We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Sultan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan's Inn
Ranked #25 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nelson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We returned to Sultans Inn as it provided us with all our needs while in Istanbul. It is well located and has plenty of restaurants and small supermarkets close by. The rooms are a little small but this is offset by the friendly, helpful atmosphere of the staff. Breakfast on the rooftop was a great way to start the day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    231
    48
    24
    11
See reviews for
86
195
60
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Most of the staff doesn't speak English so don't expect any guidance. One guy who probably didnt understand what i was saying supposedly marked the hotel on my map. It was marked wrong so i spent 30 mins at 10p trying to find the hotel which wasnt fun. Even with it marked right, it isn't an easy hotel to find. It's on a small street as far south from the blue mosque etc as you can go. Also, I found rooms in Istanbul that were similar for about 10 euros less than what these guys quoted - they brought the price down when I told them this but the whole process was a little distasteful. Maybe I'm being too unrealistic, but it would be nice to go to a hotel and know they aren't ripping you off.
Breakfast is great, view from the terrace is fab. Rooms are ok - very clean but tiny. Don't stay there if you're looking for a convenient location or guidance from the staff. Good option if you're looking for a view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRaghave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review on TA and we apologize you for the problems you had at our hotel. Please be advised that, the satisfaction of our guests is our first concern. The problem of communication you had with our staff depended on the misunderstanding. Our hotel staff has the ability to speak good English and reply our guests demands. If you read the previous reviews about our hotel on TA you will notice the mentions in good English of our hotel staff. Please accept our apologize and we hope to guest you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel Sultans Inn was clean and tidy with an excellent buffet breakfast. We chose one of the cheaper rooms which was as expected. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly. Conveniently located near the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parvati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Sultans Inn. The location of the hotel is the best bit, right at the heart of the old city. The Mosques, Bazaars, Shops, Restaurants are all near by. The Hotel room was adequate if a bit small.It was very clean and all the amenities were up to par. The breakfast was good enough and the staff are nice and friendly. If you like to walk around rather than lounge around, this is the hotel for you on a budget. I will say the rooftop terrace was delightful though....

Room Tip: Try and get one of four rooms with a balcony........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Sultan's Inn Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kamil Kaya
Sultan's Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Superb value for money hotel. Small bedroom, but four star furbishing, inc air conditioning. Reception staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Railclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I just returned from my first visit to Istanbul. My stay at the Sultan's Inn was an important part of a good experience. The staff was most helpful in not only providing the normal services, which were outstanding, but also directing me in my walking tour of the city and one of their sponsored tours.
The room, breakfast, AC and all were great. My thanks to the staff for help making my first visit a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: All floors and room were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Found this place while walking around, not exactly cheap but when you move from 150 euro hotel it looked like a fair deal. Staff at the reception is exceptionally helpful and will make you feel comfortable. we got a room with a view of concrete wall and next to service stairs, which was quite noisy early morning. The serve breakfast and coffee and snacks 3pm on wards, which is quite nice of them. Their rooftop is absolutely amazing with great views of sea and blue mosque. I think that roof alone makes it worth while to stay at this hotel. Although, they should have service up at the roof too.

Room Tip: Just avoid wall facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultans_Inn, General Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Kamil Kaya
Sultan's Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#14 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#5 of 1,039 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Sultanahmet
Naz Wooden House Inn
Naz Wooden House Inn
#42 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan's Inn

Property: Sultan's Inn
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No 40, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan's Inn is situated in the heart of the Old Walled City and it is only walking distance to the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome,Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars & restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotel district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sultan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan`s Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing