We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Sultan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan's Inn
Ranked #25 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

There is a perfect place for inexpensive staying in Istanbul. Not too big, but cozy and comfortable rooms with a small refrigerator and conditioner. Very tasty breakfasts, helpful and affable staff and a magnificent view from a terrace on a roof. Location is great, 5 min by walk to the Blue mosque. Near the hotel there are many restaurants and gift shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashida I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Sultan's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 533 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Sultan's Inn was a good value (rates are lowered on Nov. 1st) in a good location for visting many of the most popular tourist sights in Istanbul. The staff was friendly, and the breakfast buffet had a nice selection of tasty foods. The room was on the small side but had a small refrigerator, and there were a number of small markets nearby where you can purchase drinks, fruit, snacks, etc. One drawback was the lack of an elevator.

Room Tip: The 4th floor room that we had was quiet with a decent view, and the breakfast service was on that f...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Sultan's Inn Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kamil Kaya,
Sultan's Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sultan's Inn for a couple of nights in late Oct. 2012. The location is in the heart of the old town with great views and within a short walk to major historic sites and excellent restaurants. Rooms are small by North American standards, but very clean and comfortable. Lots for breakfast with a choice to eat indoors or up one flight on the roof top terrace with a view of the Blue Mosque. I highly recommend you arrange your transport to and from airport/railway/ships through Sultan's Inn as they have excellent drivers at great rates. Ditto for any tours you want to do while in Istanbul. We found the bed a little hard, but still slept well. You'll love it...we did!

Room Tip: We upgraded our room (min. charge) to have a small balcony (2 chairs only) over the side street wher...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

It was a real pleasure for us to read your kind, detailed feedback and we are glad that we could contribute to making your stay with us a great experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon in Sultan's Inn Hotel.

Best regards,

Kamil Kaya
Sultan's Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here for a week with my wife, great location, very quiet, safe area,really nice staff,which was emphasized when I left some cash in my room after we left to fly home, I sent a quick email to them, they replied,and sorted out a money transfer.Honest people,could not ask for more.10/10! Many thanks again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iansol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Sultan's Inn is absolutely highly recommendable!
We stood in pairs in Istanbul for almost a week and enjoyed our stay at Sultan's Inn very much.
After a first night in a dark and narrow back room we could move to a front room which was absolutely perfect. In general the rooms are very clean and have comfortable beds. The most beautiful thing of Sultan's Inn is the roof terrace with its beautiful view (Marmara Sea, Blue Mosque) where we had our breakfast every day! The front desk staff ist very friendly and helpful, also the room and breakfast service have been very friendly and confidential!
The location of the Hotel in the old town (Sultanahmet) of Istanbul is perfect, many of the sights are within spitting distance and could be reached in a few minutes. We did almost all the trips in the town afoot. There ist also a wide range of restaurants in the neighbourhood of the hotel.
With reference to the tours you can undertake: the offers of the hotel are definitively too expensive (e.g. the Bosporus tour offered by the hotel costs about 30 Euro, if you book it by yourself at the landing stage near Galata Bridge it costs 10 Euro). Also the price for the transfer from and to Sabiha Gökcen is extremely high and could be booked much cheaper by one of the agencies nearby the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for front rooms, the back rooms are dark, without view and frustrating. We had for the first nig...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sultan's Inn for the tail end of our trip. It was a great place to finish up our stay in Istanbul; GREAT location to many of the main sights Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc. Sultan's Inn also has a tasty breakfast in the morning that never left you hungry (sausage, potatoes, cheeses, fruits, cereal and more.) As well as a helpful staff if you have any questions about the area. They provide brochures on the front desk, but if you go to the places of interest you can usually find a better deal.
If I find myself traveling to Istanbul, I will book at Sultan's Inn again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PutheRAVEintRAVEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I took airport transfer limo to/from the hotel. The hotel is owned by a large travel service -- Efendi -- that runs airport limos as well as Istanbul tours. The front desk was definitely interested in selling me their tours, but that was OK because I wanted to go on some. The room was small, but clean, and the bathroom was huge -- fit for a sultan! There is breakfast each morning up on the fourth floor (no elevators). I took two half day tours: the Chora Church tour and the Bosphorus Cruise tour. If I did this again, I would take the Chora Church tour, have them drop me off at the Spice market, and book my own Bosphorus cruise at 6 Euros rather than the tour price of 32 Euros. You can then take a tram at 3 liras from the Spice market back to the Blue Mosque stop, and from there an easy walk back to the hotel. Try Doy-Doys restaurant on the way back from the Blue Mosque. Doy-Doys business card has a map which helps get you to/from the tram. If you are flying Turkish airlines, I recommend you arrive at the airport 2-3 hours in advance. They "lost" my reservation and I was almost stuck in Istanbul. The two Brits in front of me had booked Heathrow - Istanbul return, and Turkish airlines had routed them back to Gatwick. For 187 GBP "and 10 Euros" Turkish airlines offered to put them on the flight to Heathrow. The hotel is in a beautiful, quaint neighborhood -- I wish I could show you my pictures!

Room Tip: Expect to hear hallway noise. I stayed on the first floor -- not as much climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallBounces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

It was a real pleasure for us to read your kind, detailed feedback and we are glad that we could contribute to making your stay with us a great experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon in Sultan's Inn Hotel.

Best regards,

Kamil Kaya
Sultan's Inn Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Mini Nova Hotel
Mini Nova Hotel
#239 of 1,070 in Istanbul
2 reviews
Kinali Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinaliada
10 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#13 of 1,070 in Istanbul
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#8 of 1,070 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#14 of 1,070 in Istanbul
370 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan's Inn

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No 40, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan's Inn is situated in the heart of the Old Walled City and it is only walking distance to the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome,Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars & restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotel district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan`s Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing