We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Ranked #189 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hotel!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel Valide Sultan is an ideal place to stay when visiting Istanbul. Located in Sultanahmet, the old city, just a few-minute walk from the Haija Sofia, the Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque, it's a bright, clean, cheerful hotel. I even got great night photos of the Haija Sofia from my bedroom window! The rooftop restaurant is mostly breakfast, but serves a great meal, and is situated so that on one side you see the Haija Sofia and on the other the Bosphorous and Asian Istanbul's skyline. It's also a perfect location for night photos of both. Rambo, who runs the restaurant, is a classic, always friendly and helpful, and uses his limited English to best advantage with his greetings of "Happy Holiday!". The rest of the staff, Benjamin and the others, are also very helpful and friendly. For anyone planning on visiting old Istanbul, you can't do better for the price!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluestraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    96
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
92
133
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Located in the heart of the historic Sultanahmet district of Istanbul, the Hotel Valide Sultan is an excellent place to stay at.
The hotel is situated right next to the Topkapi Palace and a few minutes walk away from the Hagia Sophia Museum and the Blue Mosque. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The receptionist called Tarkan was very helpful and provided me with a socket converter and arranged for a taxi.The hotel management takes Euros as well as Turkish Lira's at an acceptable exchange rate. The rooms are not huge but not small either and are nicely decorated. Each room is fitted with a flat panel TV, air-conditioned and cleaned daily. Breakfast is served at the rooftop with a lovely view of the city. Its of the traditional Turkish variety.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel but there were a few things that I didn't like. There was no iron provided in the room and you have to pay a small fee for getting your clothes ironed, no tea or coffee maker in the room either. There were a few cigarette related burn holes in the bed sheets, the chair and even the curtains but that's not the management's fault. Guests who smoke and don't care are at fault here.
I was a bit scared about booking a hotel online but nothing wrong happened. I was happy during my stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saad_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great service, great room and within walking distance to the water, the mosques, shopping etc. It was in a great location. The rooms were charming and well decorated. The staff so so friendly, they even brought us some hot tea to welcome us--on the house. The breakfast was lovely, beautifully arranged and so memorable in the bright sunny top floor, where the views were gorgeous! Great way to start day. I really did love this place, we found it by accident, as we couldn't find a place in Istanbul in this area through the travel agent and were on our own to find a place for the night. But I am so glad that we found this gem. We will visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrightandClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Excellent location , 2 min walk to Hagia Sophia. Best view from restaurant on top floor . Very good breakfast , free . Friendly staff and excellent service .

Frank G.
U.S.A.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me and 3 children, age 10, 14 15, had a wonderful stay at Valide hotel. The staff was incredible. There was a welcoming party for their guests at lobby, and they served wonderful cai. They were waiting for us at the airport when we arrived.. They reserved tickets for us for the Bosphorus Cruise. I could not get my computer to connect to the internet, so they help m efor print my plane boardingpast . We had two rooms which were very clean and nice. The room was slightly small, but since we had two rooms, it worked out really well. They arranged for a transfer us to the airport at the same rate that a taxi would cost, and the van was very clean and neat. Unlike a lot of taxis. The location was great. It is central to all the big tourist attractions. Excellent customer service and friendly staff I have always used TRIPADVISOR to choose hotels, restaurants and attractions to visit in any country but never wrote a review. I have to say if I am traveling to Istanbul again will definetly stay in Valide Sultan Konagi hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent location in the old part of Istanbul. Very close to most historic points of view, public transport (tram) and situated nearby an alley with nice turkish restaurants.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. In particluar Benjamin (Bunyamin) at the front desk. The room was small but functional, clean, air-conditioned. Overall impression: good value for my money.
The restaurant on top is breath taking, the breakfast delicious. Always a good start in the morning.
We enjoyed it very much and will recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I personally enjoyed my stay. My room was very clean and aircondioned. The food service was nice and the staff was well mannered. The front desk clerk Benjamin was freındly and knowledgeable about the sites in townand able to guide me in the right direction. I have recommended this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#201 of 1,141 in Istanbul
596 reviews
Sultanahmet
Megara Palace Hotel
Megara Palace Hotel
#226 of 1,141 in Istanbul
433 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#122 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#334 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi

Property: Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ishak Pasa Cad. Kutlugun Sok. No: 1, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#128 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#194 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi is proud to serve those guests who prize the unique ambience and charm of a bygone age - as well as comfort, care and convenience – rather than the impersonal, homogenized facilities promoted by the global tourism industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valide Sultan Konagi Istanbul
Valide Sultan Konagi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing