We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”
Review of Hotel Villa Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Zurich
Ranked #747 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Patras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much potential”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the staff was friendly and breakfast was good. The hotel is close to everything and has nice lobby. Rooms are in great need of good deep cleaning and freshening. Our room had a jacuzzi tub which we were both looking forward to. There was mold around the tubs corners but the worst is when you turn on the jets black slime came out of the jets. The shower water was only warm. When we complained, they had no answer and were at a loss as to what to do about it. The carpets were all old and stained in rooms and hallways. There was trash left near elevator all evening two days in a row. Music from downstairs restaurant played very loud, very late. Also I had a non smoking room, however the people at the restaurant downstairs sat outside under my window and smoked. This could be a great hotel. Rooms are good size. Beds are comfortable. Night staff very friendly. Bathrooms not too small. Great location. I don't think I would stay here again unless I was told of a huge endeavor to bring this hotel up to the standards it deserves.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akturk2013, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind review about hotel but in the bath room it was not mold it was a variable color silicone to care floor from the water event it is mold t should smell but it was not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    43
    24
    27
See reviews for
27
58
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Small hotel, close to reach most sight seeing spots as they are a walking distance and also close to the public transport. My wife and I were surprised as I received a birthday cake with compliments from the management.

Room Tip: If you are planing to use the hotel just to sleep it is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawlmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkturkGroup, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind review about hotel.Please consider our hotel again for a future visit, and we hope we may provide accommodation for you more than last and would like to welcome properly with our utmost again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Its a basic small hotel. The location is fantastic if you want to be in the heart of the bohemian part of Taksim. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a 5-10min walk. Taksim Sq is about 12-15mins walk away.

The hotel itself is more just bed and breakfast really. There are no facilities to speak of. The breakfast room has a great view, but very basic offerings, and coffee from a nescafe machine.

The room was small, but adequate for the couple of nights I spent there. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, with overly bright lights. The shower would leak onto the bathroom floor everytime, leaving a small lake in the bathroom.

The bed itself was clean, tidy and comfortable for a night's sleep. No issues there. Wifi was accessible in the room and seemed fairly fast.

Not a bad place, if you are on a bit of a budget and want to stay in this part of town. If you're on a bigger spend, then there are better options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27mangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akturk2013, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for the kind review about hotel.The hotel is completly has renovated few months before so we solved all problem here so we would like welcome you here a future visit than you can meke sure how atmosphere has changed...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year and found the hotel to be a value for the area with very accommodating staff and so we decided to book here again for our annual trip back to Turkey to see family. Unfortunately, the experience was not what we expected. The Management Staff were rude and unwilling to help when they made a mistake with our transport from the hotel to the airport-their mistake and the attitude from the night manager was the American equivalent of "too bad so sad". Although the room was adequate, the bathrooms were not very clean (shower/bath) and housekeeping only made the beds everyday with no other cleaning done each day. Several times we had to ask for towels or toilet paper etc. The elevators were not working 75% of the time so if you don't like to climb several sets of stairs this is not the hotel for you. Additionally, on a few days our room was without water with no explanation provided by hotel staff when we called to complain. At check out we were informed that the transfer to the airport we scheduled had to be paid in cash although the other transfers we made were charged to our room-when you have a 6:25am flight and are checking out at 3:30am-it is not the time to be told you have to pay in cash. In the end we told them to cancel the transfer and used taxis. All in all, staying here was not a pleasurable experience which was disappointing as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel last year. I don't know if the hotel has a new owner or new management but it definitely has deteriorated in service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatiana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkturkGroup, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind comment but we did not expect what we would like to see about hotel because hotel has renovated on january and even you visit through in the future than you will see how change it...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place was such a nightmare in Istanbul for us.
Even though we brought lots of guests with us to stay in this hotel, we only found the front desk staff so hostile and unwilling to help with the payment process.

They even used our credit card information without our approval and charged for a payment that they mistakenly didn't count in.

We couldn't understand and just wanted to have a logical explanation of why they charged us for such amount on the card without notice, but all they could do was answer our calls to tell us (who were calling from the overseas) to call back later or send us invoices that were already so miscalculated and lopsided. We ended up having to find out by ourselves what actually happened from various receipts and invoices. Thankfully, we weren't overcharged or anything, but we were terrified by the idea of what would have happened otherwise. If they made a mistake of doubly charging or whatever, there would have been no way of getting the money back.


Places like this makes me hate the idea of ever re-visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkturkGroup, Genel Müdür at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, April 29, 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We wish you had a better experience during your stay at our hotel.
I would like to inform you about renovations of our hotel, our team and our service quality, So we want to do our best for getting your happiness.
The personnel in Villa Zurich Hotel work hard to improve its quality, image, services it provide. We thank you for the feedback.Your comments are important to us because it will help you get better results. I would like to know the problems that you have mentioned are fixed.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have liked.
With My Best Wishes
Serkant KAVAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My name is Yassin Mohamed
Actully It was very good experiance in hotel villa zurich scince it is in very good location nearby taksim the heart of istanbul city and good prices as well so i recomend this hotel for spending nice vacation in istanbul

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YassinMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkturkGroup, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Villa Zurich, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind commnet about hotel it was pleasant to know them all so we would like see you for a head of visit in Istanbul again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Taksim Star
Hotel Taksim Star
#976 of 1,156 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Beyoglu
Balance Hotel Taksim
Balance Hotel Taksim
#403 of 1,156 in Istanbul
43 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#128 of 1,156 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#538 of 1,156 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#439 of 1,156 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#666 of 1,156 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Zurich

Property: Hotel Villa Zurich
Address: Akarsu Yokusu Cad. No:36 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #747 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Hotel Villa Zurich Istanbul Web Page In the heart of the city's business and just five minutes walk from Taksim Square the entertainment and shopping district, with our well decorated 41 rooms, 2 suites. We want to be "Your choice in Istanbul at Taksim" Just a 10-minute walk from Istanbul's lively Taksim Square, Hotel Villa Zurich offers sweeping Bosphorus views from its rooftop terrace. The Fish Restaurant serves fish Gods airy guest rooms at Villa Zurich Hotel combine elegant specialties.The velvet details and dark chocolate shades. They feature private bathrooms with tub and some rooms also have a spacious work desk. A rich buffet breakfast is served on Villa Zurich's lovely rooftop terrace. There is also a lobby bar, with décor from the 1960s and stained-glass windows.Hotel Villa Zurich is located in the Beyoglu District, a 10-minute walk from the Istanbul Museum of Modern Arts and the stores and dining options of Istiklal Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing