We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a pich, this place will do.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Ranked #181 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After an absolute nightmare at 2am with the fraudulent "Seven Dreams Hotel", we trolled the streets looking for a decent hotel with an empty room for the night. We stumbled upon this place, with a nice-looking entryway and a well-lit lobby. Although the place seemed a bit dated and tacky, they did have a room for us, so we went to take a look at it. A man took us down to the basement floor, not the best sign, and led us into the first room on the left. The room was TINY, even on a European scale. Bright pink, decorated like a little girl's room during the Victorian era. Creepy, painful-looking pictures on the walls of the Virgin Mary. Large windows, but of course, no views. The bathroom, however, was this room's saving grace. Top-to-bottom pale green marble, a good sized sink, clean toilet, and large shower with both a rain-type and regular removable shower head. The AC was also on full blast and was nice and cold (no weird smells, either). The man, who seemed annoyed to service us from the get-go, said there was no key for the room and that we should make sure to lock it from the inside. At this point we were so spent, we didn't even care, and just wanted to get some sleep. We slept well, but there was no sunlight to wake us up. At around 10am as we were showering and getting dressed, someone literally barged into the room, without as much as a knock. Luckily I screamed just in time, or they would have literally caught us putting on our underwear. We finished up quickly and got out of there. The front desk offered us free breakfast upstairs on the roofdeck, so we went up before checking out (since we didn't book online, we had no idea which amenities were included). Breakfast had just ended at 10:30, so the very sweet older gentleman offered us as much coffee and tea as we liked. The food they were taking off the buffet seemed varied and tasty. The view upstairs was impressive -- both the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque are in full view, as well as a long stretch of the Bosphorus, and a clear view of the Asian side. A few unsightly rooftops are in the way, though, as well as noise coming from the many tour buses parked below. When we checked out, the host brought us apple tea and we sat in the lobby checking our e-mails (wi-fi is offered, and they also have a desktop near reception). Overall, we were pleased with our stay, although the decor of the entire hotel needs some serious updating. Also, they could benefit from digital key cards to improve security, and their wi-fi range needs expanding (we had signal in the lobby, but none in our room just a few meters away). We paid €100 for the one night, a bit steep for what we were offered, but that terrace plus being so close to the historic sites made it even more worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 368 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My son and I visited Istanbul for the first time and we had a wonderful experience!
The staff at Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi made our experience at Turkey very memorable. The owner of the hotel was wonderful and the location is the best. I highly recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the Topkapi Palace and just behind Hagia Sophia. It is also a very short distance from the Blue Mosque. The hotel has wonderful staff and the staff at the front desk spoke excellent English. The rooms are comfortable and vary a little in quality (we have stayed there 4 times). The rooms are clean and the air conditioning works well. Breakfast is included and is located on the top floor. The views are wonderful. It is a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel; the location is just perfect (street lıttle t noisy, the price is very good, we liked the breakfast, the room is not big but good if you just sleep there (the bed big and comfortable), and in the hotel there is an elevator. After the check-out I wanted to leave my baggages in the hotel for some hours; they told me that its possible of course, and put my stuffs into a luggage room for free. I can not say any bad thing about this hotel, really. I liked the reception too, he serviceman Bunyamin was very professional and helpful. Go there, and enjoy your trip :) and put that one too please

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I am very satisfied with my stayat the hotel Valide Sultan. Luxury room, very good service. Especialy the service at the reception was very helpful and pleasant. The receptionman named Bunyamin was behaved as a gentleman and very professional, especialy his english was excelent. I was pleasantly surprised when comparing with other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nargiz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You wanna have a great holiday, than go to this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, not small. The food is good, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location of this hotel is very good too.
The only noise there was, was the sound of kids playing. So no bad noise or anything else. Go to this hotel and you get a marvelous holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

They intentionally overbooked and put my friends at their apartment room promising to upgrade the next day. But they gave another nonsense excuse and did not upgrade the room. They rather gave my friends a smaller room.
The hotel staff recommended a restaurant with a free shuttle. Food was expensive, cats were all over your feet, the price was too high, the service was unpleasant ... etc. I think the hotel and the restaurant were partners. DISREGARD THEIR RECOMMENDATION.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#194 of 1,159 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Sultanahmet
Megara Palace Hotel
Megara Palace Hotel
#214 of 1,159 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#32 of 1,159 in Istanbul
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#136 of 1,159 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#168 of 1,159 in Istanbul
839 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#63 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ishak Pasa Cad. Kutlugun Sok. No: 1, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#141 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#193 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $60 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi is proud to serve those guests who prize the unique ambience and charm of a bygone age - as well as comfort, care and convenience – rather than the impersonal, homogenized facilities promoted by the global tourism industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valide Sultan Konagi Istanbul
Valide Sultan Konagi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing