We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, nice hotel....if you pay more than standard room”
Review of Sultan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan's Inn
Ranked #35 of 1,103 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is more "Pension" than hotel, but nice and very clean. But...dont take a standard room, pay less more and get a nice room with view to the cosy street. Big turkish breakfast - everybody will find something. I will come back!

Room Tip: Dont take the standard room - pay less more for a room to the quiet street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GabrielaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear customers,

We are very happy to hear from you. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Sultan's Inn is perched in a prime location in the historic district. The staff is friendly, helpful, and more than willing to provide local guidance or set up tours. For a fee, the staff will pick you up at the airport and bring you to the Inn, saving you the hassle of negotiating transportation and traffic near the airport. This convenience cannot be overemphasized if it is your first trip to Istanbul.

Perhaps the most pleasing aspect of the Sultan's Inn is the surprising view. The Inn has a rooftop dining area and lounge that boasts a spectacular view of the Blue Mosque. It is a great spot to wind down.

Finally, if you're traveling on shoestring, Sultan's Inn is a great choice. The complimentary Turkish breakfast/brunch allows you to save some money on a meal, or possibly two if you carry a croissant with you and eat light. For the cost, Sultan's Inn gives you everything you need to explore Istanbul and not break the bank.

Pros:

(1) Location and View
(2) Complimentary breakfast/brunch
(3) Friendly staff
(4) Cost

Cons:

(1) Smaller rooms (but clean!)
(2) Can be a bit loud at night

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear customers,

We want to thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you liked our hotel, and we hope your stay was memorable.
We would be very glad to host you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Best regards,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Only three streets away from the most surprising view of the SultanAhmet or Blue Mosque as you turn the corner, this hotel ia at the corner of a street and offers excellent value. My room with a tiny balcony gave a nice view of the Mamara Sea and from the breakfast room terrace there was another excellent view over rooftops of the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was basic and always the same - sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced feta and cheddar, olives, bread rolls, jams and sausage with scalloped potatoes.
The reception staff - Murad, Hassan and Kerem who spoke good German - were most helpful, attentive and concerned about giving good information and addressing any needs. The new Guest Relations Manager, Justine, a pretty young French woman with green eyes who recently graduated from Hotel Management college - took a survey of guests and
was cocerned of their needs. The only hitch was a problem with bad internet signal for four days. The family owned company also owns two other hotels within two streets.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your kind reviews with us. We are always trying to improve our service quality and your reviews and opinions are guiding to us in order to reach our goal.
As far as the breakfast is concerned, we are planning to add some changes soon. Also, we are very sorry about the internet problems, this was due to work construction on the road, now our internet network is working very well as before.

We are looking forward you to accommodate you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Justine Duchanoy, guest relation department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

(1) The place was fantastic, located right near the core historical district. (2) The room was very clean and quiet. I stayed on a room at the top (5th) floor and could enjoy the wonderful sea view and the magnificence of the back of Sultan Ahmet Mosque. (3) The price was reasonable and worth it. (4) Two sorry things were elevator and breakfast. There was no elevator. But it was rather good for health to walk some stairs. Free continental style breakfast was good and healthy. Though It might have been better if the menus were changed slightly everyday.... Overall, I was much satisfied this hotel.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the top floor, which is the most recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jssance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions with us and with our guests. Your reviews are very helpful for improving our quaility and service.
As far as the elevator is concerned, unfortunately we can not install one because of the limited space and the structure of the hotel.
We would be happy to host you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Justine Duchanoy, guest relation department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Didn't pay much money at all for a clean private room in a beautiful and safe neighborhood close to all the attractions I wanted to see. The staff was helpful and spoke excellent English.

My stay was brief, but this was the perfect home base.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashSpeakwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your nice compliments.
We hope we will host you the next time in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, just a 3 minute walk to Blue Mosk & close to many restaurants & cafes to suit any taste. Rooms very clean & spacious, include a tv, refrigerator, air conditioning & very comfortable bed! Staff very friendly, Kursad the receptionist arranged for us to go on the Bosphorous Boat Tour which is a great way to see the beauty of Istanbul. He also arranged transfers for us to get to the airport. We didn't know how to turn on the radiator in our room & he was there to help & got our room to warm up in no time. Nothing was too much to ask & staff did everything they could for you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear customer,

We want to thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sultan's inn.
We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Justine Duchanoy, guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice Location and a awesome rooftop terrace.

The breakfast is basic but ok.

The staff is very helpful.

The Location is perfect for sightseeing, some of the major mosques and bazaars are just around the corner. The Shopping and nightlife districts are a 10min tram/taxi/bus ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. Please, note that we improve our breakfast menu, it is more complete and various now.

We hope to welcome you again in Sultan's İnn.

Sincerely,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#30 of 1,103 in Istanbul
110 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,103 in Istanbul
598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Naz Wooden House Inn
Naz Wooden House Inn
#63 of 1,103 in Istanbul
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#94 of 1,103 in Istanbul
33 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalinn Hotel
Lalinn Hotel
#16 of 1,103 in Istanbul
275 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#67 of 1,103 in Istanbul
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan's Inn

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No 40, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,103 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $23 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan's Inn is situated in the heart of the Old Walled City and it is only walking distance to the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome,Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars & restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotel district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sultan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan`s Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing