered up. Breakfast was in the downstairs cafe/restaurant and was a mix of local and international fare, so something for everyone. The location could not be better - 5 minutes from the central square, and if you sleep with your window open, the call to prayer from the mosque wakes you gently. Bollards in the road outside mean that otherwise it's pretty quiet.

Room Tip: 403 is a steep climb up the stairs but worth it for the views & double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchardside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights here in mid January and felt like family when we left. It is in the very best location in old town that we could literally walk to at least 8 of the top 10 sights! The staff was so attentive and the dinners were delicious after a long day of walking and touring! The hotel contains 4000 tiny chandeliers that the owner produced themselves through a family business years ago. We loved staying there and encourage any travelers to consider a spring or summer stay as there looks to be a charming courtyard to relax and enjoy food and drink.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped in for a drink after seeing it from afar. The sitting area was small, inviting and comfortable. All the while we watched terrific plates of food being brought t customers (in other parts of the hotel; all looked good -- well prepped plates f typical local fare). It's a great place...neat decor...very friendly staff. Also the little cafe just across and up the street is very good for a quick lunch or meal.The owners amazed us when they remembered one amongst us from a previous visit in early December. Very friendly and welcoming without being pushy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second stay in this little gem. The staff, especially Vefa, are just so pleasant. Location, location, location ... OK it is important but when it comes with the whole package of charm, ambiance and to my surprise, incredible food, it really makes the stay in this gorgeous city extra special.
I rated the dinner we had for our group of 12 as the best meal of our entire 12 night stay in Turkey and Morocco.
Don't expect large luxury rooms and bathrooms - that is not what this boutique hotel is about. Think narrow staircases, odd shaped bedrooms, cosy corners, a surprise jungly rooftop garden, kitsch opulence, an eccentric, well connected, knowledgeable owner and enough fabulous 'pieces' to furnish a small palace. And of course those thousands of lights made from hand blown glass, old perfume bottles and various other beautiful debris. If you are a bit squashed in the bathroom, who cares.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giftedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A quircky charming place, small and quiet, in the very heart of the wonderful city of Istanbul. Traditional lamps being the signature in the design, you won't find a single inch free from them neither in the numerous small and cosy lobbies to sit with a coffee and book on a sofa, nor in your room. I've stayed in this hotel twice by now, and both times was admiring the view of magnificient Agia Sofia's minarets straight from my pillow - really to die for... I'd say this is how staying at grandma's would be if my grandma was Turkish and very traditional. Very nice roof garden as a bonus and most attractive areas of the city in a short walk reach. If you are fine with not having hi-end bathroom eqiuipment and king-size hi-end mattress but want a unique experience of staying in a museum almost, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: rooms on 4th floor have balconies with view of Agia Sofia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navratri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#36 of 1,107 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#15 of 1,107 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#79 of 1,107 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#31 of 1,107 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,107 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Property: Kybele Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,107 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing