We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...excellent restaurant, but never ever mix it with the hotel!!!...”
Review of Kariye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariye Hotel
Ranked #960 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“...excellent restaurant, but never ever mix it with the hotel!!!...”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

...well, first of all we LOVE the Asitane Restaurant (for real)! But we made the stupid decision staying in the hotel...well well...what shall we say without being rude? okay... the staff is really nice. The suite is spaciousy. The setting of the Hotel besides karye kilesi (chora chruch) is nice. BUT...now we need to stop being kind. The bathroom is absolutely unexpaptable: 30 minutes of brownish water, rusty Installation and a variety of different funghi growing on the wall! You are afraid of picking up the shower - it might brake (and accutally did once upon a time). And the smell. No way. This place is really past it's prime, and, with some urgently necessary renovation, might be a nice place. But not right now. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: don´t use this Hotel...but if you insiste...take the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kedi_Kedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel several times, one of which was five days. The breakfast is the first thing to be mentioned, always rich and fresh, with well done Turkish tea. Not less from what is to be expected from the well known restaurant of the hotel (Though the prices of the other dishes in the restaurant is expensive compared to the small portions, but deserves to be tried for its carefully compiled Ottoman receipts). The hotel is old, actually a renovated old house, but clean and tidy. The bathrooms could take some maintenance maybe, but still OK. The location is not at the heart of the touristic old city (which is in fact better), but in the heart of history, next door to Kariye Museum, you walk a street or two down and you will find Fethiye Museum, and you will be in the ancient neighborhoods of Istanbul; Balat, Fener and the beautiful Halic. The buses and minibuses are reachable by a few minutes walk. Parking in front of the hotel is also safe, where I left my car all day long during five days. Personnel is good, nothing negative about this hotel. Good choice for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: I always stayed in the main building which includes the restaurant. Have no idea about the annex bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank piskalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel and the room was attractive with tranditional furnishings and comfortable bed and we have an outlook onto the museum next door and view on Istanbul.
It is right next door to the beautiful Kariye Museum which is a MUST SEE when in Istanbul, seeing this Museum was one of the highlight of our trip.
The bathroom was adequate but could do with some renovation. The water in the shower was warm and not hot enough. We had problem connect to the free WiFi in our room.
Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food and was served in the fine dining restuarant within the hotel.
The location was a bit far away from the centre of town - 30minutes by bus ( bus come approx.every 20minutes ) to town.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

the hotel is situated right next to Chora Museum, in the Fatih district. this is a very nice neighborhood, with nice views over the Golden Horn.
it's an old wooden building, as most of the buildings in this area, very shiny, especially the part overlooking the Golden Horn. the rooms needs to be renovated, but keeping the old style which gives it the charm.
I liked the breakfast and the garden where it was served and the people at the reception who were very kind.

Room Tip: they also have a separate building where the rooms are not very nice. please be sure to specify you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladimir, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice quiet calm hotel, far well from downtown. Old room equipment. friendly staff. Good and tasty breakfast.Wood windows is sharming, Simple old furniture also. Small artisan market near by. Metro stop is 1 km by foot of light promenade, than after 2 stops change to tram and about 10 stops to town center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Situated near to the tram station, this traditional hotel is very nice indeed. Personel is friendly and there is a gourmet restaurant (Asitane) with beautiful, tasty, but small plates.
Just across the street is a kebab-restaurant with delicious traditional food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niyo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Steiermark, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

THE WORSE HOTEL EVER !! I spent some nights there, and was the worse experience ever.
Dont misunderstand my negative comment, really, im not a bad person trying, i always try to help, but this... really wow... is the first time i make this kind of negative comment on something.
1. REALLY REALLY DIRTY
2. Its an old hotel, i can understand that, but DIRTY...?? and i mean, really Dirty, i got allergy and was sick during my time in istanbul.
3. The beds were really old and with holes.
4. when i got a shower water was yelow, can you imagine have a shower waching that the floor is Rusty, and then see that you are showering with yelow water??? really discusting !!
5. The price is not even reasonable, up to 60Euros
6. But the worse really was the service.
When i came to the desk to say that Yellow water was in the Shower, they told me (with any concert) "Is not our trouble, the internal pipes are rusty" !! and then when i said about the dirty the room was, they called a old lady, very humble, when i saw her face my heart just died, and they started to scream at her ! i just tryed to stop the situation saying that "no problem, every thing its ok" trying to divert the attention, for not provocate the stupid manager to fire the poor lady.
Every thing was really bad, the service, the manager, the dirt... BUT The way the manager screamed to the poor lady was the worse thing you can see in some human, one just dont do that !! The worse experience ever !
I Guaranty that this opinion is not false !

Room Tip: Simplemente busquen otro hotel y paguen taxi si quieren ver el museo Kariye ! Just look for anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Golden Horn
Turquhouse Boutique Hotel
Turquhouse Boutique Hotel
#668 of 1,140 in Istanbul
38 reviews
Fener & Balat
Troya Hotel Balat
Troya Hotel Balat
#591 of 1,140 in Istanbul
36 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,140 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Berr Hotel
Berr Hotel
#792 of 1,140 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Hotel & Suites Istanbul Golden Horn
Beyoglu
Clarion Hotel Golden Horn
Clarion Hotel Golden Horn
#573 of 1,140 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariye Hotel

Property: Kariye Hotel
Address: Dervis Ali Mah. Kariye Cami Sok. No:6 Edirnekapi, Eyup, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Fener & Balat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #960 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Kariye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariye Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing