We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor , a must see !!”
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant is a charming place to dine. The atmosphere is played off beautifully with the lanterns covering the entire ceiling of the restaurant. Staff is friendly and the food is amazing .. Make sure to try the turkish ravioli or manti ..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tas234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 340 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, in a quirky but charming rooftop room with balconies front & back and views of Aya Sofya. From the moment you arrive the staff are quietly helpful, speak good english & help you with some turkish! We paid for the airport transfer, and were greeted by a smile and efficiently gathered up. Breakfast was in the downstairs cafe/restaurant and was a mix of local and international fare, so something for everyone. The location could not be better - 5 minutes from the central square, and if you sleep with your window open, the call to prayer from the mosque wakes you gently. Bollards in the road outside mean that otherwise it's pretty quiet.

Room Tip: 403 is a steep climb up the stairs but worth it for the views & double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchardside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here in mid January and felt like family when we left. It is in the very best location in old town that we could literally walk to at least 8 of the top 10 sights! The staff was so attentive and the dinners were delicious after a long day of walking and touring! The hotel contains 4000 tiny chandeliers that the owner produced themselves through a family business years ago. We loved staying there and encourage any travelers to consider a spring or summer stay as there looks to be a charming courtyard to relax and enjoy food and drink.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ajctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped in for a drink after seeing it from afar. The sitting area was small, inviting and comfortable. All the while we watched terrific plates of food being brought t customers (in other parts of the hotel; all looked good -- well prepped plates f typical local fare). It's a great place...neat decor...very friendly staff. Also the little cafe just across and up the street is very good for a quick lunch or meal.The owners amazed us when they remembered one amongst us from a previous visit in early December. Very friendly and welcoming without being pushy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick3451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second stay in this little gem. The staff, especially Vefa, are just so pleasant. Location, location, location ... OK it is important but when it comes with the whole package of charm, ambiance and to my surprise, incredible food, it really makes the stay in this gorgeous city extra special.
I rated the dinner we had for our group of 12 as the best meal of our entire 12 night stay in Turkey and Morocco.
Don't expect large luxury rooms and bathrooms - that is not what this boutique hotel is about. Think narrow staircases, odd shaped bedrooms, cosy corners, a surprise jungly rooftop garden, kitsch opulence, an eccentric, well connected, knowledgeable owner and enough fabulous 'pieces' to furnish a small palace. And of course those thousands of lights made from hand blown glass, old perfume bottles and various other beautiful debris. If you are a bit squashed in the bathroom, who cares.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giftedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A quircky charming place, small and quiet, in the very heart of the wonderful city of Istanbul. Traditional lamps being the signature in the design, you won't find a single inch free from them neither in the numerous small and cosy lobbies to sit with a coffee and book on a sofa, nor in your room. I've stayed in this hotel twice by now, and both times was admiring the view of magnificient Agia Sofia's minarets straight from my pillow - really to die for... I'd say this is how staying at grandma's would be if my grandma was Turkish and very traditional. Very nice roof garden as a bonus and most attractive areas of the city in a short walk reach. If you are fine with not having hi-end bathroom eqiuipment and king-size hi-end mattress but want a unique experience of staying in a museum almost, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: rooms on 4th floor have balconies with view of Agia Sofia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navratri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I simply had the most wonderful experience at Kybele Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough! The location was excellent - a quiet street yet only a block or two walking from the bazaar, the blue mosque, the basilica cistern and other sights. Everything was literally right there but the hotel itself was peaceful and quiet.

But location is not what makes this place spectacular. The vibe and decor is wonderful. The room was incredible. My friends and I stayed in a triple and what we arrived to find was a virtual suite with two balconies.. It was as if we had our own little apartment with seating area and everything - adorably decorated and more than roomy enough for 3 people. The food was great and the atmosphere - the best.

But the absolute most impressive part was the service. Everyone who worked there was SO nice and accommodating (especially Hasan!). When I had to ship a package home, he literally walked me down the block to show me where DHL was. And when it was closed due to a holiday, the hotel made other arrangements for me to get the package home. They answered all of our questions, helped us with dinner reservations, stayed open late when we wanted to have an extra glass of wine on our last night, helped us with our heavy bags, you name it, they were on it!

I just can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Your trip to Istanbul would be incomplete without a stay here!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple. It was on the top floor and while I was worried my two friends and I would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#61 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,304 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,160 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#104 of 1,160 in Istanbul
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#113 of 1,160 in Istanbul
341 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#79 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,052 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#76 of 1,160 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $49 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing