We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel but room a bit spartan”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #174 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just had a couple of nights in this hotel on a short stay in Istanbul. As other reviewers have mentioned the location is wonderful with the roof terrace looking towards the Blue Mosque or the sea so we could visit the Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome area and the Cistern very easily with only a short walk to the Palace.
We used the tram system which stops near the hotel to visit the Spice Market, Galatea Bridge and Grand Bazaar - each trip costs 3 Turkish Lire and the ticket machines are easy to use.
The hotel arranged transport to and from the airports, a good guide and were very helpful. The breakfast was okay and perfectly acceptable for a small hotel and we loved the coffee. We had drinks on the roof terrace and they shut the glass doors to keep us cosy as it was a little windy. We were given good advice from the bar man who is very knowledgeable about Turkish wines.
The only negatives are about the room. We had requested a double room and were given 2 beds pushed together, however sadly the top sheet was for a double bed and far too small. The wall mounted lamp was correctly positioned for a twin room but not for our arrangement. We mentioned the sheet and said we didn't mind separating the beds if they didn't have one, but were given 2 overlapping sheets with the same bed arrangement. The bathroom was a bit spartan in terms of toiletries and the whole room just felt a bit bare. We had a kettle but not much in the way of supplies eg. the only way of having white coffee was having a sweetened 3 in 1 instant mix. Having said all that, our friends had a much more charming room with a proper double bed so I think we were just a bit unlucky.
My rating is a 4 because of the nice staff and helpful attitude but would have been a 3 if it was just about the accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackies321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 840 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. Simple, clean rooms with helpful staff - they were more then happy to store my medication, advise on places to visit, eat, ordering taxis, you just had to ask. The rooftop is definitely an added bonus, for a good breakfast in the morning or a relaxed drink and a read in the evening. Great location to, right in the centre of Sultanahmet. Would happily recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Eleanor1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel in a very close access to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and the rest of the city. The rooftop terrace is beautiful for breakfast or drink, with a great view of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel staff is very attentive and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spinekope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our 4 night stay was superb, everything about the hotel was lovely-- the room and facilities, the traditional style in the building, breakfast, the rooftop bar... all of it. But especially, the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. We, two couples, stayed in a triple and s suite and this was far better than any 5 star hotel. Have no hesitation staying here;.. its a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauddublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from six days in Istanbul at the Hotel Kari Sonak. This is a wonderful hotel in a fabulous location on a relatively quiet street just below the Blue Mosque. All of the Sultanahmet sites are within easy walking distance. Room rate included free transfer from Ataturk Airport and breakfast. Rooftop breakfast room has views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Superior room was very nice, clean and reasonable size. The staff was professional, attentive and very helpful with advice. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground level in the front of the hotel. Avoid the rooms below ground level. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful locaiton a very short walk to the Blue Mosque. The rooftop terrace is beautiful for breakfast or a drink. It is definitely worth paying the smaller increase to stay in the larger rooms as these are very spacious, window street view and new facilities. We arrived during the end of Ramadan but everyone was very friendly, the hotel staff made great restaurant recommendations and we would recommend the hotel to anyonne.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lexjade677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The positives - located in Sultanahmet, close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapi Palace. Easy walk to the tram from where you can get most everywhere. Charming rooftop garden with views of Blue Mosque and Bosphorus. Excellent breakfast in roof garden. Very friendly, helpful staff.

The negatives -- small standard room. Unlike the quite lovely delux room in which we stayed before, the standard room we stayed in this time was quite spare (nothing on wall, no chest in which to unpack, broken flip top garbage can, etc. Although there was a sign advising guests not to drink the water, no bottled water was provided. Also, there was mold in the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#182 of 1,160 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#124 of 1,160 in Istanbul
501 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#75 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $58 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing