We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #169 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, friendly staff ,excellent rooms and a wonderful rooftop serving a great breakfast with the best views. We spent 4nights and loved every minute...easy walking distance to all major attractions, great atmosphere and restaurants nearby....couldnt get any better and glad we chose this location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0ri48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 840 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Sari Konak is located in the Sultanemet section of Istanbul. It is an easy walk to most of the major tourist sites. The rooftop area overlooks the Blue Mosque on one side and a charming street on the other. It is on this rooftop that a breakfast buffet is set up each morning. It is ample and good. Later in the day and evening the rooftop serves as a bar. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks here one evening and a nightcap on another.

The hotel arranged for our car service from and to the airport. It ws punctual, convenient, reliable and reasonably priced.

We booked a deluxe room, the highest category. The photos on the website were a bit deceptive ~ trick photography I suppose. Our room was not large, although by European standards perhaps it wasn't small. Suffice to say it was not what we were expecting. The tv was old gashioned, not a flat screen, but it worked and we had a limited choice of stations. We faced the street and the noise level was high so we closed the windows. The air conditioning is not powerful, but at least it's there. The bathroom is modern and lovely, but I would have liked bigger than a sample size soap for the shower. The soap was thyme scented and actually had bits of thyme in it. Every time I washed, I began to crave lamb :). Fortunately, there are several good
restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent 8 nights in the triple room. The room was quiet and had air conditioning (very helpful in August!). There was enough room for our family of four. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast was served on the rooftop with stunning views. Close to major attractions and tram. Were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First, despite the price this is not a 4 star hotel, so you can't expect 4 star service and amenities. If you want to be in Sultanahmet, and you accept that the accommodations are very expensive for what you get, this is a good place relatively. I'd read reviews and it was clear that Sultanahmet hotels were expensive with small rooms. So, with my adult niece and nephew, I spent a little more for a 3 bedroom "suite." We each had our own small bedroom. I foolishly took the queen bed which meant there was no room for my luggage - it went on the small desk and chair. But the place was clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the rooftop was good - not the best we had in Turkey, but plenty of options. Some people complained that the desk staff pushed tours etc. I felt they were just offering tours and pamphlets, I never felt pressured to do anything. They offered to get me a car to the airport and when I went out to ask a cab about what they would charge, it was comparable. Also, we should have asked their advice about where to eat in the neighborhood - we could have avoided mediocre/bad experiences. I would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here in August. Enjoyed our stay in the deluxe room with a nice street view and plenty of space. Rooftop bar is nice and you can walk to almost all Sultanahmet attractions. Heaps of restaurants nearby. Only recommendation would be to clean the shower heads as ours sprayed all over the place! Overall a good place and special mention to Hassan for his hospitality and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can't begin to tell you how helpful and kind the staff here is. They were even nice enough to check Online to see if I had any winning numbers on a lotto ticket I bought in Istanbul (I won! About 10TL, but still, haha). The staff always remembered me and my friend when we walked through the door. The rooms were well-appointed and very clean. Honestly, the staff must work around the clock because I always saw them at the front desk or working on the gorgeous roof deck (where breakfast is served - great views!), yet they always had a smile on their face. The hotel is in a perfect location to access the area, and felt very safe and secure coming home to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently stayed at Sari konak. Very centrally located, walking distance to all the major attractions. The staff is extremely nice and accomodating. This is the best hotel to stay. All employees speak good English and are very helpful.
The breakfast is amazing, don't forget to try the yogurt with some walnuts and brown sugar!!
Overall very good experience at the hotel. Will go back and stay again.
Try getting suite 105 !!

Room Tip: Avoid room# 305 as it needs two ac units!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#184 of 1,159 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#7 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#119 of 1,159 in Istanbul
501 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $62 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing