We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roof terrace”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #129 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice roof terrace”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Due to a mix up with dates we ended up spending 1 night a Hotel Sari Konak after 4 nights at Acra, which is a stones throw away. We stayed in a suite at Hotel Sari Konak which was very nice but the room could not compare to the family room at Acra. The Hotel Sari Konak has the advantage of a fabulous roof top terrace with great views of the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara. The breakfast food is fine but not as good as Acra however.

The suite was comfortable, with the two kids bed divided by a curtin. The airconditioning worked and the bathroom was excellent. There was a slight musty smell in the room.

The staff were excellent, helped us out and let us check out late. The airport transfer the arranged was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    229
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
167
391
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Sari Konak twice in one trip, so we had two different rooms. One was a suite (#504, on the top floor, extra quiet) and the other was a "superior" double. Both rooms had very nice bathrooms (no tubs, but great showers) and the in-room safes were big enough to hold a laptop (pretty much like the hotel room safes you see just about anywhere). The rooftop terrace is truly spectacular, with views of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque, looking like it is practically next door. The rooftop terrace is where breakfast happens -- very copious and delicious, with cheerful ladies serving as much coffee as you need to get over your jetlag. On the terrace you can also have wine and snacks in the evening -- lovely.

The Sari Konak is located in the Sultanahmet district, so you are just a few minutes away from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, and an easy walk to Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. Yes, it's a tourist district, but it is very charming and convenient, with lots of great restaurants and shops. Plus, the airport is maybe 20-25 minutes away. We had the hotel arrange a driver to pick us up on our arrival, and it went very smoothly.

The one caveat about this hotel is that even though the prices are quoted everywhere in euros, you can only actually pay in euros if you pay in cash. If you are using your credit card, there will be an ad hoc conversion to Turkish lire at the last minute when you are checking out. Other businesses that I dealt with in Turkey charged you euros if they quoted euros, and lire if they quoted lire. So I think the Sari Konak needs to be more transparent about their billing policy.

Room Tip: Top-floor suite (#504) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqtarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in Sari Konak for five nights in November 2010 after reading a review in Lonely Planet magazine and the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. Sari Konak didn’t disappoint. A beautiful boutique hotel in a fantastic location, this hotel couldn’t have been better. We stayed in room 206 which was a good size and beautifully decorated with an excellent bathroom. The breakfast was really nice with a good choice of continental and Turkish breakfast foods and good coffee. There is a lovely roof terrace where you can have drinks and the view of the Blue Mosque is spectacular, so close you could almost touch it!! All the main sights and attractions of Sultanahmet are within very close walking distance - The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace etc. There are lots of good restaurants nearby too. Istanbul was fantastic, I loved everything about it, it’s such a vibrant, buzzing, cultural city and there is so much to see and do. The Blue Mosque is every bit as stunning as it looks in photos. Being so close to the Blue Mosque we did hear the call to prayer early in the morning but that didn’t bother us at all, it’s all part of the experience. Sari Konak is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

After much searching for a hotel where both my (senior citizen) parents and I could stay and be happy, I chose the Sari Konak. Most importantly, my parents were very comfortable there and we all enjoyed our stay.

Hotel is very well located in the Sultanahmet area of the city. As a second-time visitor to Istanbul, I probably would have stayed in a different neighborhood, but for first-time visitors (my parents) interested in seeing the three main sites, you really can't go wrong. Loads of cafes and tourist restaurants in the immediate vicinity and a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque.

My parents' room was in the new wing and was quite spacious and comfortable for them. They were particularly pleased with the huge bed and the ample counter space in the bathroom for their things. My room was in the older section of the room and was fairly spartan and small, but comfortable enough and, in the end, exactly what I'd paid for.

The real pleasure of the hotel, however, is the staff who work in the breakfast area and at the front desk. They could not have been more helpful, patient, and kind with all three of us. It seemed as if they'd never been asked the questions we asked -- their answers to us were as complete and generous as they must have been to the hundreds of other visitors who'd asked the same questions. They really seemed to want us to enjoy our stay, helped with booking transport for us, suggesting restaurants, and so on.

Breakfast was a treat as the room faces the rear of the hotel and is quite bright and sunny in the mornings. Plenty of choices on offer (I particularly liked the thick yogurt, to which I added wonderfully plump walnuts, honey and dried figs) and an attentive staff re-filling bowls and making sure everything was just right.

Hats off to the staff of this lovely small hotel. We felt so well cared for and would recommend this quiet little place with full confidence.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our first trip to Istanbul and certainly not our last. We booked the hotel because of it's boutique nature, which would have been quite enough in itself but were not quite ready for the sight that awaited us from the roof terrace,.. had the blue mosque been any nearer we could have touched it, the other way, bospherus as far as the eye could see - enjoying a mojito with that kind of view..it doesn't get much better. The hotel and staff are faultless, spotless, and only too eager to help and suggest ideas. I left a dress behind in the room, this was returned to me in the UK within the week. The location meant we could explore all the major sights - blue mosque/hagia sophia/topkapi palace/grand bazaar by foot. Hustle & bustle are part of the Istanbul experience but returning to our quaint, relaxed, cobbled little hub in the evening was fantastic. Too many restaurants on the doorstep, too little time. Just brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artscollective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very close to some of the main sites in the city, and the view from the rooftop terrace looks like you fell into the picture on the front of a guidebook. We expected the view because of the location, but what we didn't expect is how much we would enjoy the hotel and its staff. The room was comfortable and cozy, the free wifi was fast and without hassle, and the breakfast was not only delicious but included drip coffee. After pounding the streets all day we would enjoy a drink or two on the rooftop, enjoying the company of Hasan, the rooftop manager. Hasan added greatly to our understanding of Turkish culture, history, and politics. We can't wait to come back to Istanbul, and when we do we hope to book a room at the Hotel Sari Konak.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echternach, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel must have one of the best roof terraces in the city. You can almost touch the Blue Mosque and Aga Sophia is clearly visible too; turn around and there is the Bosphorous-magic You eat a delicious breakfast there and can sit enjoying a drink and the view any time. The hotel has an excellent location within walking distance of so many attractions but incredibly quiet. We booked a superior room, and although the room was large and elegant I was not happy- it was in the basement. However, as the hotel was full they couldn't give us another room. The receptionist told me some guests actually asked for this room! After sleeping there I was amazed how quiet and comfortable it was. So much so, that we stayed in it for the remaining nights.The staff were exceptionally helpful especially Hassan the guy in charge of the terrace. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#39 of 1,149 in Istanbul
728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#41 of 1,149 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#180 of 1,149 in Istanbul
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#147 of 1,149 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#196 of 1,149 in Istanbul
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Property: Hotel Sari Konak
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing