We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Local Hangout”
Review of Istiklal Street

Istiklal Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour
More Info
$129.23*
and up
Tour of Istanbul With English-Speaking Guide
More Info
$118.56*
and up
Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, SALT Galata and Istanbul Modern...
Ranked #35 of 1,061 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This cobblestone street attracts both locals and tourists who walk its length to enjoy the many restaurants, cafes and shops. Many of the city's movie theaters are also located here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun Local Hangout”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Pedestrian only street in the "new area" of Beyoglu. Shopping, food and at night, live entertainment. There were at least 25 musicians playing on Saturday night. Not too many tourists, lots of locals strolling and having fun. A great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldstyle_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    1,155
    537
    117
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Same as Oxford street in London”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This street is same as Oxford street in London. You can walk throuh or you can try to enter side ways. The buildings are very arthistics, you can make shopping. İf you enter side ways yo can find outlet bazaars. You can buy Origianal Nike t-shirts by 5 euros. Try to go atlas shop center.
Istiklal street, there are lots of world wide known restaurants and cafes. Gloria jeans, starbucks, kizilkayalar etc. At least spend 3 hours. You have a meal at Cicek pasaji drink Turkish raki

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aydemiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just like any other shopping streer”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This could have been in any other big city. But if you are keen on shopping (which I'm not), this is the place. I've tried two restaurants, which were overpriced compared to the quality. You can find cheaper and better food elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Dicktaid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Take your time to soak it up”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Basically a long shopping street, Istiklal has several great restaurants and bars. The side streets are where you can sip a cold beer on the balcony overlooking the teeming crowds below, or watch the speed at which the locals play backgammon. Balik Pasage is where all the fish restaurants and my favourite fruit and vegetable shop are.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canthinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting, but nothing special”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I took a walk down Istiklal Street on our trip to Istanbul at night. It was very crowded and, in our opinion, not particularly interesting. We much preferred the areas in the Sultanahmet District.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank petercek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istiklal Street also viewed

 

Been to Istiklal Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing