We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultan's Inn
Ranked #21 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great location and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our group of 15 loved our stay at the Sultan's Inn. Aside from the small rooms and no elevator, the hotel was clean and well kept, the breakfast absolutely fantastic, and the staff were some of the most helpful I have ever met. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    231
    46
    24
    11
See reviews for
85
194
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel treated me well in the sense that I got a bigger room than what I paid for. However, there is a strong selling effort to market their tour offerings upon your arrival - no matter how tired you might appear on arrival from an inter-continental journey. Rooms are smallish and showers are limiting movement for larger/taller travelers (shower space measures approx 75x75cm). There is no elevator, but help is on hand for your luggage upon arrival and departure. Breakfast is mediocre and do not bother to break your day for the complimentary cake and coffee / tea at 4 pm daily. The great value of this hotel is the location in terms of Istanbul's attractions and the variety of restaurants close by. Overall, a relatively good and affordable choice for Istanbul with lovely views of the Blue Mosque from the top terrace.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so choose a room on the lower levels if you have problems with stairs. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beejay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great small hotel.Friendly,helpful staff.Very clean..my room a little noisy above entrance & street but would recommend Sultans Inn to anyone wanting to stay in Istanbul.Good location in interesting area & breakfast on rooftop great start to any day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Though there is no elevator in this small hotel, it is still one I will stay in again. The room was clean and had a small refrigerator, an air conditioner, and a television (albeit an older one). Wifi worked perfectly! The staff is friendly and helpful. And the location (near the Blue Mosque) is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clware13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor to share your Sultan's Inn experience with us. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kamil Kaya
Sultan's Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel during a business trip to Istanbul. The rooms are small and there is no elevator, but it is clean and the staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. The location is within walking distance to may sightseeing places in the historic city, and the view from the roof terrace is magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great wee hotel in a fantastic position.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
We had room 30 which has a balcony. It is nice to be able tosit outside, have fresh air, enjoy the street. The room is small with not much space around the bed and nowhere to sit except on the bed. But then we did not come to Istanbul to sit in a bedroom! The roof top breakfast area is fantastic for breakfast, and you can sit up there if you want and enjoy the views of the mar airs and blue mosque.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiclid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your Sultan's Inn experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable time in Sultan's Inn Hotel. We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Kamil Kaya
Hotel Sultan's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my Mum for three nights, it was an ideal location for seeing the major sights in Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sopia, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and more) as they were all in easy walking distance.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned everyday. Basic room but perfect for a short stay as didn't spend much time in the room due to the perfect weather and so much to see!
Breakfast on the terrace every morning was a good way to start the day looking at the sea and skyline. Big breakfast spread and all very tasty! Also they have conplimentary tea/coffee and cake between 4pm-6pm everyday on the terrace which was nice to relax before going to one of the many restuarants surrounding the hotel.
I don't have anything bad to say about our stay as it was a perfect base that suited our needs and we couldn't have asked anything more for the price we paid. I defintely recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank HaileyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#11 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#16 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#6 of 1,031 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Naz Wooden House Inn
Naz Wooden House Inn
#34 of 1,031 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan's Inn

Property: Sultan's Inn
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No 40, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan's Inn is situated in the heart of the Old Walled City and it is only walking distance to the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome,Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars & restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotel district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan`s Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing