We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming, friendly hotel, maybe a bit high on price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #57 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly hotel, maybe a bit high on price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We liked this hotel in a great location in the Old city, but I felt it was a bit overpriced at 130 euro per night for a very cramped room. Only two weeks earlier I had stayed at the Senatus Hotel in a larger and newer room for only $140 USD (about 108 euro) per night. Nonetheless, the Kybele has more charm -- it is highly decorated with a multitude of lamps on all ceilings. Kybele has a slightly better location, both hotels had very nice staffs but you do seem to run into more staff at the Kybele. Kybele has a slightly better breakfast. So, it depends on what you like. I'm pretty good in small spaces, but the smaller double we chose at the Kybele was quite cramped. Most people would probably be happier paying more for one of their larger rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    74
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
83
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stumbled across the Kybele Hotel wandering around Istanbul and landed up hanging out there rather a lot. 'Mike' (not his Turkish name of course) is a wonderful host and made us feel so at home not only to drink Turkish coffee sitting in the front room watching the world go by, or eating delicious food in the hotel restaurant but also just hanging out with him and his family drinking tea, listening to music and generally relaxing and chatting.

A really fun place to visit. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We didn't stay but will another time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Definitely a quirky hotel! We loved the lights in each room and all the lovely furniture. Rooms are ok but just a few touches would help - like besides lights for both sides of a double bed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast with plenty of choice. So handy for all the major tourist spots yet on a nice quiet street.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

You are in Istanbul, perhaps for the first time, what are you hoping for? An authentic experience, perhaps a family owned hotel that is in walking distance of all the Sultanahmet sites in your tour guide, right? The Kybele offers this plus clean rooms with en-suite bathrooms, a sweet little rooftop restaurant, attentive staff and then there are the LAMPS! Every single ceiling is covered in Turkish lamps! I've stayed here 3 times now and honestly the 'WOW' factor of those lamps is still as fresh as the first time. The owners and staff can make excellent recommendations and reservations for local restaurants too. They only have about 16 rooms so this is not a big concrete cookie-cutter hotel. I cannot rate the 'swimming pool' or the 'fitness center' because they do not have one! I love that!

Room Tip: If you are making connections to or from the airport I recommend calling the Kybele in advance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PashminaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We will be happy to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

my sister and i spent almost a week at Kybele Hotel and this place really made the entire experience a million times better! we were blown away by the beautiful team at Kybele; the genuine, lovely, welcoming vibe of this family run business is obvious the second you step inside this wonderous place. The decor is authentic and charming...and there is no place like it.
If you want an incredible Turkish experience, this is def the place for you. Food was brilliant, service was beyond excellent, the decor is ecletically fantastic and its location is absolutely ideal being literally in the heart of Istanbul. We felt safe, looked after and will def be going back. A tremendous thanks to everybody at Kybele!!!! You guys rock! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saharaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel attracts by the charming and eclectic interiors full of confectioners items like old cameras, clocks, ... and above all lampionnes. Our room had 60 lampionnes !! Rooms are very small but nice decorated. Curtains could use some washing. Marble and clean bathroom. Finishing is not as in a 5 star hotel, therefore not the 5 stars rating, but still value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed with 3 persons in one room. This is tiny but doable for 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasEliasLupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Kybele Hotel for a week a and could not think of a better place to discover Istanbul. The famous sights are minutes away (walking distance), the tram as well which takes you to the Bosporus ferries in 10 minutes for example. We (being on a girls' trip) always felt save in that area even in the middle of the night or later ... The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast very delicious, I did not miss my Nutella at all. But above all the decor and interior is stunning! With its charming atmosphere it is the perfect venue to spend a holiday in Istanbul. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#36 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#15 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#81 of 1,106 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#31 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,106 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Property: Kybele Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,106 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing