We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to istanbul , great place , great hotel”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #171 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location , stunning views from roof , very helpful staff , enjoyed breakfast on roof, ladies serving coffee very pleasant . Coffee good and plentiful and much appreciated after a late night with few to many raki's !!

In room 603 , nice room that was large enough for our weekend break , with windows open you do get some noise but nothing to worry about , found call to prayer strangely relaxing . Steps up to roof Terrance were steep and could bother some people .

Reception staff very helpful , booking taxis both ways to airport and recommending some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smann67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 843 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was the second visit to the Sari Konak for my wife and I. We love the place. Having breakfast on the roof gazing at either the Blue Mosque on one side or the Sea of Marmara on the other is just a wonderful way to start the day.
The rooms are lovely, the staff are excellent and the position of the hotel is perfect. We like to refer to the hotel as the "Harry Connick" and trust me, we hope this Harry Connick has an encore as we would love to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front but had little to no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanoNorthPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a tastefully renovated and decorated hotel in Sultanahmet, walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Roman cisterns, and the Arasta and Grand Bazars...the last being about 20 mins away. The staff were courteous and helpful and make useful recommendations. They arranged an excellent tour guide, Ugur, who took me around for 7+ hours and was delighted I wanted to cross to the Asia side. The metro under the Bosphorus, the ferry back, entry to sites were all made easier by having a guide. The rooftop terrace is wonderful...mesmerising views of the Blue Mosque and the water. Plenty of restaurants nearby, which is good as only breakfast is served at the hotel. There is an elevator but if stairs are an issue, there are 15 up to the terrace where breakfast is laid out daily (delicious). Wifi connection free, easy and continuous, and easy access is always a consideration for me. Room 601 was below street level but fine...comfortable bed, clean and well equipped. My favourite activity at the hotel was reading in the late evening with a glass of Turkish red wine, looking up now and then at the Blue Mosque lit against the dark sky. By the way Turkish red wine is rather good and surprised me with its smoothness. I recommend you go outside the zone with its tourist filled yet fascinating sights....Istanbul is worth discovering through other neighbourhoods. Tour guides are trained for close to 8 months by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism and while not cheap, I thought it was an excellent option as a woman alone with not only three days to spend this first visit. i would stay again at the Sari Konak!

Room Tip: Suggest you check size, view of room prior to trip. I was told my room was the biggest but it wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay here due to the helpful staff who arranged dinner reservations, reliable taxis, and a visit to see the Whirling Dervishes nearby. Breakfast was excellent, with a nice array of fruits, yoghurt, pastries and eggs. They had very good coffee. The view on the roof of the hotel where breakfast is served is remarkable as the Blue Mosque is stunningly close. We will be returning to Istanbul and definitely staying at the Sari Konak.

Room Tip: Our room 302 faced the street and it was quiet, with a nice view of local businesses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kittyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice rooms
Very friendly people at reception.
Lovely roof terrace with seaview for breakfast and drink in the afternoon / evening.
Location is perfect in the middle of the Old Town.
Had a great time.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the basement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is modest rather than luxurious, and very comfortable and clean. Our room was quiet and the staff were kind and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace with views of the Blue Mosque was a treat, and the situation was perfect for sightseeing, with lots of restaurants and the Arrasta market nearby. I'd be happy to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Sari Konak has very nice staff, the hotel is clean, and the roof terrace has a lovely view. However, if you are staying more than one or two nights, look for someplace with better amenities and a more restaurant choices in the New City. The location is good for the Old City, period. It is $25 cab ride to get to the New City and there are limited restaurant choices nearby. We stayed for five days and wished that we had booked a different location. The beds are comfortable and the sheets were fine; the towels were pretty thin and bathroom was very dated with stains and a toilet that would not flush properly. We upgraded to a deluxe room and were given a room at street level on the front that was noisy even with the windows closed and AC working. If you stay here, do not take a room on first floor or on the street because there is a very loud restaurant across the street with traditional live music playing until midnight all week long. Overall, we were not so unhappy that we asked to move, but we did not find this to be the sort of "superior" room and experience that we thought we had booked. The breakfast buffet was adequate but did not change in any way at all over five days.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in something nicer than a "superior" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#128 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#278 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#122 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#204 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#145 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $50 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing